RECORD REVIEW: TOPS - TENDER OPPOSITES
Reviews
Saturday, 14 July 2012 03:46
 


 

jpg

Arbutus/Atelier Ciseaux

Tops Bandcamp

Buy vinyl here

The last decade or so has seen the onset of a cerebral and nostalgic form of pop music largely thanks to the left field single minded work of outsider luminaries like Ariel Pink, John Maus, Matt Fishbeck, Geneva Jacuzzi, Gary War etc. It has produced an array of bands and artists that have taken up that torch and have moulded that off centre creativity into a discernable lo-fi, yet musically
intricate and challenging take on 70s and 80s pop music. Twin Sister and Puro Instinct instantly come to mind. The fact they're on tour with Maus at present (one hell of a show!) illustrates the point. It's important to note though that Pink and Maus still undoubtedly lead the pack are are simulateneously providing that intangible feel that drives this particularly unique blend of pop.

Another band to have joined the ranks is TOPS, a coming together of some of Montreal's finest purveyors and players of independent DIY pop music. The quartet has sprung from local bands of the ilk of Silly Kissers, Paula, Sugar Boys and Pat Jordache. Their debut album, Tender Opposites, more than lends itself to the growing list of works that just don't celebrate and respect the work of the past, but add lustre and a fresh take to those sounds.  Anybody who thinks TOPS are simply aping the past do not recognise subtlety and/or are just not listening.

One of the impressive things about the TOPS approach is their determination to avoid bells and whistles. Tender Opposites is a warm and rich listen but at the same time it's spartan in the sense that it employs nothing else but the traditional - guitar, bass, keys and drums. And these guys, David Carriere, Thom Gillies, Jane Penny and Riley Fleck respectively are all over them, constructing astute melodies and sharp rhythms that are immediately infectious and enduring. Besides the creativity on the music side, Penny's vocals make Tender Opposites an even more intriguing album. She's just as much at home in the lounge bar of a jazz club as she is playing to a pop crowd. She can be sweet and innocent, sultry and powerful, distant and detached, urgent and immediate. No mean feat. Yet, there's also a fragility attached to her voice as well as the music. For all the assuredness in each track, you get the feeling there's a restlessness apparent in the songwriting at times and a wariness of undeserved contentedness.

Tender Opposites, vinyl wise, sits nicely at four tracks per side and kicks off with 'Evening' with its ethereal keys, canoodling guitar and metronomic beat. 'Diamond Look' is an ever-immersing number as it oscillates between a laid back and urgent feel. But its lyrics belie its sparkly appearance. It's an ascerbic and cautionary tale and a non-gender take on the blankness of mainstream, consumer dominated, plastic relationships. "VII Babies" is another track that contains two distinct parts; a smooth verse is rudely but gloriously punctured with flute, an elastic bass line and an urgent latin inspired off-beat. When the percussion kicks in, bridge and outro alike; the song becomes almost the most appropriate track for the promulgation of a conga line ever! The final track on side one, the lengthy 'Double Vision' is more introverted musically and heartfelt vocally, taking the album out of the club and into the lounge.

Side two opens with 'Go Away', a track that is dominated by its strong bass lines and Penny's chorus call to anyone who'll listen. First single 'Turn Your Love Around' saunters along with a funk like disposition where all instrumentation is in synchroncity including the vocal arrangements. The keys and guitars sparkle over the disciplined yet spirited rhythm. The song then turns on its head as the bass, guitar and vocals get busy but the drums stay in a slow groove - absolute gold. The introspection returns on the chilled out and otherworldly 'Rings Of Saturn'. Vocal harmonies are used to great effect but the most impressive thing about the track is how it utilises space and tone allowing all elements to breathe and illuminate the other. The album is completed by 'Theme', an instrumental that collects the essence of the aforementioned seven tracks in the way that suggests a multi-faceted reprise was in
order.

The most impressive thing about Tender Opposites is its clear exhibition of the quartet's songwriting chops within a familiar generic paradigm. It's simply lazy to label TOPS derivative or unoriginal. To do so completely ignores how independent pop music developed historically and organically. Artists have always worn their influences on their sleeves, whether they are going out of their way to embrace or eschew them. Repeated listens of Tender Opposites will reveal a band that clearly revels in its songcraft and takes familiar sounds down an individual path, not only blending but disturbing conventional pop aethestics.

James Stocker - July 14, 2012.

