Saturday, 04 February 2012 08:26



Buy/pre-order here or here

It's been seven years since multi-instrumentalist Henry Ojala (Cats On Fire) and vocalist Jessika Rapo (Le Futur Pompiste) met on a joint tour and decided over time to collaborate on a new project that would become Burning Hearts. Their debut album, the upbeat Aboa Sleeping would appear five often difficult years later in 2009, full of sweet pop melodies and juicy hooks; a pretty straightforward record that did however, contain electronic elements that suggested the potential was there for growth in less predictable directions.  After the single 'Night Animal' in 2010, the trajectory was clear. Upon the release the impressive EP Into The Wilderness last year, it was apparent that the talented Finnish duo were taking a turn in a more expansive direction, utilising loops and more unconventional song structures. Indeed, the brilliant title track, with its cleverly crafted looping underbelly and metaphorical sound is ample evidence of this. Thankfully because it fits, it also appears on the subject of this review, their second album, Extinctions.

Sporting a bigger and more polished production than previous recordings, Extinctions affords Rapo's uniquely accented, and warm yet disaffecting vocals and Ojala's beautifully crafted and meticulously executed pop the sound they deserved. The uncanny creative relationship the two have comes through loud and clear as vocally and musically its a seamless match. Amazingly, while complementing each other they also allow each other the right amount of space. Rapo's vocals could have dominated this record but they don't giving Ojala room to work his hook laden magic.

Lyrically, it's a thematic record where the difficult subject matter belies its optimistic sound. The title of the album is telling. Death lurks at almost every turn, a result of tragedies that affected Rapo and Ojala and inspired the subject matter. However, despite the surface morbidity, Burning Hearts pop sensibilities could never allow Extinctions to become overtly dark and difficult. In fact, what they have actually created is nine expansive and organic pop gems that live and breathe optimism and hope; a realisation that while death is omipresent and inevitable, there's no need to wallow in it. Having said that though, Rapo and Ojala are determined to remind us that as human beings, while there exists fragility, we can do some horrible things because many of us think we are above nature, not part of it.

'On The Last Day Of The Decade' begins with a funereal tone as Rapo authoritatively enters the fray with the line 'A man picks up his shotgun...'  over a deliberately paced beat that is retained throughout. Over its four minutes, the track slowly opens up lyrically, revealing an unsettling feel with a hunter determined to catch his prey, a metaphor perhaps for the avarice and greed that exists in the world. But musically, the track builds and builds and explodes towards its end into a cacophony of sound dominated by a simple, yet killer melody. The aforementioned 'Into The Wilderness' is the best thing the duo have done. A sparkly loop set things off and remains there underneath for the song's duration while the drum sound is programmed to reflect it's title. There is definitely a wilderness feel lyrically with talk of Alaskan treelines and permafrost. But what's telling is that the destination of the wilderness is equated with escaping from loneliness and the music accurately reflects this.

Ojala's beautifully lead guitar melodies stand out on the patiently crafted 'Modern Times'. Nothing is hurried here as the song ambles along sweetly. Chorus wise, Rapo's ooh aah's are completed by Ojala's clever chord structure. The reverb drenched slow burner, 'Love And Dissonance' lessens the pace and sports an example of what was mentioned earlier, that Burning Hearts are more than willing to be unconventional. The beauty of the track is broken up twice by an attack of unsettling noise, that dissonance mentioned in the track title.

The rumbling swing of the drum beat takes centre stage on 'The Swallows'. The track is an exmaple of how well Rapo and Ojala give each other the space they need. The former sings two lines, an almost verse cut in half before Ojala intervenes to complete it with a lusciously gorgeous hook. It works brilliantly taking the tropical swing of the track in a different and unexpected direction. Second single 'Burn Burn Burn' begins in a deceptively unobtrusive way before kicking into fourth gear. The landscape's physical features and primitiveness return as organic metaphors for Rapo's defiance in the face of fears, 'I'm covered with flames, my skin's on fire, but I won't burn'  along with the chorus refrain; 'Over the deserts, into the forests, I run as a child, to hide from my hunger, my biggest fear, I fight with my hands and my spear'.

