RECORD REVIEW: BOWERBIRDS - THE CLEARING
Reviews
Tuesday, 10 April 2012 04:57
 



jpg

Dead Oceans

Buy here

I first came across Raleigh folk/pop outfit Bowerbirds in a tactile sense three years ago when they did some live work for the Vienna cultural and media collective They Shoot Music. In a seemingly effortless canter, the trio walked and played their way around the fine Austrian capital showcasing songs off their second album, the 2009 effort Upper Air. Always impeccibly restrained, their thoughtful, unique brand of independent Americana and folk stylings blended in perfectly with their surroundings.

And so it is with their new record The Clearing, where each track presents itself as part of a seamless whole, a ride through nature, a document of not only musical virtuosity but intelligent songwriting. But the real story before its gestation period began was far from seamless and the break down in the personal relationship between principles Beth Tacular and Phillip Moore may have threatened to prematurely end the band itself. Thankfully for us they worked it out and eventually presented us with this fine album.

For the DIY couple Tacular and Moore, who have endured the break-up, Tacular's illness and hospitalisation and hand-built a cabin from scratch over the last couple of years, The Clearing ended up being the end product of an intensely emotional ride in a personal sense where the theme of the record became finding the strength to overcome adversity from within and without. The music style of Bowerbirds does lend itself to revealing a certain emotional intensity and The Clearing certainly incorporates elements of triumph and despair, light and dark, themes that come through loud and clear. That they portray that emotion inside the music yet produce it so effortlessly speaks volumes about the artistic talent on offer here.

The lush orchestration and percussive elements of The Clearing builds upon the spartan and skeletal approach of their first two records, Hymns For A Dark Horse and the aforementioned Upper Air. The rich potential of those two albums has been realised here and it is in all likelihood that the trials and tribulations that surrounded the band going into writing and making the record that gives it its special character. Recorded with Brian Joseph in Bon Iver's Wisconsin studio, the polish that marks the finished product, rather than muddying the waters, actually accentuates the human emotion and celebration of the natural world.

'Tuck The Darkness In' as its title suggests is indicative of that oscillation of thoughts between light and dark and masking the inevitable. What is also telling is its deliberate musical statement of growth in the Bowerbirds songwriting abilities as it shuffles inexorably towards its confident emotive conclusion. Album standout, the Tacoma sung 'In The Yard' begins with a pulsing beat and gorgeous chord structure and tracks the course of constructing that aforementioned house admist the natural world. The theme of nature is beautifully captured by the gorgeous harmonies at work the wistful instrumentation actually serves to transport you to that place of such tumult and wonder in the woods.

The plucky 'Walk The Furrows' extolls the worth of working through problems while 'Stitch The Hem' works through the difficulties of being on the edge financially and otherwise that stems from the decision to do things yourself; 'There's a hope that we have what we need'. Indeed, work, whether of the artistic, emotional or physical variety dominates The Clearing and is almost a lesson for those who think escaping from urban life is merely one big hoot. 'This Year' celebrates the seasons and the move from winter to spring and the optimistic relationship that is associated with our humanity; "I'm fairly sure we'll find a clearing in the forest of our hearts". But Moore soon reminds us in a subtle way that even out there in the woods there is no escape from the realities of the fallout from the decisions of powerful, short-sighted, selfish interests; "I'm not an activist, not in the purest sense, I'm not a pacifist, I know just which rules to bend".

'Brave World' opens with percussive effects sitting atop a couple of pensive piano chords as it then begins to quietly pulse away belying the metaphorical subject matter of impatience in imperfection. 'Hush' is a return to the paucity that existed on previous releases and even sports a little Latin inflluence through its second half. Indeed, the album ends up slowly ebbing away from its lush beginnings over its last few tracks. That's not a criticism, in fact it ends up being a strength. The sparse nature is again in evidence on 'Overcome With Light' which deliberately creates the space to go with its theme of introspection. Moore's guitar dominates here as he reassures, "Yes, we had some scrapes, but now it's right".

'Sweet Moment' continues the penchant Bowerbirds have for matching song titles with the feel of the music as beautiful cooing harmonies take centre stage. However, as if to confound that theory immediately, the careful and delicate blending of piano, guitar and flourishes of percussive brushes on the following track bely what 'Death Wish' has in store for us as foreboding horns and strings serve to finish the track with the appropriate mood. Closing track, 'As We Hurry On' serves as a perfect conclusion to the record as Moore sings about the importance of taking in the little things in life; "what we see under the sun is what we get'...we used to see the forest, now we see the trees".

The adoration of nature and do it yourself aethestic that drives the members of Bowerbirds in their private lives comes through in spades on The Clearing. Often, intensely personal musically journeys can often jar the senses and alienate the listener when overdone and overwrought. On top of this, many bands, who have made their reputation through resting on the sparse and restrained, once they have a few dollars to spend and plethora of musicians and instrumention to play with, actually end up overplaying their hand. Yet, not once does the band lose sight of who they are and why they ever existed in the first place. The Clearing serves as an example of how to use and own possibility rather than allow it to dominate and drown out what was once intended. As Moore sings the final line, "take your time with it, all of it", attention to detail both personally and artistically is something we should never lose sight of.

