RECORD REVIEW: PURITY RING - SHRINES
Reviews
Wednesday, 29 August 2012 00:00
 

Last Gang Records/4AD

Purity Ring Tumblr

Buy here

As their plethora of singles and b-sides released over 2011 and this year suggested, the debut album from Canadian duo Purity Ring, Shrines, was always going to be A musical highlight of 2012. Why? Because it is unmistakably now in its approach and delivery, has a definite vision and sounds like nothing else in its taut, cohesive delivery of an otherworldly combination of dark synth driven pop sliced up with elements of hip-hop and R & B delivered WITH stuttering beats that are ever shifting into directions unseen, gorgeous vocals that give lie to the wrenching subject matter and pitch used on those vocals to massive, lasting effect. There's no suprise then, that over that journey, three of these ten tracks have been number 1 on this website's chart.

Edmonton natives Megan James (vocals) and Corin Roddick (music) are 21st century laptop collaborators. Distance becomes irrelevant, that little matter of 1300km between them (Halifax and Montreal respectively) in actuality is an advantage and you can hear that on Shrines. Roddick sends James the music and she fires back her vocal and lyrical interpretation. It's quite clear that both feed ofF each other. James's world of on the surface vulnerable but in reality extremely powerful protagonists seeking to control all before them is perfectly coupled by Roddick's fantastical, yet deeply unsettling and foreboding arrangements. In an recent interview with berlinbeat, Roddick stated, "I’ll write the track and show it to Megan and she’ll send it back with like a demo…and we’ll go from there, so often I’ll have to restructure the track around her vocals".

Lyrically, careful consumption is in order. With her reference to metaphorical self harm, "cut open my sternum and pull" ('Fineshrine'), 'broil and toil and foil thy scalloped breastbone" ('Amenamy'), "...stake rare toothpicks in my dirt filled heart" ('Grandloves'), "drill little holes into my eyelids" ('Belispeak'), "varnish my forehead red in evening, drip down over my jowls" ('Saltkin'), you could be forgiven for seeing Shrines as a bleak, distant listen. However, James's penchant for the visceral, actually makes connection easier for the listener. These references all stem from an idea of self-empowerment rather than self harm. The strong female characters on Shrines seek to assert themselves and envelop and protect, nurture and grow. The aforementioned reference to the cutting open of the sternum is to enlist the ribs to wrap around and form a strong foundation for the other, "my little ribs around you, the rungs of me be under under you".

Musically, Roddick's ever shifting disposition and approach matches the human travails and natural landscapes contained in James's lyrical world. He combines elements of hypnotic and warped layers of dark synth with bubbling pop moments that shed light on those dark places. His use of James's vocals is a highlight as evidenced on the track 'Ungirthed', which gave us our first taste of Purity Ring early last year. Roddick is also not averse to using male vocal elements and indeed the duo enlist Isaac Emmanuel (Young Magic) to the cause in the form of a sample of 'You With Air' and the contribution of a couple of verses on 'Grandloves'. It serves as a great circuit breaker smack bang in the middle of a set of tracks that have a definite sonic and thematic similarity.

Both James and Roddick have stated that Shrines took a year and a half to write, record and produce so don't expect a quick follow up. Given that, the impressive aspect of Shrines is it will be a stayer so both can afford to sit back and bask a little in its glory while working on their ever growing live show. However, with the democratic and restless nature of independent music in the 21st century, no-one would expect James and Roddick to rest on their laurels. Democratic and restless. Those two words spring to mind when describing what Purity Ring are, in creation and culmination. Given the approach to Shrines, it would not be surprising to expect to see one or two examples of where this exceptionally talented young duo will go in the future next year. Wherever that is, it will be a challenge to follow up such brilliance and if they never do, we will always have this, and this will be with us for a long time.

James Stocker - August 29, 2012.

 

Fineshrine

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', Last Gang/4AD.

4      8

Download here

Purity Ring Tumblr

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Obedear

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.

Download here

Audio Only

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Ungirthed

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.
 

Download here

Official Video

 

Lofticries

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.

Download here

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Belispeak

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.

