RECORD REVIEW: DIRTY PROJECTORS - SWING LO MAGELLAN
Reviews
Thursday, 16 August 2012 06:42
 

Domino

Dirty Projectors Official Site

Buy here


Any Dirty Projectors release has always intially served to confound and challenge its listener. The Brooklyn based David Longstreth led project continues down this path with the Projectors latest album Swing Lo Magellan, a wide and varied sonic landscape that is eternally restless and ever changing. Musically, like with Bitte Orca before it, its twelve tracks positively leap of the written page and include so many change ups that stem from the recesses of Longstreth's overly active mind that it can leave your head spinning. Like with any piece of cerebrally charged music, you're unlikely to get it over the first few listens which, without the employment of patience, could threaten to derail the whole project as overwrought and overblown in the minds of many. But persistence pays off and eventually reveals a magically creative and quirky piece of genius which will, in all likelihood, result in Swing Lo Magellan being the independent album of the year. And importantly, the finished product leaves one in no doubt that Longstreth could not have pulled it off without the towering force of harmonies stemming from the vocals of multi-instrumentalists Amber Coffman and Haley Dekle and the solidly spectacular rhythm section work of Brian McOmber and Nat Baldwin.

Dealing in the abstract lyrically has always comforted Longstreth. His penchant for loosely self- generated meaning has always been preferred. However, on this record he made a concerted decision to get down and personal, albeit as personal as Longstreth can get. At times, its clear he's rightly unhappy about the state of affairs right now in the world. Just check to the first three tracks as evidence for starters. The last track is telling too. But that's not to say, it's all doom and gloom as his ode to Coffman suggests. Swing Lo Magellan is also more song oriented and not looking to centre on a single idea and that is borne out by the meticulous attention to detail in the songwriting arrangements themselves. While sometimes they seem to have a mind of their own and don't seem to hand on any pre-conceived notion of discipline, nothing could be further from the truth. Even though there are moments of brevity and studio moments outside the songs captured casually and left in for posterity, the determination of Longstreth to make a songs based album is clear. And these gems were culled from around 70 or 80 of them.

Dirty Projectors exploration of sound usually coalesces into interesting results. Take the bass drum on the superb first track, 'Offspring Are Blank'. Rather than the thud of the bass drum it's the reverberations of that thud that nestle down in the recording that seem to preoccupy Longstreth the producer. Minimal harmonies sit perfectly alongside Longstreth's emotionally charged vocals while he alternates between dirty electric and clean acoustic guitar work. Equally impressive is 'About To Die' where again interesting percussive elements are employed. A hollow triplet is used and combined with a solid four four beat to give the track a slow dance feel. The ultra smooth 'Gun Has No Trigger' is next with its harmonies and stilted beat dominating until Longstreth's somewhat strained but appropriate vocals take front and centre. He laments political and social ignorance throughout the track, repeating the refrain 'If you really looked'. He seems to be so critical of rampant inertia that the ultimate action that the title suggests is a sad metaphor for it.

The title track is a gorgeous little ode musically but again is punctuated by the caveat of the great distance between humans and nature. Intricate arrangements abound on the rail against the social and environmental dangers of big oil, 'Just From Chevron', "Where she (the oil) collapses into the shore". There is a sense of hopeless, yet determined defiance, "Don't think I won't try, when I close my eyes, whatever the people will drive, I swear I will survive. All of my friends my enemies too, live in the shadows of the dirtiest few". A celebration seemingly  abounds on 'Dance For You' where its bubbly disposition almost enables you to skip down the road alongside Longstreth as he sings "I boogie down Gargoyle Street".

Hanging tremolo and vibrato guitar and an inside out beat herald the beginning of Side Two. 'Maybe That Was It' combines falsetto vocals, percolating guitar, an intermittent beat and crashing percussion to maximum cascading effect. Indeed the track is one of the albums many highlights. 'Impregnable Question' seems to be a term that could be said to preoccupy the whole album but personally its an ode to Coffman, who is currently in a relationship with Longstreth. "We don't see eye to eye, But I need you, And you're always on my mind...We have shared it all, We have both stood tall, What is mine is yours, in happiness and strife, You're my love, And I want you in my life". 'See What She's Seeing' employs strings to emotive effect as the ping pong like percussion (bit of Flying Lotus perhaps) engulfs the perfect harmonies that belie the lyrical disconsolation, 'I can see what she's seeing' and then directly to the protagonist, 'but you can't see me'.