 

Diamond Look

TOPS (CAN)
From the album, 'Tender Opposites', Arbutus/Atelier Ciseaux.

Audio Stream

alt

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

September 30, 2014

LYDIA AINSWORTH

Right From Real

Arbutus Records

Lydia Ainsworth Official Site

Buy here

1. Candle
2. White Shadows
3. Malachite
4. Take Your Face Off
5. Moonstone
6. Hologram
7. PSI
8. The Truth

----------------------

September 23, 2014

SBTRKT (ENG)

Wonder Where We Land

Young Turks

SBTRKT Official Site

Buy here

1. Day 1
2. Wonder Where We Land (feat. Sampha)
3. Lantern
4. Higher (feat. Raury)
5. Day 5
6. Look Away (feat. Caroline Polachek)
7. Osea (feat. Koreless)
8. Temporary View (feat. Sampha)
9. New Dorp. New York (feat Ezra Koenig)
10. Everybody Knows
11. Problem Solved (feat. Jessie Ware)
12. If It Happens (feat. Sampha)
13. Gon Stay (feat. Sampha)
14. The Light (feat. Denai Moore)
15. Voices In My Head (feat. A$AP FERG)
-------------------------------

September 16, 2014

BRETT (USA)

Brett

Cascine

Brett Facebook

Buy here

1. Chalon
2. Lovers
3. Confidence
4. Inside
5. Goon
6. Always
7. Golden
8. Thrash
9. Glass Hearts

---------------------------

September 9, 2014

SOFT WALLS (ENG)

No Time

Trouble In Mind

Soft Walls Facebook

Buy here

1. Won't Remember My Name
2. The Big Nod
3. Never Come Back Again
4. Early In The Day
5. No Time
6. All The Same
7. Slumbering
8. Foot Of The Stairs
9. Guided Through
10. Transient View
---------------------------

September 2, 2014

TOPS (CAN)

Picture You Staring

Arbutus Records

TOPS Facebook

Buy here

1. Way To Be Loved
2. Blind Faze
3. Circle The Dark
4. Outside
5. All The People Sleep
6. Sleeptalker
7. Superstition Killer
8. 2 Shy
9. Change Of Heart
10. Easier Said
11. Driverless Passenger
12. Destination

-------------------------------------

August 26, 2014

MERCHANDISE (USA)

After The End

4AD

Merchandise Facebook

Buy here

1. Corridor
2. Enemy
3. True Movement
4. Green Lady
5. Life Outside The Mirror
6. Telephone
7. Little Killer
8. Looking Glass Waltz
9. After The End
10. Exile And Ego

-------------------------------------

August 19, 2014

FKA TWIGS (ENG)

LP1

Young Turks

FKA twigs Facebook

Buy here

1. Prelude
2. Lights On
3. Two Weeks
4. Hours
5. Pendulum
6. Video Girl
7. Numbers
8. Closer
9. Give Up
10. Kicks

-------------------------------------

August 12, 2014

WHITE FENCE (USA)

For The Recently Found Innocent

Drag City

White Fence Facebook

Buy here

1. The Recently Found
2. Anger! Who Keeps You Under
3. Like That
4. Sandra (When The Earth Dies)
5. Wolf Gets Red Faced
6. Goodbye Law
7. Arrow Man
8. Actor
9. Hard Water
10. The Light
11. Afraid Of What It's Worth
12. Fear
13. Raven On White Cadillac
14. Paranoid Bait

---------------------

August 5, 2014

THE BILINDA BUTCHERS (USA)

Heaven

Orchid Tapes / Atelier Ciseaux

The Bilinda Butchers Tumblr

Buy here

1. Ume (feat. Juri Nakashima)
2. Less Than
3. Old Style Amami (feat. Juri Nakashima)
4. Shadow Beat
5. Golden House (feat. Sarah Psalti)
6. New Style Askashi (feat. Juri Nakashima)
7. The Lover's Suicide
8. Tanka (feat. Lamp)
9. Edo Method
10. The River Sumida
11. Golden House (feat. Juri Nakashima)
12. Heaven Holds A Place (feat. Harriet Brown)
13. Heaven (feat. Juri Nakashima)
-------------------------------

July 29, 2014

WOMAN'S HOUR (ENG)

Conversations

Secretly Canadian

Woman's Hour Official Site

Buy here

1. Unbroken Sequence
2. Conversations
3. To The End
4. Darkest Place
5. In Stillness We Remain
6. Our Love Has No Rhythm
7. Her Ghost
8. Two Sides Of You
9. Devotions
10. Reflections
11. The Day That Needs Defending

