RECORD REVIEW: CATS ON FIRE: ALL BLACKSHIRTS TO ME
Reviews
Thursday, 10 May 2012 11:12
 



jpg

Soliti / Matinee

Buy here

It's been a long and frustrating road travelled for main Cats On Fire protagonist Mattias Björkas and company. The now five piece pop troubadors had their beginnings in the then somewhat small and isolated west coast Finnish town of Vaasa where in late 2002/early 2003 as an 18 year old Swedish speaking Björkas, Kenneth Höglund and initial members Kim and Johan  put out a couple of demos and a debut EP, Solid Work, on vinyl to heartening reception in the Finnish big smoke, Helsinki. However, like many good starts, the initial buzz turned out to be a false dawn and despite moving to Turku, gaining Ville Hopponen and Henry Ojala (now the mastermind behind Burning Hearts) and despite releasing two more EPs over the next three years, the Cats On Fire project failed to make the right connections and stalled.

Slowly though, a collective around Björkas began to take shape. Finally in a position where they could get people taking notice they were rejuvenated in the summer of 2006 and released their first album proper, The Province Complains, to deserved acclaim among the indie pop community throughout Europe. Two years later, they released the equally impressive Our Temperance Movement. Two prominent shows at NYC's 2008 and 2009 Popfest, alongside Ojala's Burning Hearts and Sweden's The Radio Dept. and it seemed things were starting to fall into place.

The last three years then seem to have seen the band tread water again and you only need to do a quick English language search of the band on the web to understand that Cats On Fire, for some bizarre reason, haven't exactly set the English language world on fire over their long journey. It is hoped then that their new record All Blackshirts To Me will change all that.

Once again incorporating traditional melodies with sparkling jangly pop that spans the ages, All Blackshirts To Me builds on the work done on previous releases but overall is more exploratory and diverse both in approach and sound. Still prevalent though is the intellectually and politically piercing lyrical content that has always characterised Cats On Fire, no better illustrated than on '1914 and Beyond', a track that contains pointed criticism for the European elites financial penchant for imposing austerity in the wake of the 2008 GFC, policies that serve to insulate and reward them from their fuck-ups while they fuck over ordinary people, policies so widely rejected by popular forces in both Greece and France in recent days. Bjorkas advises, "Greece don't pay your debts, don't bother with debts, Iceland, go on and cover us in ashes". Also present again are doses of withering self-criticism, clever self-deprecation and more than a flirtation with obtuse laden reality, lyrical qualities that Björkas has come to be renowned for.

Throughout the album's eleven tracks, there's almost an encylopedic sense to Björkas's pop knowledge. While his vocals have always had a little Edwyn Collins about them, that's about where the similarities with bands like Orange Juice and other c1980 British bands end. Opener 'Our Old Centre Back', an example of Björkas's prediliction for playing the part of the one that loses out begins with a traditional flavour and combines old folk vocal stylings with laconic six string work. It also sets the tone of the record, that is Cats On Fire seem determined to deliberately play within themselves; the sum of its parts making up the whole.

'My Sense Of Pride' is a joyous listen with chiming guitars but lyrically is an example of the self deprecation aforementioned, "Takes courage to say I’ve been mistaken, I’ve been an idiot for years, Now I speak in a lower voice to blend in, I try not to dress up queer". 'A Different Light' is an absolute pop gem that begins with a soaring hook before settling down in a disciplined fashion before rising to flourishing finish.'There Goes The Alarm' is a sparkly ballad that hums away beautifully as intricate guitar arrangements dominate both in idea and execution throughout. Bjorkas completes the delicate nature of the track by vocally almost nursing his lyrics through. 'After The Fact' bounces along with angular bass prominent with gorgeous harmonies surrounding its chorus.

'The Sea Within' continues the  trajectory and follows a traditional bent vocally and the melancholic, yet defiant European history lesson, the aforementioned, '1914 and Beyond', completes the middle section. 'Well Well What Do You Know' features Bjorkas and Iiris Viljanen, not for the first time delivering exquisite harmonies together in another irresistable traditional arrangement.

'Smash It To Pieces' evokes a mixture of a little bit of Belle And Sebastian at times together with good British and Irish nineteenth century folk. Standout track, 'A Few Empty Waves' is a sweeping statement of intent in terms of what All Blackshirts To Me is about - a band determined to keep relevant and vital. The track contains much power in its own restraint musically as Bjorkas uses the pitfalls of being at sea as a metaphor for the mixed experiences of Cats On Fire thus far. Closing track, the instrumental accordion dominated 'Finnish Lace' could almost be seen as a muted musical celebration, the culmination of a great record by artists that are satisfied but fully aware that music is but just one part of life.

Throughout All Blackshirts To Me, Cats On Fire never overplay their hand. Each track stays firmly within itself, allowing the listener to come to each of them on his or her own terms. This has been something that the band have been known for throughout their career and perhaps one of the reasons they haven't 'cracked' the English language independent music world. One hopes this record will change that and early signs are that it will. The most pleasing thing out of that is the fact this very special pop band have always marched to the beat of their own drum. That they are producing their best work after eleven long years is testament to the band's timeless ability to add social and political intelligence as well as musical virtuosity to the full spectrum that pop has to offer. It may have been a long and hard road travelled over the past decade for Cats On Fire, but I for one hope that All Blackshirts To Me simply stands at the centre of another decade to come.

James Stocker - May 10, 2012.

 

A Different Light

Cats On Fire (FIN)
From the album, 'All Blackshirts To Me', Soliti/Matinee.

Download here

Audio Clip

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

alt

 
4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow to the penis and buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly less than their counterparts that were branded, tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage how to buy cialis online
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 28, 2015

AMERICAN WRESTLERS (SCO/USA)

American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left

------------------------

April 21, 2015

MARIE DAVIDSON (CAN)

Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone

-----------------------

April 14, 2015

LOWER DENS (USA)

Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme

------------------------

April 7, 2015

WAXAHATCHEE (USA)

Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire
------------------------

March 31, 2015

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR (CAN)

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress

Constellation

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

------------------------

March 24, 2015

COURTNEY BARNETT (AUS)

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

------------------------

March 17,  2015

ETIQUETTE (CAN)

Reminisce

Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here

------------------------

March 10, 2015

YOUNG GUV (CAN)

Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)

------------------------

March 3, 2015

MOUNT EERIE (USA)

Sauna

P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth

------------------------

February 24, 2015

SLEATER-KINNEY (USA)

No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade

------------------------

February 17, 2015

CASA DEL MIRTO (ITA)

Still

Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still

------------------------

February 10, 2015

NATALIE PRASS (USA)

Natalie Prass

Spacebomb 

Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You

---------------------------

February 3, 2015

JESSICA PRATT (USA)

On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again

---------------------------

January 27th, 2015

VIET CONG (CAN)

Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death

-------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

CURRENT TOP 10

1. LET IT HAPPEN
Tame Impala (AUS)
 
2. MENTIRAS
BOAN (USA)
 
3. DAZE
Cuushe (JAP)
 
4. DEPRESTON
Courtney Barnett (AUS)
 
5. OUT OF MY WORLD
Communions (DEN)
 
6. DOUBLE TALK
Jaakko Eino Kalevi (FIN)
 
7. WHITE TRASH
ONBC (DEN)
 
8. TAKE IT BACK
Liza Anne (USA)
 
9. NO LOVE
EVVOL (IRE/AUS)
 
10. DAMN THAT VALLEY
US Girls (USA)
 
------------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------