RECORD REVIEW: TOPS - TENDER OPPOSITES
Reviews
Saturday, 14 July 2012 03:46
 


 

jpg

Arbutus/Atelier Ciseaux

Tops Bandcamp

Buy vinyl here

The last decade or so has seen the onset of a cerebral and nostalgic form of pop music largely thanks to the left field single minded work of outsider luminaries like Ariel Pink, John Maus, Matt Fishbeck, Geneva Jacuzzi, Gary War etc. It has produced an array of bands and artists that have taken up that torch and have moulded that off centre creativity into a discernable lo-fi, yet musically
intricate and challenging take on 70s and 80s pop music. Twin Sister and Puro Instinct instantly come to mind. The fact they're on tour with Maus at present (one hell of a show!) illustrates the point. It's important to note though that Pink and Maus still undoubtedly lead the pack are are simulateneously providing that intangible feel that drives this particularly unique blend of pop.

Another band to have joined the ranks is TOPS, a coming together of some of Montreal's finest purveyors and players of independent DIY pop music. The quartet has sprung from local bands of the ilk of Silly Kissers, Paula, Sugar Boys and Pat Jordache. Their debut album, Tender Opposites, more than lends itself to the growing list of works that just don't celebrate and respect the work of the past, but add lustre and a fresh take to those sounds.  Anybody who thinks TOPS are simply aping the past do not recognise subtlety and/or are just not listening.

One of the impressive things about the TOPS approach is their determination to avoid bells and whistles. Tender Opposites is a warm and rich listen but at the same time it's spartan in the sense that it employs nothing else but the traditional - guitar, bass, keys and drums. And these guys, David Carriere, Thom Gillies, Jane Penny and Riley Fleck respectively are all over them, constructing astute melodies and sharp rhythms that are immediately infectious and enduring. Besides the creativity on the music side, Penny's vocals make Tender Opposites an even more intriguing album. She's just as much at home in the lounge bar of a jazz club as she is playing to a pop crowd. She can be sweet and innocent, sultry and powerful, distant and detached, urgent and immediate. No mean feat. Yet, there's also a fragility attached to her voice as well as the music. For all the assuredness in each track, you get the feeling there's a restlessness apparent in the songwriting at times and a wariness of undeserved contentedness.

Tender Opposites, vinyl wise, sits nicely at four tracks per side and kicks off with 'Evening' with its ethereal keys, canoodling guitar and metronomic beat. 'Diamond Look' is an ever-immersing number as it oscillates between a laid back and urgent feel. But its lyrics belie its sparkly appearance. It's an ascerbic and cautionary tale and a non-gender take on the blankness of mainstream, consumer dominated, plastic relationships. "VII Babies" is another track that contains two distinct parts; a smooth verse is rudely but gloriously punctured with flute, an elastic bass line and an urgent latin inspired off-beat. When the percussion kicks in, bridge and outro alike; the song becomes almost the most appropriate track for the promulgation of a conga line ever! The final track on side one, the lengthy 'Double Vision' is more introverted musically and heartfelt vocally, taking the album out of the club and into the lounge.

Side two opens with 'Go Away', a track that is dominated by its strong bass lines and Penny's chorus call to anyone who'll listen. First single 'Turn Your Love Around' saunters along with a funk like disposition where all instrumentation is in synchroncity including the vocal arrangements. The keys and guitars sparkle over the disciplined yet spirited rhythm. The song then turns on its head as the bass, guitar and vocals get busy but the drums stay in a slow groove - absolute gold. The introspection returns on the chilled out and otherworldly 'Rings Of Saturn'. Vocal harmonies are used to great effect but the most impressive thing about the track is how it utilises space and tone allowing all elements to breathe and illuminate the other. The album is completed by 'Theme', an instrumental that collects the essence of the aforementioned seven tracks in the way that suggests a multi-faceted reprise was in
order.

The most impressive thing about Tender Opposites is its clear exhibition of the quartet's songwriting chops within a familiar generic paradigm. It's simply lazy to label TOPS derivative or unoriginal. To do so completely ignores how independent pop music developed historically and organically. Artists have always worn their influences on their sleeves, whether they are going out of their way to embrace or eschew them. Repeated listens of Tender Opposites will reveal a band that clearly revels in its songcraft and takes familiar sounds down an individual path, not only blending but disturbing conventional pop aethestics.

James Stocker - July 14, 2012.

 

Diamond Look

TOPS (CAN)
From the album, 'Tender Opposites', Arbutus/Atelier Ciseaux.

Audio Stream

alt

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
2. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
3. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
4. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
5. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
6. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
9. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
10. Cockscombs
Deepest Bison (USA)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------