'The Socialites' sees Coffman take vocal duties. Her angelic voice is all over the track as she sings tellingly, 'We’ll never let on the face you wear is wrong...we'll never let on, when you meet someone real'. That reluctant fakeness that sometimes needs to be employed to survive a soulless world is represented by the warped guitar note that high-lows throughout. 'Unto Caesar' begins with a nostalgic 60s feel and that continues throughout with the string arrangements, only to be rudely but appropriately interrupted by the chorus. It's on this track that Longstreth's dominance is playfully and wryly toyed with by Coffman and Dekle, who seem to mock him somewhat stating his lyrics 'don't make any sense'. It's really important that this was left on the album. Longstreth and company, even when their tongues have been firmly in cheek have sometimes, wrongly, had the aura of inpenetrability. This helps rectify this anomaly somewhat. 'Irresponsible Tune' is the musical nightcap the album had to have. But lyrics wise it's no comfortable end to the metaphorical night. Longstreth is as direct and as pointed as ever, "In my heart there is music, in my mind is a song, but in my eyes a world crooked, fucked up and wrong".

Swing Lo Magellan is peppered lyrically with asides to being on the outside. Existing outside of peoples easy intellectual reach and being acutely aware of the inanities, gullibilities and stupidities of the mainstream herd can be a liberating but also quite alienating experience. That juxtaposition though, can be held up like a mirror to the Dirty Projectors' entire career. Their strength is that their mainstay has never played to the crowd and that means the end result always matters where its important - in its art, in its concepts and this time especially in its individual songs. On 'The Socialites', Coffman sings Longstreth's lyric, "I’m glad they’re the ones on the other side of the glass, Who knows what my spirit is worth in cold hard cash". For the sake of independent artistry in music lets hope that question is increasingly rarely asked and never answered. Often seemingly initially  impenetrable, Dirty Projectors always reward patience and once again with Swing Lo Magellan, the term, it will reward you in spades, doesn't even come close to giving a clue as to how much it will.  What's next for Longstreth and company, who knows? But one thing is for sure, it will matter.

James Stocker - August 16, 2012

 

Offspring Are Blank

Dirty Projectors (USA)
From the album, 'Swing Lo Magellan', Domino.

Download here

Live at the Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn on July 9, 2012

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

October 28, 2014

MR TWIN SISTER (USA)

Mr Twin Sister

Infinite Best / Twin Group

Mr Twin Sister Official Site

Buy here

1. Sensitive
2. Rude Boy
3. In The House Of Yes
4. Blush
5. Out Of The Dark
6. Twelve Angels
7. Medford
8. Crime Scene

-------------------------

October 21, 2014

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS (USA)

Lose

Barsuk

Cymbals Eat Guitars Official Site

Buy here 

1. Jackson
2. Warning
3. XL
4. Place Names
5. Child Bride
6. Laramie
7. Chambers
8. LifeNet
9. 2 Hip Soul

---------------------------

October 14, 2014

CARIBOU (CAN)

Our Love

Merge

Caribou Facebook

Buy here

1. Can't Do Without You
2. Silver
3. All I Never Need
4. Our Love
5. Dive
6. Second Chance
7. Julia Brightly
8. Mars
9. Back Home
10. Your Love Will Set You Free

---------------------------

October 7, 2014

THE JUAN MACLEAN (USA)

In A Dream

DFA Records

The Juan Maclean Official Site

Buy here

1. A Place Called Space
2. Here I Am
3. Love Stops Here
4. You Were A Runaway
5. Running Back To You
6. I've Waited So Long
7. Charlotte
8. A Simple Design
9. The Sun Will Never Set On Our Love

---------------------------

September 30, 2014

LYDIA AINSWORTH (CAN)

Right From Real

Arbutus Records

Lydia Ainsworth Official Site

Buy here

1. Candle
2. White Shadows
3. Malachite
4. Take Your Face Off
5. Moonstone
6. Hologram
7. PSI
8. The Truth

----------------------

September 23, 2014

SBTRKT (ENG)

