Monday, 23 July 2012 09:02

Usually artists tend to beef up their sound as they travel through their careers. Many of those of the lo-fi ilk start off that way out of necessity and over time move toward cleaning up the rough edges and ironing out the kinks. Danish DIY and experimental folk and psychedelic rock artist Jacob Faurholt has seemingly decided to take a different direction. As Crystal Shipsss, his music has got more off beat and fragile with the release of Yay, his debut record under that moniker and since 2002, sixth overall.

Now firmly settled in the vibrant city of Berlin, in Yay, Faurholt has produced an album of exquisite delicateness, employing brittle falsetto vocals alongside elements of fuzzy electric and acoustic guitar, ukelele?, understated keys, drums (of the artificial and traditional variety) and subtle percussion. But you somehow get the feeling that's there is something a little amiss here as there's a dark gloomy feel to the record at times. 'Burning Kingdom' is testament to that as is the track on offer below.

Most may not get Yay, and that's a pity. On the surface, it may seem an innocuous, even lazy record coming in as it does at just 23 minutes and sounding all scuffed up, even weathered at times in its DIY approach. Indeed, most tracks sit under two minutes. But rather than being a weakness, it turns out to be a great cohesive strength. If you love lo-fi, experimental music that unashamedly unique, you can choose to grab Yay on three formats, green mint 10" vinyl, cassette or digitally at the link below. Meanwhile, get a free download of the strangely sublime 'My Dark Slimy Soul'. and check out the video for 'Uh Huh'

As you can see from the picture above, its the green mint for us!


My Dark Slimy Soul

Crystal Shipsss (DEN)
From the album, 'Yay', Raw Onion Records

Download here

Crystal Shipsss Facebook

Buy album here


Uh Huh

Crystal Shipsss (DEN)
From the album, 'Yay', Raw Onion Records

Audio Stream

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and non-sense buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - brisk walking for instance many cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly less than their counterparts that were branded, conserving tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible cialis for purchase so you might have accessibility to purchase is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the nonclassical have Viagra, dependability and apparatus is the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect of the editions of any zero-hair autumn buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not how to buy cialis online

February 24, 2015


No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade


February 17, 2015



Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still


February 10, 2015


Natalie Prass


Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You


February 3, 2015


On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again


January 27th, 2015


Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death




Please update your Flash Player to view content.


If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.


All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.