RECORD REVIEW: PURITY RING - SHRINES
Reviews
Wednesday, 29 August 2012 00:00
 

Last Gang Records/4AD

Purity Ring Tumblr

Buy here

As their plethora of singles and b-sides released over 2011 and this year suggested, the debut album from Canadian duo Purity Ring, Shrines, was always going to be A musical highlight of 2012. Why? Because it is unmistakably now in its approach and delivery, has a definite vision and sounds like nothing else in its taut, cohesive delivery of an otherworldly combination of dark synth driven pop sliced up with elements of hip-hop and R & B delivered WITH stuttering beats that are ever shifting into directions unseen, gorgeous vocals that give lie to the wrenching subject matter and pitch used on those vocals to massive, lasting effect. There's no suprise then, that over that journey, three of these ten tracks have been number 1 on this website's chart.

Edmonton natives Megan James (vocals) and Corin Roddick (music) are 21st century laptop collaborators. Distance becomes irrelevant, that little matter of 1300km between them (Halifax and Montreal respectively) in actuality is an advantage and you can hear that on Shrines. Roddick sends James the music and she fires back her vocal and lyrical interpretation. It's quite clear that both feed ofF each other. James's world of on the surface vulnerable but in reality extremely powerful protagonists seeking to control all before them is perfectly coupled by Roddick's fantastical, yet deeply unsettling and foreboding arrangements. In an recent interview with berlinbeat, Roddick stated, "I’ll write the track and show it to Megan and she’ll send it back with like a demo…and we’ll go from there, so often I’ll have to restructure the track around her vocals".

Lyrically, careful consumption is in order. With her reference to metaphorical self harm, "cut open my sternum and pull" ('Fineshrine'), 'broil and toil and foil thy scalloped breastbone" ('Amenamy'), "...stake rare toothpicks in my dirt filled heart" ('Grandloves'), "drill little holes into my eyelids" ('Belispeak'), "varnish my forehead red in evening, drip down over my jowls" ('Saltkin'), you could be forgiven for seeing Shrines as a bleak, distant listen. However, James's penchant for the visceral, actually makes connection easier for the listener. These references all stem from an idea of self-empowerment rather than self harm. The strong female characters on Shrines seek to assert themselves and envelop and protect, nurture and grow. The aforementioned reference to the cutting open of the sternum is to enlist the ribs to wrap around and form a strong foundation for the other, "my little ribs around you, the rungs of me be under under you".

Musically, Roddick's ever shifting disposition and approach matches the human travails and natural landscapes contained in James's lyrical world. He combines elements of hypnotic and warped layers of dark synth with bubbling pop moments that shed light on those dark places. His use of James's vocals is a highlight as evidenced on the track 'Ungirthed', which gave us our first taste of Purity Ring early last year. Roddick is also not averse to using male vocal elements and indeed the duo enlist Isaac Emmanuel (Young Magic) to the cause in the form of a sample of 'You With Air' and the contribution of a couple of verses on 'Grandloves'. It serves as a great circuit breaker smack bang in the middle of a set of tracks that have a definite sonic and thematic similarity.

Both James and Roddick have stated that Shrines took a year and a half to write, record and produce so don't expect a quick follow up. Given that, the impressive aspect of Shrines is it will be a stayer so both can afford to sit back and bask a little in its glory while working on their ever growing live show. However, with the democratic and restless nature of independent music in the 21st century, no-one would expect James and Roddick to rest on their laurels. Democratic and restless. Those two words spring to mind when describing what Purity Ring are, in creation and culmination. Given the approach to Shrines, it would not be surprising to expect to see one or two examples of where this exceptionally talented young duo will go in the future next year. Wherever that is, it will be a challenge to follow up such brilliance and if they never do, we will always have this, and this will be with us for a long time.

James Stocker - August 29, 2012.

 

Fineshrine

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', Last Gang/4AD.

4      8

Download here

Purity Ring Tumblr

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Obedear

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.

Download here

Audio Only

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Ungirthed

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.
 

Download here

Official Video

 

Lofticries

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.