Wonder Where We Land

Young Turks

SBTRKT Official Site

Buy here

1. Day 1
2. Wonder Where We Land (feat. Sampha)
3. Lantern
4. Higher (feat. Raury)
5. Day 5
6. Look Away (feat. Caroline Polachek)
7. Osea (feat. Koreless)
8. Temporary View (feat. Sampha)
9. New Dorp. New York (feat Ezra Koenig)
10. Everybody Knows
11. Problem Solved (feat. Jessie Ware)
12. If It Happens (feat. Sampha)
13. Gon Stay (feat. Sampha)
14. The Light (feat. Denai Moore)
15. Voices In My Head (feat. A$AP FERG)
-------------------------------

September 16, 2014

SOFT WALLS (ENG)

No Time

Trouble In Mind

Soft Walls Facebook

Buy here

1. Won't Remember My Name
2. The Big Nod
3. Never Come Back Again
4. Early In The Day
5. No Time
6. All The Same
7. Slumbering
8. Foot Of The Stairs
9. Guided Through
10. Transient View
---------------------------

September 9, 2014

TOPS (CAN)

Picture You Staring

Arbutus Records

TOPS Facebook

Buy here

1. Way To Be Loved
2. Blind Faze
3. Circle The Dark
4. Outside
5. All The People Sleep
6. Sleeptalker
7. Superstition Killer
8. 2 Shy
9. Change Of Heart
10. Easier Said
11. Driverless Passenger
12. Destination
Listen to full album here

-------------------------------------

September 2, 2014

MERCHANDISE (USA)

After The End

4AD

Merchandise Facebook

Buy here

1. Corridor
2. Enemy
3. True Movement
4. Green Lady
5. Life Outside The Mirror
6. Telephone
7. Little Killer
8. Looking Glass Waltz
9. After The End
10. Exile And Ego

-------------------------------------

August 26, 2014

FKA TWIGS (ENG)

LP1

Young Turks

FKA twigs Facebook

Buy here

1. Prelude
2. Lights On
3. Two Weeks
4. Hours
5. Pendulum
6. Video Girl
7. Numbers
8. Closer
9. Give Up
10. Kicks

-------------------------------------

August 19, 2014

WHITE FENCE (USA)

For The Recently Found Innocent

Drag City

White Fence Facebook

Buy here

1. The Recently Found
2. Anger! Who Keeps You Under
3. Like That
4. Sandra (When The Earth Dies)
5. Wolf Gets Red Faced
6. Goodbye Law
7. Arrow Man
8. Actor
9. Hard Water
10. The Light
11. Afraid Of What It's Worth
12. Fear
13. Raven On White Cadillac
14. Paranoid Bait

---------------------

August 12, 2014

THE BILINDA BUTCHERS (USA)

Heaven

Orchid Tapes / Atelier Ciseaux

The Bilinda Butchers Tumblr

Buy here

1. Ume (feat. Juri Nakashima)
2. Less Than
3. Old Style Amami (feat. Juri Nakashima)
4. Shadow Beat
5. Golden House (feat. Sarah Psalti)
6. New Style Askashi (feat. Juri Nakashima)
7. The Lover's Suicide
8. Tanka (feat. Lamp)
9. Edo Method
10. The River Sumida
11. Golden House (feat. Juri Nakashima)
12. Heaven Holds A Place (feat. Harriet Brown)
13. Heaven (feat. Juri Nakashima)
-------------------------------

August 5, 2014

WOMAN'S HOUR (ENG)

Conversations

Secretly Canadian

Woman's Hour Official Site

Buy here

1. Unbroken Sequence
2. Conversations
3. To The End
4. Darkest Place
5. In Stillness We Remain
6. Our Love Has No Rhythm
7. Her Ghost
8. Two Sides Of You
9. Devotions
10. Reflections
11. The Day That Needs Defending

-------------------------

July 29, 2014

MELTED TOYS (USA)

Melted Toys

Underwater Peoples / Altier Ciseaux

Melted Toys Facebook

Buy here

1. Intro
2. Bummed Out
3. Horizons
4. Press (A Habitat)
5. A Postcard
6. Blush
7. Always
8. Water Arches
9. Joy Fit
10. Observations
11. Come On
12. Citrus Honeymoon
-------------------------------

July 22, 2014

HOW TO DRESS WELL (USA)

What Is This Heart?