James Stocker - April 10, 2012

 

Bowerbirds Mini Documentary about The Clearing

 

Tuck The Darkness In

Bowerbirds (USA)
From the album, 'The Clearing', Dead Oceans.

Download here

Official Video


 

Overcome With Light

Bowerbirds (USA)
From the album, The Clearing, Dead Oceans.

Live on Sound Check

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

alt

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

September 16, 2014

BRETT (USA)

Brett

Cascine

Brett Facebook

Buy here

1. Chalon
2. Lovers
3. Confidence
4. Inside
5. Goon
6. Always
7. Golden
8. Thrash
9. Glass Hearts

---------------------------

September 9, 2014

SOFT WALLS (ENG)

No Time

Trouble In Mind

Soft Walls Facebook

Buy here

1. Won't Remember My Name
2. The Big Nod
3. Never Come Back Again
4. Early In The Day
5. No Time
6. All The Same
7. Slumbering
8. Foot Of The Stairs
9. Guided Through
10. Transient View
---------------------------

September 2, 2014

TOPS (CAN)

Picture You Staring

Arbutus Records

TOPS Facebook

Buy here

1. Way To Be Loved
2. Blind Faze
3. Circle The Dark
4. Outside
5. All The People Sleep
6. Sleeptalker
7. Superstition Killer
8. 2 Shy
9. Change Of Heart
10. Easier Said
11. Driverless Passenger
12. Destination

-------------------------------------

August 26, 2014

MERCHANDISE (USA)

After The End

4AD

Merchandise Facebook

Buy here

1. Corridor
2. Enemy
3. True Movement
4. Green Lady
5. Life Outside The Mirror
6. Telephone
7. Little Killer
8. Looking Glass Waltz
9. After The End
10. Exile And Ego

-------------------------------------

August 19, 2014

FKA TWIGS (ENG)

LP1

Young Turks

FKA twigs Facebook

Buy here

1. Prelude
2. Lights On
3. Two Weeks
4. Hours
5. Pendulum
6. Video Girl
7. Numbers
8. Closer
9. Give Up
10. Kicks

-------------------------------------

August 12, 2014

WHITE FENCE (USA)

For The Recently Found Innocent

Drag City

White Fence Facebook

Buy here

1. The Recently Found
2. Anger! Who Keeps You Under
3. Like That
4. Sandra (When The Earth Dies)
5. Wolf Gets Red Faced
6. Goodbye Law
7. Arrow Man
8. Actor
9. Hard Water
10. The Light
11. Afraid Of What It's Worth
12. Fear
13. Raven On White Cadillac
14. Paranoid Bait

---------------------

August 5, 2014

THE BILINDA BUTCHERS (USA)

Heaven

Orchid Tapes / Atelier Ciseaux

The Bilinda Butchers Tumblr

Buy here

1. Ume (feat. Juri Nakashima)
2. Less Than
3. Old Style Amami (feat. Juri Nakashima)
4. Shadow Beat
5. Golden House (feat. Sarah Psalti)
6. New Style Askashi (feat. Juri Nakashima)
7. The Lover's Suicide
8. Tanka (feat. Lamp)
9. Edo Method
10. The River Sumida
11. Golden House (feat. Juri Nakashima)
12. Heaven Holds A Place (feat. Harriet Brown)
13. Heaven (feat. Juri Nakashima)
-------------------------------

July 29, 2014

WOMAN'S HOUR (ENG)

Conversations

Secretly Canadian

Woman's Hour Official Site

Buy here

1. Unbroken Sequence
2. Conversations
3. To The End
4. Darkest Place
5. In Stillness We Remain
6. Our Love Has No Rhythm
7. Her Ghost
8. Two Sides Of You
9. Devotions
10. Reflections
11. The Day That Needs Defending

-------------------------

July 22, 2014

MELTED TOYS (USA)

Melted Toys

Underwater Peoples / Altier Ciseaux

Melted Toys Facebook

Buy here

1. Intro
2. Bummed Out
3. Horizons
4. Press (A Habitat)
5. A Postcard
6. Blush
7. Always
8. Water Arches
9. Joy Fit
10. Observations
11. Come On
12. Citrus Honeymoon
-------------------------------

July 15, 2014

HOW TO DRESS WELL (USA)

What Is This Heart?

