RECORD REVIEW: THE WALKMEN - HEAVEN
Reviews
Sunday, 19 August 2012 00:00
 

jpg.

Fat Possum / Bella Union

Buy here

Since their beginnings ten years ago, The Walkmen have followed a course many bands would be envious of. A big sound, a good time, and a massive future. Heaven is their seventh studio LP, out via Fat Possum / Bella Union, following on from the excellent 2010 album Lisbon. Produced by Phil Ek (Built To Spill, Modest Mouse), the sound and vibe found on Heaven is that of an aged ten year old Cab Sav, subtle yet full flavoured, capable of being front and centre in the spotlight but not self centred and full of ego, devoid of hype.

Frontman, Hamilton Leithauser harnesses it all together, keeping a tight reign over the album full of two chord bass lines and laid back guitar. Heaven has moments of belting vocals and beautiful contemplation over its arc of thirteen tracks. It is a positive, happy record, one made by a group of guys who are in a good place, and it shines through right there on the vinyl. 'We Can't Be Beat'  starts things off and ponders the isolation of perfectionism, with help on harmonies from Fleet Foxes Robin Pecknold. It's a song that starts with aching acoustic guitar and develops into a fully fledged marching band rally cry.

'Love Is Luck' dwells on the aspects of chance and luck in relationships, (which is really how it usually works) but sounds upbeat, almost calypso. 'Heartbreaker' features classic riffs the band has been known for as we hear Leithauser sing "I'm not your heartbreaker / these are the good years / the best we'll ever know", these words have never been truer for this group of five guys. The term 'content' comes to mind, but not defined as so many cynics would have it in a lazy, 'that's it, our time is over' kind of way. They might be one of the first indie rock bands to feature a group photo of themselves posing with their collection of seven children, but hey, why not? And good on them. It might be cheesy but who cares.

'Southern Heart'; "tell me again how you loved all the men you were after" highlights the charismatic delivery of Leithauser and intelligent orchestration of Moroon, Martin, Barrick and Bauer on their respective instruments. Sparse when it needs to be and full throttled when called for, it is clear they are at the top of their craft. 'Song For Leigh' was written for Leitauser's (and possibly all of their) children, a fine present to give and look back on in future years. The value of being surrounded by such awesome music during those formative years is gold, lucky kids indeed.

'Jerry Jr.'s Tune' is a short ninety second instrumental track that tends towards the classification of "golden oldie", while 'Heaven', the title track is a driving and sentimental number, catchy as hell. "Don't leave me now / my best friend / remember remember / all we fight for", Leithauser croons retrospectively, summing up the whole album in a lyric. 'No One Ever Sleeps, with its gorgeous mariachi horn sound and echoed percussion, is a standout track. The LP Heaven is a logical conclusion for a great band like this, and with their staying power after a decade The Walkmen have cemented their place as pioneering indie band of our time. The proof is in the fact that they are still here, sounding better than ever, while most of their contemporaries there with them at the start have faded away. The golden age of The Walkmen is only just begnning.

Dave Roberts - August 19, 2012

 

Heaven

The Walkmen (USA)
From the album, Heaven', Fat Possum / Bella Union

Download here

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow to the penis and buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly less than their counterparts that were branded, tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage how to buy cialis online
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

May 26, 2015

LIZA ANNE (USA)

Two

Self Released

Liza Anne Official

Buy here

1. Lost
2. Northern Wind
3. Take It Back
4. Low Tide
5. Room
6. Overnight
7. Ocean

---------------------

May 19, 2015

 

SUPERPOZE (FRA)

Opening

Combien Mille Records

Superpoze Facebook

Buy here 

1. Opening
2. North
3. Time Travel
4. Overseas
5. Unlive
6. Ten Lakes
7. Movement
8. Home Is Where I Am

--------------------

May 12, 2015

ONBC (DEN)

Crash, Burn & Cry

Crunchy Frog

ONBC Facebook

Buy here

1. The Railing
2. White Trash
3. Call It What You Want
4. The Warehouse
5. Classic
6. One Of These Days Pt. 1
7. Brothers
8. Knocked Out
9. Copenhagen
10. One Of These Days Pt. 2

------------------------

May 5, 2015

JACCO GARDNER (NET)

Hypnophobia

ExcelsiorPolyvinyl / Full Time Hobby

Jacco Gardner Official

Buy here

1. Another You
2. Grey Lanes
3. Brightly
4. Find Yourself
5. Face To Face
6. Outside Forever
7. Before The Dawn
8. Hypnophobia
9. Make Me See
10. All Over

------------------------

April 28, 2015

AMERICAN WRESTLERS (SCO/USA)

American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left

------------------------

April 21, 2015

MARIE DAVIDSON (CAN)

Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone

-----------------------

April 14, 2015

LOWER DENS (USA)

Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme

------------------------

April 7, 2015

WAXAHATCHEE (USA)

Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire
------------------------

March 31, 2015

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR (CAN)

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress

Constellation

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

------------------------

March 24, 2015

COURTNEY BARNETT (AUS)

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

------------------------

March 17,  2015

ETIQUETTE (CAN)

Reminisce

Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here

------------------------

March 10, 2015

YOUNG GUV (CAN)

Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)

------------------------

March 3, 2015

MOUNT EERIE (USA)

Sauna

P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth

------------------------

February 24, 2015

SLEATER-KINNEY (USA)

No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade

------------------------

February 17, 2015

CASA DEL MIRTO (ITA)

Still

Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still

------------------------

February 10, 2015

NATALIE PRASS (USA)

Natalie Prass

Spacebomb 

Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You

---------------------------

February 3, 2015

JESSICA PRATT (USA)

On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again

---------------------------

January 27th, 2015

VIET CONG (CAN)

Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death

-------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

 

CURRENT TOP 10

 
1. DAZE
Cuushe (JAP)
 
2. TAKE IT BACK
Liza Anne (USA)
 
3. WHITE TRASH
ONBC (DEN)
 
4. I GOT DRUNK
Miya Folick (USA)
 
5. LET IT HAPPEN
Tame Impala (AUS)
 
6. MENTIRAS
BOAN (USA)
 
7. OUT OF MY WORLD
Communions (DEN)
 
8. KELLY
American Wrestlers (USA)
 
9. SONG FOR ZOE AND GLEN
Yumi Zouma (NZL)
 
10. SALLY HANSEN
Breakfast (USA)
------------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------