Domino / Weird World

How To Dress World Facebook

Buy here

1. 2 Years On (Shame Dream)
2. What You Wanted
3. Face Again
4. See You Fail
5. Repeat Pleasure
6. Words I Don't Remember
7. Pour Cyril
8. Precious Light
9. Childhood Faith In Love (Everything Must Change, Everything Must Stay The Same)
10. A Power
11. Very Best Friend
12. House Inside (Future Is Older Than The Past)
-------------------------------

July 15, 2014

TOTAL CONTROL (AUS)

Typical System

Iron Lung

Total Control Official Site

Buy digitally here  (vinyl sold out & delayed)

1.Glass
2. Expensive Dog
3. Flesh War
4. Systematic Fuck
5. Liberal Party
6. Two Less Jacks
7. Black Spring
8. The Ferryman
9. Hunter
10. Safety Net

-------------------------------------

July 8, 2014

THE ANTLERS (USA)

Familiars

Anti- / Trangressive

The Antlers Official Site

Buy here 

1. Palace
2. Doppelganger
3. Hotel
4. Intruders
5. Director
6. Revisited
7. Parade
8. Surrender
9. Refuge
-------------------------------------

July 1, 2014

THE FRESH & ONLYS (USA)

House Of Spirits

Mexican Summer

The Fresh & Onlys Official Site

Buy here

1. Home Is Where?
2. Who Let The Devil
3. Bells Of Paonia
4. Animal Of One
5. I'm Awake
6. Hummingbird
7. April Fools
8. Ballerina
9. Candy

10. Madness

-------------------------------------

June 24, 2014

BEN FROST (AUS/ICE)

Aurora

Bedroom Community / Mute

Ben Frost Soundcloud

Buy here 

1. Flex
2. Nolan
3. The Teeth Behind Kisses
4. Secant
5. Diphenyl Oxalate
6. Venter
7. No Sorrowing
8. Sola Fide
9. A Single Point Of Blinding Light
-------------------------------------

June 17, 2014

PARQUET COURTS (USA)

Sunbathing Animals

Mom + Pop / What's Your Rupture

Parquet Courts Facebook

Buy here

1. Bodies
2. Black And White
3. Dear Ramona
4. What Color Is Blood
5. Vienna II
6. Always Back In Town
7. She's Rollin'
8. Sunbathing Animal
9. Up All Night
10. Instant Disassembly
11. Duckin' And Dodgin'
12. Raw Milk
13. Into The Garden
-------------------------------

June 10, 2014

SHARON VAN ETTEN (USA)

Are We There

Jagjaguwar

Sharon Van Etten Official Site

Buy here

1. Afraid Of Nothing
2. Taking Chances
3. Your Love Is Killing Me
4. Our Love
5. Tarifa
6. I Love You But I'm Lost
7. You Know Me Well
8. Break Me
9. Nothing Will Change
10. I Know
11. Every Time The Sun Comes Up

-------------------------------

June 3, 2014

SWANS (USA)

To Be Kind

Young God Records

Swans Facebook

Buy here

1. Screen Shot
2. Just A Little Boy (for Chester Burnett)
3. A Little God In My Hands
4. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture
5. Some Things We Do
6. She Loves Us
7. Kirsten Supine
8. Oxygen
9. Nathalie Neal
10. To Be Kind

-------------------------------

May 27, 2014

THE SHILOHS (CAN)

The Shilohs

Light Organ Records

The Shilohs Official Site

Buy here

1. Student Of Nature
2. Ordinary People
3. Champagne Days
4. Sisters Of Blue
5. Strange Connections
6. Folks On Trains
7. Palm Readers
8. Porch Light
9. Bless Those Boys
10. Down At The Bottom Of Bottomland
11. Queen Light Queen Dark
12. Days Of Wine
-------------------------------

May 20, 2014

AMAYA LAUCIRICA (AUS)

Sway

Self Released

Amaya Laucirica Official Site

Buy here

1. Three Heart Delay
2. Found Some Secret
3. Prettier Than The Sound
4. On The Air
5. You Only Say Goodbye
6. Running Out Of Time
7. Not Been Sleeping
8. Falling All Around
9. This Morning's Blue
10. Ocean Wide
11. Falling Out Of Time