Download here

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Belispeak

Purity Ring (CAN)
From the album, 'Shrines', 4AD.

Download here

Audio Only 

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 
4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow to the penis and buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly less than their counterparts that were branded, tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage how to buy cialis online
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

August 25, 2015

BEACH HOUSE (USA)

Depression Cherry

Sub Pop

Beach House Official

Buy here

1. Levitation
2. Sparks
3. Space Song
4. Beyond Love
5. 10:37
6. PPP
7. Wildflower
8. Bluebird
9. Days Of Candy
------------------------

August 18, 2015

TOTALLY MILD (AUS)

Down Time

Bedroom Suck / Fire Records

Totally Mild Facebook

Buy here

1. Christa
2. When I'm Tired
3. Go Home
4. Move On
5. Nights
6. The Next Day
7. Work It Out
8. Battleship
9. Always Around
10. Money Or Fame
------------------------

August 11, 2015

EVVOL (IRE/AUS)

Eternalism

K7

Evvol Official

Buy here

1. I See You (I Am You)
2. Sola
3. Siruius A
4. Starcrossed
5. Your Love
6. No Love
7. Vega
8. Denouement
9. Four Steps From Home

------------------

August 4, 2015

TELEPATHE (USA)

Destroyer

BZML

Telepathe Facebook

Buy digital here

1. Destroyer
2. Drown Around Me
3. Slow Learner
4. Damaged Raid
5. Nights Spell
6. Hyper Ho
7. Throw Away This
8. Someone Is Home
9. Onyx
10. Fuck You Up
------------------------

July 28, 2015

DAY RAVIES (AUS)

Liminal Zones

Sonic Masala / Strange Pursuits 

Day Ravies Facebook

Buy here

1. Fake Beach
2. Coupla Days
3. This Side Of The Fence
4. Nettle
5. Immaculate Escape
6. Skewed
7. Enter The Bee
8. Hickford Wizz
9. Halfway Up A Hill
10. Steamed
11. Pulse Check
12. March Comes Around
13. Binkies
------------------------

July 21, 2015

FLESH WORLD (USA)

The Wild Animals In My Life

Iron Lung

Flesh World Facebook

Buy here

1. To Lose Me
2. Just To Tear Me Down
3. The Wild Animals In My Life
4. Shaved Head
5. Poolside Boys
6. Strawberry Bomber
7. Your Love Is Like A House
8. Here In The Dark

--------------------

July 14, 2015

TEARJERKER (CAN)

Stay Wild

Self Released

Tearjerker Official

Pre-order here

1. Stay Wild
2. Phone
3. Mind
4. The Gardiner
5. Parling Lot
6. It Takes Time
7. Baseball
8. Obviously Wrong
9. Perfect (FREE)
10. Heavy

------------------------

July 7, 2015

CRYSTAL SHIPSSS (DEN)

I Will See No Moon No Sky

Raw Onion Records

Crystal Shipsss Official

Buy here 

1. Metal
2. Deer
3. Drum
4. Crown
5. II
6. Head

------------------------

June 30, 2015

NOAH (JAP)

Sivutie

Flau

Noah Official

Buy here

1. sivutie
2. flexion
3. motion
4. unspoken
5. weak
6. (interlude - drøm)
7. fehér
8. times
9. pool garden
10. gorgeous death
11. blur
12. flaw
13. (interlude - doll)
14. tadzio
15. sivutie a reprise
------------------------

June 23, 2015

JENNY HVAL (NOR)

Apocalypse, girl

Sacred Bones

Jenny Hval Official

Buy here

1. Kingsize
2. Take Care Of Yourself
3. That Battle Is Over
4. White Underground
5. Heaven
6. Why 
7. Some Days
8. Sabbath
9. Angel And Anaemia
10. Holy Land

------------------------

June 16, 2015

JAAKKO EINO KALEVI (FIN)

Jaakko Eino Kalevi

Weird World Record Co.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi Facebook

Buy here

1. J.E.K.
2. Double Talk
3. Deeper Shadows
4. Say
5. Mind Like Muscle
6. Night At The Field
7. Don't Ask Me Why
8. Room
9. Hush Down
10. Ikuinen Purkautumaton Jännite

