RECORD REVIEW: BROTHERTIGER - GOLDEN YEARS
Reviews
Thursday, 26 April 2012 00:00
 



JPG

Mush Records

Buy here

Brooklyn based John Jagos is Brothertiger, an artist who has pushed his way through a crowded genre to emerge with originality and confidence that many would be envious of. Hailing originally from Athens, Ohio, he first made a name for himself with the brilliant Vision Tunnels EP (which was a favourite here at Indie30) way back in May of 2010. Since then Jagos has been busy remixing the likes of Keep Shelly In Athens, Millionyoung, and Rollercoasters In The Woods, releasing plenty of singles, touring extensively and having regular DJ sets in European clubs. Here he had a chance to test his material on a captive audience, and this no doubt has played a part in the refined and finely honed sound found on Golden Years. 

The intro to the opener 'The Young Ones' drifts in with muted sounds from what could be a playground, kids playing, joyful yelps and laughter with upbeat synths and percussion ushering in the album. Bright and sparkly, it is just a trailer for what Brothertiger has in store over the next forty minutes and ten songs. 'I've Been Waiting' is pop at its best, infectious as hell. We have entered the 80s from our comfortable position in 2012, where tracks like this, (and albums like this) shine bright in their homage to new-wave, disco and the cult of the keyboard. 'Wind At My Back' has the feel of an ocean breeze, vocals echoing, ebbing and flowing with a body-swaying vibe that is just joyful and positive in all regards. 

'Too Convinced to Care' continues the lushness in a track that has several moments that build up and plateau onto fields of pure bliss. Multiple overlays of Jagos' voice provide gorgeous harmonies that evoke a sense of calm and comfort, you can easily imagine it as a soundtrack to a long drive through the country at night, or a blue sky Sunday by a pool. It creates a warm and lazy envelope you just want to be a part of. 'Reach It All' takes things up a notch though it's all still pretty mellow, lots of layers abound, looped vocal sounds sandwiched between lyrics and ever abundant synths and drum machined percussion, swirl and bounce in this track that brings to mind Animal Collective in places. 

'Golden Years' is the title track, and has a New Order kind of feel going on at the intro, but as with the whole of the LP it never takes these borrowings too far. The sound is his and his alone, which is no mean feat in a time where 'chillwave' or 'dream-pop' seems to be the order of the day. 'Lovers' is a highlight standing out with its choppy structure and cut up vocals, definitely one for the dance floors. 'Out Of Line' is one of the smoothest tracks found on Golden Years, groove laden and full of disco goodness, this penultimate track is another standout and over all too soon clocking in at just under four minutes. Many of these tracks beg for remixing and will no doubt be available in the near future. 'Turquoise, (Skyline)' rounds the album off nicely in a hazy kind of way, bringing this atmospheric dream-scape to a close. Golden Years is a musical equivalent to a bean bag by a fireplace, and the talent Jagos displays in all aspects of composition, musicianship and songwriting bodes well for the future of Brothertiger. 

The 80s were a time like no other. Back then, when the only digital things in our lives were our watches, we could only wish all the music sounded this good. The beauty of this revisit to the sound of the 80s through modern indie, is that it is filtered through years of retrospect and only the good stuff is allowed through. It leaves the shit, and we all know there were mountains of shit, to stay forever where it belongs, to be played in bad night clubs that go by the name of 'Time Warp', or 'Greed' or some such thing. Oh Mickey...if only Jessie's Girl had heard of Brothertiger, things could have turned out a whole lot differently for her. I'm not sure what that means, but many of the fans that Jagos has accrued over the last couple of years would have been in nappies at the time anyway so it doesn't matter. And those of us who do remember it, know it's a good thing to hear the brilliant and pioneering sounds of the good 80s, re-birthed into albums like this. 

Dave Roberts - April 25, 2012 

 

Golden Years

Brothertiger (USA)
From the album, 'Golden Years', Mush Records 

Download here

Brothertiger Bandcamp 

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Hold On
Wilderness (SWE)
3. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
4. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
5. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
6. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)
7. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
8. Repeat Pleasure
How To Dress Well (USA)
9. Animal Of One
The Fresh & Onlys (USA)
10. Pickup Lines
SoftSpot (USA)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------