-------------------------------

May 13, 2014

BRETT (USA)

Brett

Cascine

Brett Facebook

Buy here

1. Chalon
2. Lovers
3. Confidence
4. Inside
5. Goon
6. Always
7. Golden
8. Thrash
9. Glass Hearts

---------------------------

May 6, 2014

WOODS (USA)

With Light and With Love

Woodist 

Woods Facebook

Buy here 

1. Shepherd
2. Shining
3. With Light And With love
4. Moving To The Left
5. New Light
6. Leaves Like Glass
7. Twin Steps
8. Full Moon
9. Only The Lonely
10. Feather Man

-------------------------------

April 29, 2014

FEAR OF MEN (ENG)

Loom

Kanine

Fear Of Men Facebook

Buy here

1. Alta
2. Waterfall
3. Green Sea
4. Vitrine
5. Tephra
6. America
7. Seer
8. Luna
9. Descent
10. Inside
11. Atla

-------------------------------

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (USA)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP 10
Vol. 6 No. 36 - October 29, 2014
1. Supermädchen
Black Cab (AUS)
2. Way To Be Loved
TOPS (CAN)
3. Lunar
Bad Blocks (NZL)
4. Taking
Grand Courriers (USA)
5. Obsidian
Sister Crystals (USA)
6. In The House Of Yes
Mr. Twin Sister (USA)
7. Bent
Kiasmos (ICE/FAR)
8. Forever
Iceage (DEN)
9. Alena
Yumi Zouma (NZL)
10. Breathe (feat. Ejecta)
Joel Ford (USA)
-----------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------

2014 POST REVIEW

September
 
Mini Dresses (USA)
The Luxembourg Signal (USA/ENG)
Lydia Ainsworth (CAN)
YAWN (USA)
J. Fernandez (USA)
Client Liaison (AUS)
Sleepmakeswaves (AUS)
Nicholas Nicholas (USA)
Sportsmen (AUS)
Fiance (USA)
 
August
 
Nicholas Krgovich (CAN)
Merchandise (USA)
Peaking Lights (USA)
Caribou (CAN)
Bam Spacey (SWE)
Kim Ki O (TUR)
Slow Magic (USA)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Himlakropp (SWE)
Kamp! (POL) 
 
July
 
Chrome Sparks (USA)
Distant Cousin (USA)
Millionyoung (USA)
Laetitia Sadier (FRA)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Melted Toys (USA)
Space Daze (USA)
 
June
 
Lower (DEN)
Dressmaker (ENG)
Soft Walls (ENG)
Fort Romeaux / Woman's Hour (ENG)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Blood Orange (USA)
Firekites (AUS)
The Death Of Pop (ENG)
Police Des Moeurs / Essaie Pas (CAN)
 
May

Champion Lover (CAN)
The Shilohs (CAN)
Allie X (CAN)
DNKL/Video (SWE)
Nicholas Nicholas (USA)
The Death Of Pop (ENG)

April

PANES (ENG)
Tearjerker (CAN)
Movement (AUS)
Elephant (ENG)
ESC (AUS)
Softspot (USA)
Camilla Sparksss (CAN)
Odonis Odonis (CAN)
Hydrogen Sea (BEL)
Frett (ENG)
Motorama (RUS)

March

Grand Courriers (USA)
Yumi Zouma/Air France (NZL/SWE)
Fear Of Men/Video (ENG)
Future Islands (USA)
Cloud Boat (ENG)
Francobollo (ENG/SWE)
Samaris (ICE)
The War On Drugs (USA)
Ang Low (USA)
Arrange (USA)
Tincture (AUS)
Roladex (USA)
Solitary City (ENG)
Real Estate (USA)
DNKL (SWE)
Protomartyr (USA)

February

Wild Beasts (ENG)
Amaya Laucirica (AUS)
Bart Davenport (USA)
Hockeysmith (ENG)
Farao (NOR)
Yellow Ostrich (USA)
Ricky Eat Acid (USA)
Fear Of Men (ENG)
Stripmall Architecture (USA)
Cymbals (ENG)
Pillar Point (USA)
Kauf (USA)
Be Forest (ITA)
Yumi Zouma (NZL)

-----------------------------