'Trade Winds' as the title suggests has a nautical theme, an optimistically, overtly pop sounding tune with beautiful harmonies. 'The Beast' ebbs away with a hopeful disposition but Rapo reminds us of our fragility 'You think that you are a King, but within a blink of an eye, you could go extinct'. Ojala's guitar work here is a triumph of beauty in simplicity. The final track 'Deep Waters' begins with Rapo's spirit like vocals alone with a single synth note before going aquatic in a musical sense with every instrument running together like a stream cascading from a mountain.

It's not often a reviewer can mention the words cinematic and pop in the one sentence or even in relation to each other. But cinematic pop seems to perfectly describe the Burning Hearts disposition. Rapo's nature laden lyrical metaphors are expertly tracked and captured musically. It is precisley because Ojala holds court over every instrument and device in the recording process that this is possible. There's a connection, an intimacy in these songs that is palpable, where two artists at the peak of their powers are almost in telepathic contact. You can almost feel yourself transported to an arctic wilderness or some tropical haven. It's been a long road for the talented duo with many roadblocks along the way, but with an album of such unique pop brilliance now under their belts, lets hope Extinctions gets the attention it deserves. Rapo and Ojala have done the hard yards and gifted us nine expertly crafted pop gems, now its the turn of purveyors of independent pop music to repay the favour.

James Stocker - February 4, 2012.


The Swallows

Burning Hearts (FIN)
From the album, Extinctions', Solina/Shelflife


4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and non-sense specialized data, but they are buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - brisk walking for instance cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible cialis for purchase so is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a successful solution to cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect of the editions of any zero-hair buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a million bucks where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage of how to buy cialis online

November 24, 2015


Art Angels


Grimes Official

Pre-order here (vinyl delayed until Dec 11)

1. laughing and not being normal
2. California
3. SCREAM (feat. Aristophanes) [LISTEN]
4. Flesh Without Blood [VIDEO]
5. Belly Of The Beat
6. Kill V. Maim
7. Artangels
8. Easily
9. Pin
10. REALiTi (digital only)
11. World Princess Pt. II
12. Venus Fly (feat. Janelle Monae)
13. Life In The Vivid Dream
14. Butterfly


November 17, 2015



Dark Skies Association / Night School Records

Molly Nilsson Facebook

Buy here

1. The Only Planet
2. 1995 [VIDEO]
3. H.O.P.E.
4. Mountain Time [VIDEO]
5. Bunny Club
6. Intermezzo: Palimpest Galore
7. Happyness [VIDEO]
8. Lovers Are Losers [VIDEO]
9. Clearblue
10. My Body [VIDEO]
11. Titanic
12. Bus 194 (All There Is)
13. Tomorrow


November 10, 2015



Drag City

Joanna Newsom Label Page

Buy here

1. Anecdotes
2. Sapokanikan [VIDEO]
3. Leaving The City [LISTEN]
4. Goose Eggs
5. Waltz Of The 101ST Lightborne
6. The Things I Say
7. Divers [VIDEO]
8. Same Old Man
9. You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10. A Pin-Light Bent
11. Time, As A Symptom


November 3, 2015


Best Blues


Small Black Official

Buy here

1. Personal Best
2. No One Wants It To Happen To You [VIDEO]
3. Boys Life [VIDEO]
4. The Closer I Look
5. Big Ideas Pt. 2
6. Back At Belle's [LISTEN]
7. Between Leos
8. Checkpoints
9. Smoke Around The Bend
10. XX Century

October 27, 2015


Fading Frontiers


Deerhunter Official

Buy here

1. All The Same
2. Living My Life
3. Breaker [VIDEO]
4. Duplex Planet
5. Take Care
6. Leather And Wood
7. Snakeskin [VIDEO]
8. Ad Astra
9. Carrion

October 20, 2015


Terrible Truths

Bedroom Suck

Terrible Truths Facebook

Buy here

1. False Hope [LISTEN]
2. See Straight [VIDEO]
3. Pressure
4. Sink Or Swim
5. Uptight [LISTEN]
6. Don Juan
7. The Coast Is Clear [LISTEN]
8. Mixed Feelings
9. Lift Weights
10. (untitled)