-------------------------

July 22, 2014

MELTED TOYS (USA)

Melted Toys

Underwater Peoples / Altier Ciseaux

Melted Toys Facebook

Buy here

1. Intro
2. Bummed Out
3. Horizons
4. Press (A Habitat)
5. A Postcard
6. Blush
7. Always
8. Water Arches
9. Joy Fit
10. Observations
11. Come On
12. Citrus Honeymoon
-------------------------------

July 15, 2014

HOW TO DRESS WELL (USA)

What Is This Heart?

Domino / Weird World

How To Dress World Facebook

Buy here

1. 2 Years On (Shame Dream)
2. What You Wanted
3. Face Again
4. See You Fail
5. Repeat Pleasure
6. Words I Don't Remember
7. Pour Cyril
8. Precious Light
9. Childhood Faith In Love (Everything Must Change, Everything Must Stay The Same)
10. A Power
11. Very Best Friend
12. House Inside (Future Is Older Than The Past)
-------------------------------

July 8, 2014

TOTAL CONTROL (AUS)

Typical System

Iron Lung

Total Control Official Site

Buy digitally here  (vinyl sold out & delayed)

1.Glass
2. Expensive Dog
3. Flesh War
4. Systematic Fuck
5. Liberal Party
6. Two Less Jacks
7. Black Spring
8. The Ferryman
9. Hunter
10. Safety Net

-------------------------------------

July 1, 2014

THE ANTLERS (USA)

Familiars

Anti- / Trangressive

The Antlers Official Site

Buy here 

1. Palace
2. Doppelganger
3. Hotel
4. Intruders
5. Director
6. Revisited
7. Parade
8. Surrender
9. Refuge
-------------------------------------

June 24, 2014

THE FRESH & ONLYS (USA)

House Of Spirits

Mexican Summer

The Fresh & Onlys Official Site

Buy here

1. Home Is Where?
2. Who Let The Devil
3. Bells Of Paonia
4. Animal Of One
5. I'm Awake
6. Hummingbird
7. April Fools
8. Ballerina
9. Candy

10. Madness

-------------------------------------

June 17, 2014

BEN FROST (AUS/ICE)

Aurora

Bedroom Community / Mute

Ben Frost Soundcloud

Buy here 

1. Flex
2. Nolan
3. The Teeth Behind Kisses
4. Secant
5. Diphenyl Oxalate
6. Venter
7. No Sorrowing
8. Sola Fide
9. A Single Point Of Blinding Light
-------------------------------------

June 10, 2014

PARQUET COURTS (USA)

Sunbathing Animals

Mom + Pop / What's Your Rupture

Parquet Courts Facebook

Buy here

1. Bodies
2. Black And White
3. Dear Ramona
4. What Color Is Blood
5. Vienna II
6. Always Back In Town
7. She's Rollin'
8. Sunbathing Animal
9. Up All Night
10. Instant Disassembly
11. Duckin' And Dodgin'
12. Raw Milk
13. Into The Garden
-------------------------------

June 3, 2014

SHARON VAN ETTEN (USA)

Are We There

Jagjaguwar

Sharon Van Etten Official Site

Buy here

1. Afraid Of Nothing
2. Taking Chances
3. Your Love Is Killing Me
4. Our Love
5. Tarifa
6. I Love You But I'm Lost
7. You Know Me Well
8. Break Me
9. Nothing Will Change
10. I Know
11. Every Time The Sun Comes Up

-------------------------------

May 27, 2014

SWANS (USA)

To Be Kind

Young God Records

Swans Facebook

Buy here

1. Screen Shot
2. Just A Little Boy (for Chester Burnett)
3. A Little God In My Hands
4. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture
5. Some Things We Do
6. She Loves Us
7. Kirsten Supine
8. Oxygen
9. Nathalie Neal
10. To Be Kind

-------------------------------

May 20, 2014

THE SHILOHS (CAN)

The Shilohs

Light Organ Records

The Shilohs Official Site

Buy here

1. Student Of Nature
2. Ordinary People
3. Champagne Days
4. Sisters Of Blue
5. Strange Connections
6. Folks On Trains
7. Palm Readers
8. Porch Light
9. Bless Those Boys
10. Down At The Bottom Of Bottomland
11. Queen Light Queen Dark
12. Days Of Wine
-------------------------------

