RECORD REVIEW: GRIMES - VISIONS
Reviews
Sunday, 08 April 2012 00:00
 



jpg

Arbutus

Buy here

Twenty-something Claire Boucher has produced her own distinctive style of sound in her short career, something that must frustrate the hell out of those people who must classify everything they hear. As we have said here before, the proliferation of naming genres within genres has become something of a joke, and while Grimes drives down the avenue of electro, there is no need to invent new vocab for what she creates. Visions is best heard and then heard again. The magic of Boucher's scope of talent unveils itself slowly, leaving you certain that this is where music should be in 2012. Pieced together using Garageband, she has created an insight into her glorious world of light and shadow, proving her to be one of the most talented artists on the indie scene today.   

'Infinite (heart) Without Improvement (intro)' is just a morsel of what Grimes has in store on Visions. This one minute thirty six long track crams a lot in and packs a punch, showcasing Boucher's abilities in vocals, production, engineering, orchestration, even the artwork done for the album cover, and the direction of the video clip for 'Oblivion'. 'Genesis' comes up next, an accessible, tight piece laden with enough hooks, reverb and layers to keep it in your head all day, finishing with a beautiful bared down piano outro. 'Oblivion' is a standout track, another example displaying the myriad of directions she can take that unique voice. 'Eight', with its looped electro voice in stark contrast to Boucher's high pitched vocals is a treat, 'Be A Body' builds up nicely in a track that would go down well on the dance-floor. 

'Colour Of Moonlight (Antiochus) (feat. Doldrums)' brings things down in a good way, it's smooth and gorgeous, perfect for late night/early morning listening. 'Symphonia IX (My Wait Is U)' continues the obscure track titles, and is another smooth one, ambient and with her voice pushed back in the mix. 'Circumambient' beginning with a slow and steady beat over what sounds like the crackle of a dusty vinyl, is another surprise on Visions. It features the lyric "Oh baby, I can't say that everything is ok, 'Cos I have a problem, and I don't know how to solve them", you can hear her vocals in pop mode on this one recalling the likes of Robyn in places. Its another example of the diversity found on this album, taking you somewhere unexpected on more than one occasion. 

'Vowels = Space And Time' has that 80s edge that sounds so much better the second time around, for those of us that remember it. It's another example of a club worthy track, synths glowing all the way through. 'Visiting Statue' is a step down from pop with its darker mood, and powers along making way for another standout; 'NightMusic (feat. Majical Cloudz)'. After a theatrical intro the beats kick in and an indecipherable layer of Boucher's voice (almost as another instrument) adds to the foray. Edgy synths and steady percussion accompany throughout until strings come in with operatic samples, it somehow works a treat. 'Skin' begins in muted tones until we hear Boucher, spotlighting her as if on a stage with a proscenium arch. Its beauty comes in the meandering path of its structure over six minutes, and the rawness to it, which sums up the whole of Visions.  

'Know The Way' brings things to a close, with simple melody and layered vocals, a fitting way to finish, and to gently bring us back after an album that will make Grimes an act at the leading edge of music 2012 style. She is a product of the technology age and knows how to use it, instinctively. Visions gets better each time you hear it, and Grimes has cemented herself as an example of what indie is all about.

Dave Roberts, April 8, 2012 

 

Oblivion

Grimes (CAN)
From the album, 'Visions', Arbutus

Download here

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video 

 

Genesis

Grimes (CAN)
From the album, 'Visions', Arbutus

Download here

Live at The Fader

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Be A Body

Grimes (CAN)
From the album, 'Visions', Arbutus

Live at Good Records, Dallas.

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow to the penis and buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly less than their counterparts that were branded, tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage how to buy cialis online
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

June 30, 2015

CRYSTAL SHIPSSS (DEN)

I Will See No Moon No Sky

Raw Onion Records

Crystal Shipsss Official

Buy here 

1. Metal
2. Deer
3. Drum
4. Crown
5. II
6. Head

June 23, 2015

 

 

NOAH (JAP)

Sivutie

Noah Official

Flau

Buy here

1. sivutie
2. flexion
3. motion
4. unspoken
5. weak
6. (interlude - drøm)
7. fehér
8. times
9. pool garden
10. gorgeous death
11. blur
12. flaw
13. (interlude - doll)
14. tadzio
15. sivutie a reprise
------------------------

