RECORD REVIEW: FATHER JOHN MISTY - FEAR FUN
Reviews
Sunday, 24 June 2012 00:00
 



jpg

 

Sub Pop

Buy here

"It's all of me and none of me" is how Joshua Tillman has described his relationship with Father John Misty, a new incarnation and a step in a different direction for this talented and quirky singer-songwriter. The sombre and melancholic atmosphere of his previous work has given way to a warm, rich, bold and at times darkly humorous tone present across the twelve tracks found on Fear Fun. He has said that prior to writing the album he "got into his van with enough mushrooms to choke a horse and started driving down the coast with nowhere to go. After a few weeks I was writing a novel which is where I finally found my narrative voice....it was a while before that voice starting manifesting in a musical way, but once I settled into a Laurel Canyon spider shack, where I'm living now, I spent months demoing all these weird-ass songs about weird-ass experiences, almost in real time, and kind of had this musical 'Oh there I am' moment, identical to how I felt when I was writing the book." 

This move to California, and in particular Laurel Canyon, has given Tillman a new context both in climate and history. This LA neighbourhood has been home to the likes of Frank Zappa, Jim Morrison, Joni Mitchell, and members of the Byrds and Love. A crossroads of counter-culture that still retains a bohemian atmosphere, it serves as the antithesis to the lush homes of Beverly Hills, a ten minute drive away. The surrealism of LA shines through on Fear Fun and sees Tillman brimming with confidence and strangeness. It's an ode to this city of equal measure dream and nightmare, where lives are fake, fickle and all too often crushed in search of something that was never really there. All is this is encapsulated over the forty-three minute debut of Tillman's Father John Misty incarnation.      

'Funtimes In Babylon' opens proceedings, with a simple structure highlighting the vocals "Look out Hollywood here I come / fun times in Babylon / mama they've just begun / before they put me to work in a government camp / before they do my face up like a corpse and say get up and dance / before the beast comes looking for last years' rent". 'Nancy From Now On' is a hypnotically infectious song, that is immediate and will go down as an indie classic. It actually sounds like it has been around as a classic for ages, with a sound that is timeless, but not in a way that is a rip off of anything. This is including his own work as J. Tilman (of which he has seven LP's) or Fleet Foxes (of which he was drummer from 2008 until recently), this track and the album as a whole, has an at times morbid playfulness about it, but hits the mark straddling the line between folk and indie pop bringing out the best of both genres.  

'Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings' was the first single and another highlight of Fear Fun, a track that is full of driving percussion and full throated vocals, brimming of reverb and the sound of Americana. The video is epic featuring actress Aubrey Plaza wondering about a surreal landscape of a drugged out party and forest, it's another immediately likable track you'll want to keep hearing all week. 'I'm Writing A Novel' tells a narrative of the seedy life of West Hollywood, as he croons "I ran down the road / pants down to my knees, screaming / 'please come help me' / that Canadian shaman gave a little too much to me!". 'O I Long to Feel your Arms Around Me', 'Misty's Nightmares 1 & 2', and 'Only son Of The Ladiesman' each have their own identity but stand strong in their own right, and are each a cohesive part of the whole. The track placement works perfectly throughout. 

The LP closes with 'Everyman Needs A Companion', which came from Tillman's solo west coast journey from Seattle to LA, a trip over several months from which the persona of Father John Misty was born..."Joseph Campbell and the Rolling Stones / couldn't give me a myth / so I had to write my own". This release seems to have been a liberating experience for Tilman, and it comes across in the sound and warmth of Fear Fun. The mysteries of a haunted urban landscape prevail, and as FJM there is an outlet for this terrain to explored through the eyes of an outsider, and sung with the lyrics and voice of a poet.

Dave Roberts- June 24, 2012

 

Nancy From Now On

Father John Misty (USA)
From the album, 'Fear Fun, Sub Pop.

Download here

Live Performance on KEXP

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

The Only Son Of A Ladiesman

Father John Misty (USA)
From the album, 'Fear Fun, Sub Pop.

Live on Letterman

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------