RECORD REVIEW: BEACH HOUSE - BLOOM
Reviews
Sunday, 22 July 2012 00:00
 

JPG

Sub Pop

Buy here

The fourth album from Baltimore duo Victoria Legrand and Alex Scally has been hotly anticipated, following on the heels of the massive previous LP, Teen Dream. Bloom, the fourth long player in the Beach House discography does not fly off wildly in a new direction, nor is it a mere extension of Teen Dream (that is to say it's not a Radiohead Kid A / Amnesiac situation). What we have is a continuation of the beautiful chemistry that exists between the two band members, that flows through the music and lyrics, through your speakers and into your head, delivering the best Beach House album yet. 

The track that opens Bloom is 'Myth'. Within seconds you are taken back to the delights of Teen Dream and reminded instantly of how damn good this band is. The two year gap between albums disappear in a glinting flash off the mirror ball and it's time to settle in and soak up the next hour. There is a lyric about  "momentary bliss" in there, which fits beautifully, as that's exactly what this LP offers. 'Wild' showcases the incredible depth and layering infused into each track, and holds a feeling of adolescent angst "my mother said to me that I would get in trouble / our father won't come home 'cause he is seeing double". The slide guitar is prominent in this one, almost becoming another vocal track, melting into one with Legrand's amazing voice, which in turn at times throughout the LP blends into the arrangements as if a musical instrument itself.

'Lazuli' is such a beautiful track that you want to hear it well past the mere five minute length, but you know there are more gems to come. Scally's backing vocals add to it immensely, and the track has a bigger electro feel (as do a few across the playlist) but it is kept restrained. 'The Hours' begins with a psychedelic, Beatles-esque ten second intro, before morphing into a dreamy, pop paradise and another example of how Beach House just nail each song on Bloom. All of them have a unique quality, the simple use of drum machine, Legrand's harpsichord, piano, and organ in conjunction with multi-instrumentalist Scally would have new listeners visualising an orchestra on stage. 'Troublemaker' has a heart wrenching chorus and instrumentation which soars skyward only to then dive headlong into an abyss. This track bridges into 'New Year', a standout on Bloom. It's the song that seems to pull everything together and has everything going for it. Layers of dreamy sustained keys, combined with Legrand's gorgeous presence is perfect.

'Wishes' continues the swirling, hypnotic nature of Bloom, with simple synth progression and looping, it stands out as one of the most uplifting songs and is well placed towards the back of the list. 'On The Sea' spotlights the piano, present throughout this masterful song, which seems as if it is a moment away from becoming an operatic spectacle. It swirls, swims, rises and then sucks you down the vortex, culminating in a sound (standing alone) that evokes exactly that feeling for the final few seconds. Then it all makes sense, as 'Irene', the final track on Bloom begins over the sound of the vortex. "It's a strange paradise" sings Legrand over and over, her voice one element of the whole magical package wrapped around this amazing track. 

When you combine the honeyed, affecting vocals of Legrand with the gorgeous arrangement and instrumentation of Scally, what is achieved is that momentary bliss mentioned on track one. And after the final track fades away, the atmosphere of Bloom will linger and follow you around all day, or go to bed with you which is even better.

Dave Roberts - July 19, 2012

 

Other People

Beach House (USA)
From the album, 'Bloom', Sub Pop

Audio Stream

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
2. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
3. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
4. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
5. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
6. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
9. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
10. Cockscombs
Deepest Bison (USA)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------