RECORD REVIEW: LOTUS PLAZA - SPOOKY ACTION AT A DISTANCE
Reviews
Tuesday, 12 June 2012 00:00
 



JPG

Kranky

Buy here

The Floodlight Collective from 2009 saw Deerhunter's guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Lockett Pundt give his all to creating his own album, full of reverb laden guitars and washed out vocals. While similar to the work of Deerhunter it definitely had his own stamp of dreamy guitar pop, that has shone through with his contributions to Deerhunter tracks such as Halcyon Digest's 'Desire Lines' which was a standout of that album. Three years later he is back with Spooky Action At A Distance, an album able to withstand multiple listens revealing a new layer each time. Like the other songs he has penned for Deerhunter such as 'Agoraphobia', 'Neither Of Us' and 'Uncertainly' the confidence and strength of his abilities are clear to see on this second album as Lotus Plaza. 

'Untitled' is an ethereal introduction to Spooky Action At A Distance, a short instrumental track that seems to waft in on a breeze, and depart just as suddenly. It sets the tone for the remaining ten tracks though; forty-two minutes, which are over before you know it, and will have you reaching for the play button once more. 'Strangers' is immediately catchy and bound to be stuck with you long after you hear it. Seemingly simple in form it is dense with layers, not an easy feat to pull off, but one in which Pundt does effortlessly. The driving use of snare drum, crisp vocals and melange of guitar melodies give it a different sound to many of the tracks found on The Floodlight Collective, while still retaining his distinct style.

'Out Of Touch' crashes forward, the first few seconds sounding like someone tuning in an AM radio station before percussion takes over and a big chorus ensues, sure to go down well at live gigs. 'Dusty Rhodes' is a leisurely stroll of a track, strumming guitars at the centre with Pundt's laid back vocals clear and mournful, and an outro that peters out to dust. 'White Galactic One' comes in loud and stomping, electric guitars this time screeching and a bit distorted throughout, a more gauzy mix on vocals making it hard to pick out the lyrics but still it's catchy as hell.

'Monoliths' you can imagine listening to ten years from now, and being just as fresh as it is today. One of the most engaging and upbeat tracks on Spooky Action from A Distance, it's well placed in the middle of the list. Again, there is a lot going on here but it doesn't sound over-produced or over worked, just the opposite in fact, it sound deceptively simple. 'Jet out Of The Tundra' has a motorik rhythm cutting through it, as Pundt sings  "High above the sea / I haven't slept in days / There's no looking back / Afraid of what's ahead / Head is full of rocks / Pockets full of change / It has been so long / Since I have felt this way", the feelings found in these lyrics can kind of sum up the feeling of the entire album. His vocals stop dead half way through the track for us to be left with a looping maxed out scratchy guitar and a powerful but simple piano to close the song. It's brilliant.   

'Eveningness' lets his voice fully roam the sonic landscape he creates, maybe more so than any other track on the LP. Wavering, warbling synths and a steady driving percussion give momentum that makes this another highlight. 'Black Buzz' with its strum of acoustic guitar is a fitting closer, stripped back compared to the other tracks, and bookends nicely with the opening song 'Untitled' both being more ambient affairs than what's sandwiched between them. This is an album that is over all too soon, and it's probably that which makes it so re-listenable, and bloody enjoyable. Lockett Pundt must have found it an awkward step to put himself out there, going by accounts of how reclusive and shy he apparently is. It certainly appears that way if you have seen Deerhunter live, with Pundt slipping into the background giving the spotlight to the outgoing Bradford Cox. He has not severed himself from the band however with his solo outings, Lotus Plaza's debut LP was named after the band he was in with Cox during High School when they met. The similarities are there but it's the differences that count, and that's what make Spooky Action At A Distance a great listen, time and time again.

- Dave Roberts, 12 June, 2012


Strangers

Lotus Plaza (USA)
From the album, 'Spooky Action From A Distance', Kranky 

Download here

Audio Stream

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

JPG

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------