RECORD REVIEW: CHROMATICS - KILL FOR LOVE
Reviews
Friday, 25 May 2012 00:00
 



JPG

Italians Do It Better

Buy here

Portland, Oregon's Chromatics have transformed themselves since their punk inspired beginnings in 2001 to become one of the most interesting and talked about groups of the year. Their rise has been a slow burn, a process which piece by piece has gathered momentum to the point they are at now, firmly on the indie radar and the jewel in the crown of the inspired and progressive indie label Italians Do It Better. Jewel quite literally, as the label (an offshoot of the noise-punk label Troubleman Unlimited) was co-founded by Chromatic's Johnny Jewel, who has been a creative driving force on more than a few projects.

A crackle of needle-on-vinyl marks the first couple of seconds of 'Into The Black' and the album itself, before that bitterly sweet guitar riff and the honeyed voice of Ruth Radelet comes in like a warm breeze. A re-named Neil Young cover seems an interesting and brave choice of song to open Kill For Love, but it works perfectly. A lamentation written thirty five years ago about his own growing irrelevance, it has some of the most poetic lines found in any track; "my my, hey hey / rock and roll is here to stay / its better to burn out / than to fade away / my my, hey hey"...the tragedy and sense of foreboding is all there, (a line was quoted in Kurt Cobain's suicide note). The haunting guitar and simple synths underscore the Chromatic's wash over the whole track, they completely own it, and it's beautiful. And with that, the album is set for us, turn the lights down, settle back. This is no half measured LP. It's taken five years to create and the playlist of seventeen tracks have been chosen from around thirty-seven written for the album. 

The dark lyrics found in the title track, 'Kill For Love' are sung clearly and without emotion, sharply capturing a feeling of decay, alcohol haze and drug induced comedowns. The new-wave atmosphere is also there, with the 1980s seen through the 20teens sound honed to perfection, in a way only few can pull off (Twin Shadow / Ariel Pink also being up there). 'The Page' has a soupy mix with reverb and the lo-fi crackles that give it a warmth that is found throughout the album. 'Lady' begins with urgent synths and gains momentum to become a classic piece of dream pop and a highlight on Kill For Love.

The opening bars that are looped on 'The Streets Will Never Look the Same' remind me of the intro to a sports program I recall fondly from the 80s (Wide World Of Sports!) where as a kid we used to spend summer holidays watching cricket with the air con. blasting. The whole album has that comfortable and familiar feel, while still taking you to places new and unexpected. 'Broken Mirrors' is one of three tracks that comes in over seven minutes in length, an instrumental piece that messes with time signatures and is downright creepy in places, another example of how cinematic the sound of Chromatics can be. Halfway through this track things change up as percussion enters the mix, the synths become more sinister, and images of dark lane-ways punctuated by spots of lights thrown from overhead come to mind, a lone figure looking over their shoulder.

It comes as no surprise that Johnny Jewel has in fact been involved with soundtracks, he contributed two tracks to last year's Ryan Gosling film Drive, where music is a key feature and used in a distinctively affecting way, jarring completely with modern day Hollywood fodder. 'Under your Spell' was chosen from his work as a member of Desire, a side project with Nat Walker also of Chromatics, and vocalist Megan Louise, from their debut and so far only album, 2009's II. The vintage keyboards and 80s pop influence found on the soundtrack sit at odds with the action on screen, but this strange mix of American (almost) art-house meets mid-week tele-movie manages to pull it off. Though set in contemporary LA, the visual style of the film at times has such an 80s feel that a smart-phone just looks out of place. 'Tick Of The Clock' from the 2007 LP Night Drive is also featured strongly in the film.   

'There's A Light Out on the Horizon' kicks off with Atari pings and bleeps, is joined by cross-fading swooshing sound effects, then out of nowhere, like we are a Murdoch employee, we hear a voice-mail intercept. "Hi, it's me. Just wondering if you got my text. Anyway, I'm going to bed pretty soon. Hope your OK out there, wherever you are. Goodnight, I love you." The  silent recipient of the message hits 'delete'. It's cold, the music goes on. Out of the blue and into the black.

- Dave Roberts, May 25, 2012

 

Into The Black

Chromatics (USA)
From the album, 'Kill For Love', Italians Do It Better

Download here

 

Lady

Chromatics (USA)
From the album, 'Kill For Love', Italians Do It Better

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------