------------------------

June 9, 2015

BOAN (USA)

Mentiras

Holodeck

BOAN Facebook

Pre-order here

Stream whole album here

1. Babylon
2. Freaksnake
3. Secretos
4. Boan Acid
5. Mentiras

-----------------

June 2, 2015

CORRIDOR (CAN)

Le Voyage Éternal

Self Released

Corridor Facebook

Buy here

1. Sentinelles
2. L'écho des derniers orgasmes
3. L' entrée du portail
4. Mi-homme, mi fusée
5. Castor et Pollux
6. Abus d'habits
7. Mort en chemin
8. Plasma fontaine
9. Passage Secret
10. Le Voyage Éternal
11. Retour au bercail 3D

------------------------

May 26, 2015

LIZA ANNE (USA)

Two

Self Released

Liza Anne Official

Buy here

1. Lost
2. Northern Wind
3. Take It Back
4. Low Tide
5. Room
6. Overnight
7. Ocean

---------------------

May 19, 2015

SUPERPOZE (FRA)

Opening

Combien Mille Records

Superpoze Facebook

Buy here 

1. Opening
2. North
3. Time Travel
4. Overseas
5. Unlive
6. Ten Lakes
7. Movement
8. Home Is Where I Am

--------------------

May 12, 2015

ONBC (DEN)

Crash, Burn & Cry

Crunchy Frog

ONBC Facebook

Buy here

1. The Railing
2. White Trash
3. Call It What You Want
4. The Warehouse
5. Classic
6. One Of These Days Pt. 1
7. Brothers
8. Knocked Out
9. Copenhagen
10. One Of These Days Pt. 2

------------------------

May 5, 2015

JACCO GARDNER (NET)

Hypnophobia

ExcelsiorPolyvinyl / Full Time Hobby

Jacco Gardner Official

Buy here

1. Another You
2. Grey Lanes
3. Brightly
4. Find Yourself
5. Face To Face
6. Outside Forever
7. Before The Dawn
8. Hypnophobia
9. Make Me See
10. All Over

------------------------

April 28, 2015

AMERICAN WRESTLERS (SCO/USA)

American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left

------------------------

April 21, 2015

MARIE DAVIDSON (CAN)

Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone

-----------------------

April 14, 2015

LOWER DENS (USA)

Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme

------------------------

April 7, 2015

WAXAHATCHEE (USA)

Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire
------------------------

March 31, 2015

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR (CAN)

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress

Constellation

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

------------------------

March 24, 2015

COURTNEY BARNETT (AUS)

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

------------------------

March 17,  2015

ETIQUETTE (CAN)

Reminisce

Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here

------------------------

March 10, 2015

YOUNG GUV (CAN)

Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)

------------------------

March 3, 2015

MOUNT EERIE (USA)

Sauna

P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth

------------------------

February 24, 2015

SLEATER-KINNEY (USA)

No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade

------------------------

February 17, 2015

CASA DEL MIRTO (ITA)

Still

Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still

------------------------

February 10, 2015

NATALIE PRASS (USA)

Natalie Prass

Spacebomb 

Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You

---------------------------

February 3, 2015

JESSICA PRATT (USA)

On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again

---------------------------

January 27th, 2015

VIET CONG (CAN)

Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death

-------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

 

CURRENT TOP 10

1. BEAUTIFUL BLUE SKY
Ought (CAN/USA)
 
2. FEEL YOU
Julia Holter (USA)
 
3. VERONA
Lastlings (AUS)
 
4. BEACH SIDE
Arbes (AUS)
 
5. RIVER OF LONGING
Blank Realm (AUS)
 
6. IN TIME
FKA twigs (ENG)
 
7. NIGHT'S SPELL
Telepathe (USA)
 
8. 1995
Molly Nilsson (SWE)
 
9. HEAT
Homeshake (CAN)
 
10. MY LIFE AS A GUN
Gold Class (AUS)
 
------------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

If you like what you hear please like us and share on the above formats.

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------