RECORD REVIEW: THE WALKMEN - HEAVEN
Reviews
Sunday, 19 August 2012 00:00
 

jpg.

Fat Possum / Bella Union

Buy here

Since their beginnings ten years ago, The Walkmen have followed a course many bands would be envious of. A big sound, a good time, and a massive future. Heaven is their seventh studio LP, out via Fat Possum / Bella Union, following on from the excellent 2010 album Lisbon. Produced by Phil Ek (Built To Spill, Modest Mouse), the sound and vibe found on Heaven is that of an aged ten year old Cab Sav, subtle yet full flavoured, capable of being front and centre in the spotlight but not self centred and full of ego, devoid of hype.

Frontman, Hamilton Leithauser harnesses it all together, keeping a tight reign over the album full of two chord bass lines and laid back guitar. Heaven has moments of belting vocals and beautiful contemplation over its arc of thirteen tracks. It is a positive, happy record, one made by a group of guys who are in a good place, and it shines through right there on the vinyl. 'We Can't Be Beat'  starts things off and ponders the isolation of perfectionism, with help on harmonies from Fleet Foxes Robin Pecknold. It's a song that starts with aching acoustic guitar and develops into a fully fledged marching band rally cry.

'Love Is Luck' dwells on the aspects of chance and luck in relationships, (which is really how it usually works) but sounds upbeat, almost calypso. 'Heartbreaker' features classic riffs the band has been known for as we hear Leithauser sing "I'm not your heartbreaker / these are the good years / the best we'll ever know", these words have never been truer for this group of five guys. The term 'content' comes to mind, but not defined as so many cynics would have it in a lazy, 'that's it, our time is over' kind of way. They might be one of the first indie rock bands to feature a group photo of themselves posing with their collection of seven children, but hey, why not? And good on them. It might be cheesy but who cares.

'Southern Heart'; "tell me again how you loved all the men you were after" highlights the charismatic delivery of Leithauser and intelligent orchestration of Moroon, Martin, Barrick and Bauer on their respective instruments. Sparse when it needs to be and full throttled when called for, it is clear they are at the top of their craft. 'Song For Leigh' was written for Leitauser's (and possibly all of their) children, a fine present to give and look back on in future years. The value of being surrounded by such awesome music during those formative years is gold, lucky kids indeed.

'Jerry Jr.'s Tune' is a short ninety second instrumental track that tends towards the classification of "golden oldie", while 'Heaven', the title track is a driving and sentimental number, catchy as hell. "Don't leave me now / my best friend / remember remember / all we fight for", Leithauser croons retrospectively, summing up the whole album in a lyric. 'No One Ever Sleeps, with its gorgeous mariachi horn sound and echoed percussion, is a standout track. The LP Heaven is a logical conclusion for a great band like this, and with their staying power after a decade The Walkmen have cemented their place as pioneering indie band of our time. The proof is in the fact that they are still here, sounding better than ever, while most of their contemporaries there with them at the start have faded away. The golden age of The Walkmen is only just begnning.

Dave Roberts - August 19, 2012

 

Heaven

The Walkmen (USA)
From the album, Heaven', Fat Possum / Bella Union

Download here

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
2. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
3. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
4. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
5. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
6. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
9. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
10. Cockscombs
Deepest Bison (USA)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------