RECORD REVIEW: JOHN TALABOT - fIN
Reviews
Tuesday, 14 February 2012 00:00
 



jpg

Permanent Vacation

Buy here

Since appearing on the electro scene back in 2009 with the insanely danceable eight minute club classic 'Sunshine', John Talabot had people taking notice. He has refined and developed his craft over the following years with the EPs My Old School, Matilda's Dream, and Families bringing us to his latest and greatest effort to date; the full length album fIN. The eleven tracks found here have the foundations firmly cemented in house while sitting squarely in this new age of electro rejuvenation. 

His remixes for The XX, Teengirl Fantasy, Glasser and Delorean have steered punters in his direction to find a treasure of tracks. And the opening track on fIN  does not disappoint. 'Depak Ine' sucks you in with its forward momentum getting the ball rolling for what lies in store over the remaining fifty one minutes. The luscious 'Destiny' follows, and features fellow Spaniard Pional in the first of his two collaborations on this LP. His honeyed vocals adding another dimension over this track with gorgeous peaks and troughs throughout. 'El Oeste'(Spanish for 'west' or 'western') is subdued and tranquil as anything Talabot has done, finishing off sounding like a machine having its power cable yanked out.

'Oro Y Sangre' builds the vibe up somewhat with synths taking over and eerie scream sounds lurking in the background. 'Journeys' featuring Ehki Lopetegi of Delorean is a highlight, as it saunters along with a beautiful mixture of layering and an intro that sounds like it is floating over the balmy night air from a beach party in the distance. The lush sounds give way to synths and percussion, with Ehki's far away vocals sitting in harmony with the tracks' production. 'Last Land' is simple and effective in construction with vocal samples and synths showcasing how Talabot has complete mastery over this album. It all drops away just over halfway through the track before kicking back up for an energetic and euphoric finish.

'When the Past Was Present' is blissful from the start, poppy and soulful, elements of Italia House are in there, with vocals pushed back in the mix. It's one of the most upbeat tracks found on fIN  and has happy, smiling faces written all over it. This is a track that belongs in a club. 'So Will Be Now' brings back Pional on vocals in a brilliant album closer. This track is another full of layers and its restraint is what makes it a standout. Like the track before it, it has moments of 90s dance sounds happily bouncing away in the background, but never in a way that takes away from the contemporary nature and feel of it.  

John Talabot has proven with fIN  he has the recipe to mix together sounds, samples, and a huge array of voices to create tracks that come out the right way each time, never over or under cooked. The future is bright for electro and with people like Talabot around, it is in good hands.   

Dave Roberts - 14 February, 2012


So Will Be Now feat. Pional 

John Talabot (ESP)
From the album, 'fIN', Permanent Vacation  

Audio Only

alt

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Hold On
Wilderness (SWE)
3. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
4. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
5. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
6. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)
7. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
8. Repeat Pleasure
How To Dress Well (USA)
9. Animal Of One
The Fresh & Onlys (USA)
10. Pickup Lines
SoftSpot (USA)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------