June 16, 2015

JENNY HVAL (NOR)

Apocalypse, girl

Sacred Bones

Jenny Hval Official

Buy here

1. Kingsize
2. Take Care Of Yourself
3. That Battle Is Over
4. White Underground
5. Heaven
6. Why 
7. Some Days
8. Sabbath
9. Angel And Anaemia
10. Holy Land

------------------------

June 9, 2015

JAAKKO EINO KALEVI (FIN)

Jaakko Eino Kalevi

Weird World Record Co.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi Facebook

Buy here

1. J.E.K.
2. Double Talk
3. Deeper Shadows
4. Say
5. Mind Like Muscle
6. Night At The Field
7. Don't Ask Me Why
8. Room
9. Hush Down
10. Ikuinen Purkautumaton Jännite

------------------------

June 2, 2015

BOAN (USA)

Mentiras

Holodeck

BOAN Facebook

Pre-order here

Stream whole album here

1. Babylon
2. Freaksnake
3. Secretos
4. Boan Acid
5. Mentiras

-----------------

May 26, 2015

LIZA ANNE (USA)

Two

Self Released

Liza Anne Official

Buy here

1. Lost
2. Northern Wind
3. Take It Back
4. Low Tide
5. Room
6. Overnight
7. Ocean

---------------------

May 19, 2015

SUPERPOZE (FRA)

Opening

Combien Mille Records

Superpoze Facebook

Buy here 

1. Opening
2. North
3. Time Travel
4. Overseas
5. Unlive
6. Ten Lakes
7. Movement
8. Home Is Where I Am

--------------------

May 12, 2015

ONBC (DEN)

Crash, Burn & Cry

Crunchy Frog

ONBC Facebook

Buy here

1. The Railing
2. White Trash
3. Call It What You Want
4. The Warehouse
5. Classic
6. One Of These Days Pt. 1
7. Brothers
8. Knocked Out
9. Copenhagen
10. One Of These Days Pt. 2

------------------------

May 5, 2015

JACCO GARDNER (NET)

Hypnophobia

ExcelsiorPolyvinyl / Full Time Hobby

Jacco Gardner Official

Buy here

1. Another You
2. Grey Lanes
3. Brightly
4. Find Yourself
5. Face To Face
6. Outside Forever
7. Before The Dawn
8. Hypnophobia
9. Make Me See
10. All Over

------------------------

April 28, 2015

AMERICAN WRESTLERS (SCO/USA)

American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left

------------------------

April 21, 2015

MARIE DAVIDSON (CAN)

Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone

-----------------------

April 14, 2015

LOWER DENS (USA)

Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme

------------------------

April 7, 2015

WAXAHATCHEE (USA)

Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire
------------------------

March 31, 2015

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR (CAN)

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress

Constellation

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

------------------------

March 24, 2015

COURTNEY BARNETT (AUS)

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

------------------------

March 17,  2015

ETIQUETTE (CAN)

Reminisce

Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here

------------------------

March 10, 2015

YOUNG GUV (CAN)

Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)

------------------------

March 3, 2015

MOUNT EERIE (USA)

Sauna

P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth

------------------------

February 24, 2015

SLEATER-KINNEY (USA)

No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade

------------------------

February 17, 2015

CASA DEL MIRTO (ITA)

Still

Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still

------------------------

February 10, 2015

NATALIE PRASS (USA)

Natalie Prass

Spacebomb 

Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You

---------------------------

February 3, 2015

JESSICA PRATT (USA)

On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again

---------------------------

January 27th, 2015

VIET CONG (CAN)

Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death

-------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

 

CURRENT TOP 10

 
1. DANSE SOCIALE
Essaie Pas (CAN)
 
2. WAIT
Postiljonen (SWE)
 
3. HYPNOPHOBIA
Jacco Gradner (NET)
 
4. CRUISING
Cornelia (SWE)
 
5. FLAW
Noah (JAP)
 
6. OCCUPIED
The Radio Dept. (SWE)
 
7. TAKE IT BACK
Liza Anne (USA)
 
8. FLIRT
Boycrush (feat. Madeira) (NZL)
 
9. I GOT DRUNK
Miya Folick (USA)
 
10. SOMETHING LEFT TO DIE FOR
The Legends (SWE)
 
------------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

If you like what you hear please like us and share on the above formats - Instragram to come.

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------