Download here

Audio Only 

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

September 16, 2014

BRETT (USA)

Brett

Cascine

Brett Facebook

Buy here

1. Chalon
2. Lovers
3. Confidence
4. Inside
5. Goon
6. Always
7. Golden
8. Thrash
9. Glass Hearts

---------------------------

September 9, 2014

SOFT WALLS (ENG)

No Time

Trouble In Mind

Soft Walls Facebook

Buy here

1. Won't Remember My Name
2. The Big Nod
3. Never Come Back Again
4. Early In The Day
5. No Time
6. All The Same
7. Slumbering
8. Foot Of The Stairs
9. Guided Through
10. Transient View
---------------------------

September 2, 2014

TOPS (CAN)

Picture You Staring

Arbutus Records

TOPS Facebook

Buy here

1. Way To Be Loved
2. Blind Faze
3. Circle The Dark
4. Outside
5. All The People Sleep
6. Sleeptalker
7. Superstition Killer
8. 2 Shy
9. Change Of Heart
10. Easier Said
11. Driverless Passenger
12. Destination

-------------------------------------

August 26, 2014

MERCHANDISE (USA)

After The End

4AD

Merchandise Facebook

Buy here

1. Corridor
2. Enemy
3. True Movement
4. Green Lady
5. Life Outside The Mirror
6. Telephone
7. Little Killer
8. Looking Glass Waltz
9. After The End
10. Exile And Ego

-------------------------------------

August 19, 2014

FKA TWIGS (ENG)

LP1

Young Turks

FKA twigs Facebook

Buy here

1. Prelude
2. Lights On
3. Two Weeks
4. Hours
5. Pendulum
6. Video Girl
7. Numbers
8. Closer
9. Give Up
10. Kicks

-------------------------------------

August 12, 2014

WHITE FENCE (USA)

For The Recently Found Innocent

Drag City

White Fence Facebook

Buy here

1. The Recently Found
2. Anger! Who Keeps You Under
3. Like That
4. Sandra (When The Earth Dies)
5. Wolf Gets Red Faced
6. Goodbye Law
7. Arrow Man
8. Actor
9. Hard Water
10. The Light
11. Afraid Of What It's Worth
12. Fear
13. Raven On White Cadillac
14. Paranoid Bait

---------------------

August 5, 2014

THE BILINDA BUTCHERS (USA)

Heaven

Orchid Tapes / Atelier Ciseaux

The Bilinda Butchers Tumblr

Buy here

1. Ume (feat. Juri Nakashima)
2. Less Than
3. Old Style Amami (feat. Juri Nakashima)
4. Shadow Beat
5. Golden House (feat. Sarah Psalti)
6. New Style Askashi (feat. Juri Nakashima)
7. The Lover's Suicide
8. Tanka (feat. Lamp)
9. Edo Method
10. The River Sumida
11. Golden House (feat. Juri Nakashima)
12. Heaven Holds A Place (feat. Harriet Brown)
13. Heaven (feat. Juri Nakashima)
-------------------------------

July 29, 2014

WOMAN'S HOUR (ENG)

Conversations

Secretly Canadian

Woman's Hour Official Site

Buy here

1. Unbroken Sequence
2. Conversations
3. To The End
4. Darkest Place
5. In Stillness We Remain
6. Our Love Has No Rhythm
7. Her Ghost
8. Two Sides Of You
9. Devotions
10. Reflections
11. The Day That Needs Defending

-------------------------

July 22, 2014

MELTED TOYS (USA)

Melted Toys

Underwater Peoples / Altier Ciseaux

Melted Toys Facebook

Buy here

1. Intro
2. Bummed Out
3. Horizons
4. Press (A Habitat)
5. A Postcard
6. Blush
7. Always
8. Water Arches
9. Joy Fit
10. Observations
11. Come On
12. Citrus Honeymoon
-------------------------------

July 15, 2014

HOW TO DRESS WELL (USA)

What Is This Heart?

Domino / Weird World

How To Dress World Facebook

Buy here

1. 2 Years On (Shame Dream)
2. What You Wanted
3. Face Again
4. See You Fail
5. Repeat Pleasure
6. Words I Don't Remember
7. Pour Cyril
8. Precious Light
9. Childhood Faith In Love (Everything Must Change, Everything Must Stay The Same)
10. A Power
11. Very Best Friend
12. House Inside (Future Is Older Than The Past)
-------------------------------

July 8, 2014

TOTAL CONTROL (AUS)

Typical System

Iron Lung

Total Control Official Site

Buy digitally here  (vinyl sold out & delayed)

1.Glass
2. Expensive Dog
3. Flesh War
4. Systematic Fuck
5. Liberal Party
6. Two Less Jacks
7. Black Spring
8. The Ferryman
9. Hunter
10. Safety Net

-------------------------------------

July 1, 2014

THE ANTLERS (USA)