October 13, 2015


The Agent Intellect

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. The Devil In His Youth
2. Cowards Starve
3. I Forgive You [LISTEN]
4. Boyce Or Boice
5. Pontiac 87
6. Uncle Mother's
7. Dope Cloud [LISTEN]
8. The Hermit
9. Clandestine Time
10. Why Does It Shake? [LISTEN]
11. Ellen
12. Feast Of Stephen

October 6, 2015


Half Free


U.S Girls Facebook

Buy here

1. Sororal Feelings
2. Damn That Valley [VIDEO]
3. Telephone Play No. 1
4. Window Shades [VIDEO]
5. New Age Thriller
6. Sed Knife
7. Red Comes In Many Shades
8. Navy & Cream
9. Woman's Work [VIDEO]

September 29, 2015


Have You In My Wilderness


Julia Holter Facebook

Buy here

1. Feel You [VIDEO]
2. Silhouette
3. How Long?
4. Lucette Stranded On The Island
5. Sea Calls Me Home [VIDEO]
6. Night Song
7. Everytime Boots
8. Betsy On The Roof
9. Vasquez
10. Have You In My Wilderness

September 22, 2015


Sun Coming Down


Ought Facebook

Buy here

1. Men For Miles [LISTEN]
2. Passionate Turn
3. The Combo
4. Sun's Coming Down [VIDEO]
5. Beautiful Blue Sky [LISTEN]
6. Celebration
7. On The Line
8. Never Better

September 15, 2015


It's You

Spunk / Felte

Gold Class Facebook

Buy here

1. Furlong [LISTEN]
2. Life As A Gun [VIDEO]
3. Bite Down
4. Perverts
5. Half Moon Over
6. The Soft Delay
7. Pro Crank
8. Michael [LISTEN]
9. Athena
10. Shingles (Stay A While)

September 8, 2015



Terrible Records

Empress Of Facebook

Buy here

1. Everything Is You
2. Water Water [LISTEN]
3. Standard
4. How Do You Do It [VIDEO]
5. To Get By
6. Kitty Kat [LISTEN]
7. Need Myself
8. Make Up
9. Threat
10. Icon [VIDEO]

September 1, 2015


Illegals In Heaven

Bedroom Suck / Fire Records

Blank Realm Facebook

Buy here

1. No Views On It
2. River Of Longing [LISTEN]
3. Cruel Night
4. Costume Drama
5. Dream Date
6. Flowers In Mind
7. Gold
8. Palace Of Love [LISTEN]
9. Too Late Now [LISTEN]

August 25, 2015


Poison Season


Destroyer Facebook

Buy here 

1. Times Square, Poison Season I
2. Dream Lover [LISTEN]
3. Forces From Above
4. Hell
5. The River
6. Girl In A Sling [LISTEN]
7. Times Square [LISTEN]
8. Archer On A Beach
9. Midnight Meet The Rain

10.  Solace's Bride

11. Bangkok
12. Sun In The Sky
13. Times Square, Poison Season II

August 18, 2015


Depression Cherry

Sub Pop / Bella Union

Beach House Official

Buy here

1. Levitation
2. Sparks [LISTEN]
3. Space Song
4. Beyond Love
5. 10:37
6. PPP
7. Wildflower
8. Bluebird
9. Days Of Candy

August 11, 2015


Down Time

Bedroom Suck / Fire Records

Totally Mild Facebook

Buy here

1. Christa
2. When I'm Tired
3. Go Home
4. Move On
5. Nights
6. The Next Day
7. Work It Out
8. Battleship
9. Always Around
10. Money Or Fame

August 4, 2015




Evvol Official

Buy here

1. I See You (I Am You)
2. Sola
3. Siruius A
4. Starcrossed
5. Your Love
6. No Love
7. Vega
8. Denouement
9. Four Steps From Home


July 28, 2015




Telepathe Facebook

Buy digital here

1. Destroyer
2. Drown Around Me
3. Slow Learner
4. Damaged Raid
5. Nights Spell
6. Hyper Ho
7. Throw Away This
8. Someone Is Home
9. Onyx
10. Fuck You Up

July 21, 2015


Liminal Zones

Sonic Masala / Strange Pursuits 

Day Ravies Facebook

Buy here

1. Fake Beach [VIDEO]
2. Coupla Days
3. This Side Of The Fence
4. Nettle
5. Immaculate Escape
6. Skewed
7. Enter The Bee
8. Hickford Wizz [VIDEO]
9. Halfway Up A Hill
10. Steamed
11. Pulse Check
12. March Comes Around
13. Binkies