Domino / Weird World

How To Dress World Facebook

Buy here

1. 2 Years On (Shame Dream)
2. What You Wanted
3. Face Again
4. See You Fail
5. Repeat Pleasure
6. Words I Don't Remember
7. Pour Cyril
8. Precious Light
9. Childhood Faith In Love (Everything Must Change, Everything Must Stay The Same)
10. A Power
11. Very Best Friend
12. House Inside (Future Is Older Than The Past)
-------------------------------

July 8, 2014

TOTAL CONTROL (AUS)

Typical System

Iron Lung

Total Control Official Site

Buy digitally here  (vinyl sold out & delayed)

1.Glass
2. Expensive Dog
3. Flesh War
4. Systematic Fuck
5. Liberal Party
6. Two Less Jacks
7. Black Spring
8. The Ferryman
9. Hunter
10. Safety Net

-------------------------------------

July 1, 2014

THE ANTLERS (USA)

Familiars

Anti- / Trangressive

The Antlers Official Site

Buy here 

1. Palace
2. Doppelganger
3. Hotel
4. Intruders
5. Director
6. Revisited
7. Parade
8. Surrender
9. Refuge
-------------------------------------

June 24, 2014

THE FRESH & ONLYS (USA)

House Of Spirits

Mexican Summer

The Fresh & Onlys Official Site

Buy here

1. Home Is Where?
2. Who Let The Devil
3. Bells Of Paonia
4. Animal Of One
5. I'm Awake
6. Hummingbird
7. April Fools
8. Ballerina
9. Candy

10. Madness

-------------------------------------

June 17, 2014

BEN FROST (AUS/ICE)

Aurora

Bedroom Community / Mute

Ben Frost Soundcloud

Buy here 

1. Flex
2. Nolan
3. The Teeth Behind Kisses
4. Secant
5. Diphenyl Oxalate
6. Venter
7. No Sorrowing
8. Sola Fide
9. A Single Point Of Blinding Light
-------------------------------------

June 10, 2014

PARQUET COURTS (USA)

Sunbathing Animals

Mom + Pop / What's Your Rupture

Parquet Courts Facebook

Buy here

1. Bodies
2. Black And White
3. Dear Ramona
4. What Color Is Blood
5. Vienna II
6. Always Back In Town
7. She's Rollin'
8. Sunbathing Animal
9. Up All Night
10. Instant Disassembly
11. Duckin' And Dodgin'
12. Raw Milk
13. Into The Garden
-------------------------------

June 3, 2014

SHARON VAN ETTEN (USA)

Are We There

Jagjaguwar

Sharon Van Etten Official Site

Buy here

1. Afraid Of Nothing
2. Taking Chances
3. Your Love Is Killing Me
4. Our Love
5. Tarifa
6. I Love You But I'm Lost
7. You Know Me Well
8. Break Me
9. Nothing Will Change
10. I Know
11. Every Time The Sun Comes Up

-------------------------------

May 27, 2014

SWANS (USA)

To Be Kind

Young God Records

Swans Facebook

Buy here

1. Screen Shot
2. Just A Little Boy (for Chester Burnett)
3. A Little God In My Hands
4. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture
5. Some Things We Do
6. She Loves Us
7. Kirsten Supine
8. Oxygen
9. Nathalie Neal
10. To Be Kind

-------------------------------

May 20, 2014

THE SHILOHS (CAN)

The Shilohs

Light Organ Records

The Shilohs Official Site

Buy here

1. Student Of Nature
2. Ordinary People
3. Champagne Days
4. Sisters Of Blue
5. Strange Connections
6. Folks On Trains
7. Palm Readers
8. Porch Light
9. Bless Those Boys
10. Down At The Bottom Of Bottomland
11. Queen Light Queen Dark
12. Days Of Wine
-------------------------------

May 13, 2014

AMAYA LAUCIRICA (AUS)

Sway

Self Released

Amaya Laucirica Official Site

Buy here

1. Three Heart Delay
2. Found Some Secret
3. Prettier Than The Sound
4. On The Air
5. You Only Say Goodbye
6. Running Out Of Time
7. Not Been Sleeping
8. Falling All Around
9. This Morning's Blue
10. Ocean Wide
11. Falling Out Of Time

-------------------------------

May 6, 2014

WOODS (USA)

With Light and With Love

Woodist 

Woods Facebook

Buy here 

1. Shepherd
2. Shining
3. With Light And With love
4. Moving To The Left
5. New Light
6. Leaves Like Glass
7. Twin Steps
8. Full Moon
9. Only The Lonely
10. Feather Man

-------------------------------

April 29, 2014

FEAR OF MEN (ENG)

Loom

Kanine

Fear Of Men Facebook

Buy here

1. Alta
2. Waterfall
3. Green Sea
4. Vitrine
5. Tephra
6. America
7. Seer
8. Luna
9. Descent
10. Inside
11. Atla

-------------------------------

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP 10
Vol. 6 No. 30 - September 17, 2014
1. Esoteric Tizz
Free Time (AUS)
2. Our Love
Caribou (CAN)
3. Along The PCH On Oscar Night
Nicholas Krgovich (CAN))
4. PSI
Lydia Ainsworth (CAN)
5. Era
Fiance (USA)
6. Fiona Coyne
Saint Pepsi (USA)
7. What's In The World
YAWN (USA)
8. Way To Be Loved
TOPS (CAN)
9. New York, New Dorp (feat. Ezra Koenig)
SBTRKT (ENG)
10. Dig It Out
Natalie McCool (ENG)
-----------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------