Familiars

Anti- / Trangressive

The Antlers Official Site

Buy here 

1. Palace
2. Doppelganger
3. Hotel
4. Intruders
5. Director
6. Revisited
7. Parade
8. Surrender
9. Refuge
-------------------------------------

June 24, 2014

THE FRESH & ONLYS (USA)

House Of Spirits

Mexican Summer

The Fresh & Onlys Official Site

Buy here

1. Home Is Where?
2. Who Let The Devil
3. Bells Of Paonia
4. Animal Of One
5. I'm Awake
6. Hummingbird
7. April Fools
8. Ballerina
9. Candy

10. Madness

-------------------------------------

June 17, 2014

BEN FROST (AUS/ICE)

Aurora

Bedroom Community / Mute

Ben Frost Soundcloud

Buy here 

1. Flex
2. Nolan
3. The Teeth Behind Kisses
4. Secant
5. Diphenyl Oxalate
6. Venter
7. No Sorrowing
8. Sola Fide
9. A Single Point Of Blinding Light
-------------------------------------

June 10, 2014

PARQUET COURTS (USA)

Sunbathing Animals

Mom + Pop / What's Your Rupture

Parquet Courts Facebook

Buy here

1. Bodies
2. Black And White
3. Dear Ramona
4. What Color Is Blood
5. Vienna II
6. Always Back In Town
7. She's Rollin'
8. Sunbathing Animal
9. Up All Night
10. Instant Disassembly
11. Duckin' And Dodgin'
12. Raw Milk
13. Into The Garden
-------------------------------

June 3, 2014

SHARON VAN ETTEN (USA)

Are We There

Jagjaguwar

Sharon Van Etten Official Site

Buy here

1. Afraid Of Nothing
2. Taking Chances
3. Your Love Is Killing Me
4. Our Love
5. Tarifa
6. I Love You But I'm Lost
7. You Know Me Well
8. Break Me
9. Nothing Will Change
10. I Know
11. Every Time The Sun Comes Up

-------------------------------

May 27, 2014

SWANS (USA)

To Be Kind

Young God Records

Swans Facebook

Buy here

1. Screen Shot
2. Just A Little Boy (for Chester Burnett)
3. A Little God In My Hands
4. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture
5. Some Things We Do
6. She Loves Us
7. Kirsten Supine
8. Oxygen
9. Nathalie Neal
10. To Be Kind

-------------------------------

May 20, 2014

THE SHILOHS (CAN)

The Shilohs

Light Organ Records

The Shilohs Official Site

Buy here

1. Student Of Nature
2. Ordinary People
3. Champagne Days
4. Sisters Of Blue
5. Strange Connections
6. Folks On Trains
7. Palm Readers
8. Porch Light
9. Bless Those Boys
10. Down At The Bottom Of Bottomland
11. Queen Light Queen Dark
12. Days Of Wine
-------------------------------

May 13, 2014

AMAYA LAUCIRICA (AUS)

Sway

Self Released

Amaya Laucirica Official Site

Buy here

1. Three Heart Delay
2. Found Some Secret
3. Prettier Than The Sound
4. On The Air
5. You Only Say Goodbye
6. Running Out Of Time
7. Not Been Sleeping
8. Falling All Around
9. This Morning's Blue
10. Ocean Wide
11. Falling Out Of Time

-------------------------------

May 6, 2014

WOODS (USA)

With Light and With Love

Woodist 

Woods Facebook

Buy here 

1. Shepherd
2. Shining
3. With Light And With love
4. Moving To The Left
5. New Light
6. Leaves Like Glass
7. Twin Steps
8. Full Moon
9. Only The Lonely
10. Feather Man

-------------------------------

April 29, 2014

FEAR OF MEN (ENG)

Loom

Kanine

Fear Of Men Facebook

Buy here

1. Alta
2. Waterfall
3. Green Sea
4. Vitrine
5. Tephra
6. America
7. Seer
8. Luna
9. Descent
10. Inside
11. Atla

-------------------------------

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP 10
Vol. 6 No. 29 - September 10, 2014
1. Esoteric Tizz
Free Time (AUS)
2. Fiona Coyne
Saint Pepsi (USA)
3. Our Love
Caribou (CAN)
4. Era
Fiance (USA)
5. Along The PCH On Oscar Night
Nicholas Krgovich (CAN))
6. PSI
Lydia Ainsworth (CAN)
7. New York, New Dorp (feat. Ezra Koenig)
SBTRKT (ENG)
8. Stay A While
William Arcane (ENG)
9. Adorn
You'll Never Get To Heaven (CAN)
10. Way To Be Loved
TOPS (CAN)
-----------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------