July 14, 2015


The Wild Animals In My Life

Iron Lung

Flesh World Facebook

Buy here

1. To Lose Me
2. Just To Tear Me Down
3. The Wild Animals In My Life
4. Shaved Head
5. Poolside Boys
6. Strawberry Bomber
7. Your Love Is Like A House
8. Here In The Dark


July 7, 2015


Stay Wild

Self Released

Tearjerker Official

Pre-order here

1. Stay Wild
2. Phone
3. Mind
4. The Gardiner
5. Parling Lot
6. It Takes Time
7. Baseball
8. Obviously Wrong
9. Perfect (FREE)
10. Heavy


June 30, 2015


I Will See No Moon No Sky

Raw Onion Records

Crystal Shipsss Official

Buy here 

1. Metal
2. Deer
3. Drum
4. Crown [LISTEN]
5. II
6. Head


June 23, 2015




Noah Official

Buy here

1. sivutie
2. flexion
3. motion
4. unspoken
5. weak
6. (interlude - drøm)
7. fehér
8. times
9. pool garden
10. gorgeous death
11. blur
12. flaw
13. (interlude - doll)
14. tadzio
15. sivutie a reprise

June 16, 2015


Apocalypse, girl

Sacred Bones

Jenny Hval Official

Buy here

1. Kingsize
2. Take Care Of Yourself
3. That Battle Is Over
4. White Underground
5. Heaven
6. Why 
7. Some Days
8. Sabbath
9. Angel And Anaemia
10. Holy Land


June 9, 2015


Jaakko Eino Kalevi

Weird World Record Co.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi Facebook

Buy here

1. J.E.K.
2. Double Talk
3. Deeper Shadows
4. Say
5. Mind Like Muscle
6. Night At The Field
7. Don't Ask Me Why
8. Room
9. Hush Down
10. Ikuinen Purkautumaton Jännite


June 2, 2015




BOAN Facebook

Pre-order here

Stream whole album here

1. Babylon
2. Freaksnake
3. Secretos
4. Boan Acid
5. Mentiras


May 26, 2015


Le Voyage Éternal

Self Released

Corridor Facebook

Buy here

1. Sentinelles
2. L'écho des derniers orgasmes
3. L' entrée du portail
4. Mi-homme, mi fusée
5. Castor et Pollux
6. Abus d'habits
7. Mort en chemin
8. Plasma fontaine
9. Passage Secret
10. Le Voyage Éternal
11. Retour au bercail 3D


May 19, 2015



Self Released

Liza Anne Official

Buy here

1. Lost
2. Northern Wind
3. Take It Back
4. Low Tide
5. Room
6. Overnight
7. Ocean


May 12, 2015


Crash, Burn & Cry

Crunchy Frog

ONBC Facebook

Buy here

1. The Railing
2. White Trash
3. Call It What You Want
4. The Warehouse
5. Classic
6. One Of These Days Pt. 1
7. Brothers
8. Knocked Out
9. Copenhagen
10. One Of These Days Pt. 2


May 5, 2015



ExcelsiorPolyvinyl / Full Time Hobby

Jacco Gardner Official

Buy here

1. Another You
2. Grey Lanes
3. Brightly
4. Find Yourself
5. Face To Face
6. Outside Forever
7. Before The Dawn
8. Hypnophobia
9. Make Me See
10. All Over


April 28, 2015


American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left


April 21, 2015


Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone


April 14, 2015


Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme


April 7, 2015


Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire

March 31, 2015


Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress


Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled


March 24, 2015


Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues


March 17,  2015



Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here


March 10, 2015


Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)


March 3, 2015



P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth


February 24, 2015


No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade


February 17, 2015



Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still


February 10, 2015


Natalie Prass


Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You


February 3, 2015


On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again


January 27th, 2015


Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death




Please update your Flash Player to view content.



Junior Boys (CAN)
Grimes (CAN)
Empress Of (USA)
Molly Nilsson (SWE)
Blood Orange (USA)
Mass Gothic (USA)
Negative Gemini. (USA)
Aidan Knight (CAN)
Your Friend (USA)

If you like what you hear please like us and share on the above formats.


If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.


All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.