May 13, 2014

AMAYA LAUCIRICA (AUS)

Sway

Self Released

Amaya Laucirica Official Site

Buy here

1. Three Heart Delay
2. Found Some Secret
3. Prettier Than The Sound
4. On The Air
5. You Only Say Goodbye
6. Running Out Of Time
7. Not Been Sleeping
8. Falling All Around
9. This Morning's Blue
10. Ocean Wide
11. Falling Out Of Time

-------------------------------

May 6, 2014

WOODS (USA)

With Light and With Love

Woodist 

Woods Facebook

Buy here 

1. Shepherd
2. Shining
3. With Light And With love
4. Moving To The Left
5. New Light
6. Leaves Like Glass
7. Twin Steps
8. Full Moon
9. Only The Lonely
10. Feather Man

-------------------------------

April 29, 2014

FEAR OF MEN (ENG)

Loom

Kanine

Fear Of Men Facebook

Buy here

1. Alta
2. Waterfall
3. Green Sea
4. Vitrine
5. Tephra
6. America
7. Seer
8. Luna
9. Descent
10. Inside
11. Atla

-------------------------------

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (USA)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP 10
Vol. 6 No. 31 - September 24, 2014
1. PSI
Lydia Ainsworth (CAN)
2. Esoteric Tizz
Free Time (AUS/USA)
3. Era
Fiance (USA)
4. Our Love
Caribou (CAN)
5. What's In The World
YAWN (USA)
6. Along The PCH On Oscar Night
Nicholas Krgovich (CAN))
7. Way To Be Loved
TOPS (CAN)
8. Fiona Coyne
Saint Pepsi (USA)
9. Unfurla
Clark (ENG)
10. Queen
Client Liaison (AUS)
-----------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------

2014 POST REVIEW

September
 
Mini Dresses (USA)
The Luxembourg Signal (USA/ENG)
Lydia Ainsworth (CAN)
YAWN (USA)
J. Fernandez (USA)
Client Liaison (AUS)
Sleepmakeswaves (AUS)
Nicholas Nicholas (USA)
Sportsmen (AUS)
Fiance (USA)
 
August
 
Nicholas Krgovich (CAN)
Merchandise (USA)
Peaking Lights (USA)
Caribou (CAN)
Bam Spacey (SWE)
Kim Ki O (TUR)
Slow Magic (USA)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Himlakropp (SWE)
Kamp! (POL) 
 
July
 
Chrome Sparks (USA)
Distant Cousin (USA)
Millionyoung (USA)
Laetitia Sadier (FRA)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Melted Toys (USA)
Space Daze (USA)
 
June
 
Lower (DEN)
Dressmaker (ENG)
Soft Walls (ENG)
Fort Romeaux / Woman's Hour (ENG)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Blood Orange (USA)
Firekites (AUS)
The Death Of Pop (ENG)
Police Des Moeurs / Essaie Pas (CAN)
 
May

Champion Lover (CAN)
The Shilohs (CAN)
Allie X (CAN)
DNKL/Video (SWE)
Nicholas Nicholas (USA)
The Death Of Pop (ENG)

April

PANES (ENG)
Tearjerker (CAN)
Movement (AUS)
Elephant (ENG)
ESC (AUS)
Softspot (USA)
Camilla Sparksss (CAN)
Odonis Odonis (CAN)
Hydrogen Sea (BEL)
Frett (ENG)
Motorama (RUS)

March

Grand Courriers (USA)
Yumi Zouma/Air France (NZL/SWE)
Fear Of Men/Video (ENG)
Future Islands (USA)
Cloud Boat (ENG)
Francobollo (ENG/SWE)
Samaris (ICE)
The War On Drugs (USA)
Ang Low (USA)
Arrange (USA)
Tincture (AUS)
Roladex (USA)
Solitary City (ENG)
Real Estate (USA)
DNKL (SWE)
Protomartyr (USA)

February

Wild Beasts (ENG)
Amaya Laucirica (AUS)
Bart Davenport (USA)
Hockeysmith (ENG)
Farao (NOR)
Yellow Ostrich (USA)
Ricky Eat Acid (USA)
Fear Of Men (ENG)
Stripmall Architecture (USA)
Cymbals (ENG)
Pillar Point (USA)
Kauf (USA)
Be Forest (ITA)
Yumi Zouma (NZL)

-----------------------------