RECORD REVIEW: TWIN SHADOW - CONFESS
Reviews
Tuesday, 11 September 2012 07:47
 

jpg

4AD

Buy here

Twin Shadow Official Site

Ever since George Lewis Jnr. burst onto the indie music scene in 2009 in his unique and unquiet way, with the brilliant debut Forget, those in the know have been hanging out for the follow up. Definitely not shy of a camera, Twin Shadow's persona is a bolt from the 80s, with the songs from Forget among the best of the modern day take from that era which pervades so much of the music we hear today. That new wave atmosphere on Forget hit the mark every time on tracks like 'I Can't Wait', 'Tyrant Destroyed' and the legendary 'Slow', and while it is all still present here on his album number two, more of the man himself has shone through with his razor sharp songwriting ability and production.

A close call in a motorcycle accident was the spark for his new LP, as he has said with his trademark eloquence via his blog; "One Winter I crashed my motorcycle, with a friend on the back. I shouldn't have been riding that day, but I was young and fearless of the black roads, fast and easy in my ways. As the bike slipped from under us my head filled with words. The slow motion moments of calm just after surprise and just before regret are bliss"...George certainly has a way with words. The man and his motorbike (I'm guessing not the same one) are front and centre in the video (which you can check out below) for the lead single 'Five Seconds'. This was offered as a free download, and is a highlight of the album. It clearly marks a difference from all the tracks found on Forget, being much grungier, grittier, edgier. A feeling that continues across the entire LP, one which Twin Shadow meticulously produced himself.

"Some people say you're the golden light / the golden light / and if I chase after you / doesn't mean that it's true", so begins his new album with the opener, 'Golden Light'. This track is cutting and immediate, and well placed, one that will stick with you well after the ten songs have faded away. When Twin Shadow sings "I don't give a damn about your dreams / A whole world that is falling at the seams" on 'You Call Me On', full of kick drums and harsh guitar, his vocals are regretful and pained. There was nothing like this on Forget. 'The One' brings things down in tone somewhat, with more simplified instrumentation, 'Beg for The Night' has a staccato sounding intro and a repeated sample of a gun cocking followed up by pure 80s synth, which though sounding like it shouldn't, does work, and works well.

'Patient' sees Lewis crooning on about a no strings attached fling, and sounds at times almost like vintage Prince. The musical tangent mid song is just great. 'When The Movie's Over'..."I'll cry / I'll cry / when the movie's over", is maybe the most 'Forget'-like song found on Confess, but again darker and creepier. 'I Don't Care' is a darker R & B styled affair, about a morally bankrupt woman, full of his perfectionist production values, 'Be Mine Tonight' closes the LP, with an echoed guitar effect punctuating the solemn song making this a good choice as closer.

Love gets a full workout, put through the wringer and spat out on Confess. It's the corrupted jaded older cousin to Forget, and again shows the deeply personal nature of Lewis's work, stripped bare for all to see on his vinyl. While he is a showman, a man of many hair-styles and self indulgences, he has a pureness, bravado and confidence that is hard to dislike. Can't wait for the next Twin Shadow offering.

Dave Roberts - September 11, 2012

 

Five Seconds

Twin Shadow (USA)
From the album, 'Confess', 4AD

Download here

 

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Live at Grasslands, Brooklyn

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

 

jpg

 
4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow to the penis and buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly less than their counterparts that were branded, tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage how to buy cialis online
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

June 30, 2015

CRYSTAL SHIPSSS (DEN)

I Will See No Moon No Sky

Raw Onion Records

Crystal Shipsss Official

Buy here 

1. Metal
2. Deer
3. Drum
4. Crown
5. II
6. Head

June 23, 2015

 

 

NOAH (JAP)

Sivutie

Noah Official

Flau

Buy here

1. sivutie
2. flexion
3. motion
4. unspoken
5. weak
6. (interlude - drøm)
7. fehér
8. times
9. pool garden
10. gorgeous death
11. blur
12. flaw
13. (interlude - doll)
14. tadzio
15. sivutie a reprise
------------------------

June 16, 2015

JENNY HVAL (NOR)

Apocalypse, girl

Sacred Bones

Jenny Hval Official

Buy here

1. Kingsize
2. Take Care Of Yourself
3. That Battle Is Over
4. White Underground
5. Heaven
6. Why 
7. Some Days
8. Sabbath
9. Angel And Anaemia
10. Holy Land

------------------------

June 9, 2015

JAAKKO EINO KALEVI (FIN)

Jaakko Eino Kalevi

Weird World Record Co.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi Facebook

Buy here

1. J.E.K.
2. Double Talk
3. Deeper Shadows
4. Say
5. Mind Like Muscle
6. Night At The Field
7. Don't Ask Me Why
8. Room
9. Hush Down
10. Ikuinen Purkautumaton Jännite

------------------------

June 2, 2015

BOAN (USA)

Mentiras

Holodeck

BOAN Facebook

Pre-order here

Stream whole album here

1. Babylon
2. Freaksnake
3. Secretos
4. Boan Acid
5. Mentiras

-----------------

May 26, 2015

LIZA ANNE (USA)

Two

Self Released

Liza Anne Official

Buy here

1. Lost
2. Northern Wind
3. Take It Back
4. Low Tide
5. Room
6. Overnight
7. Ocean

---------------------

May 19, 2015

SUPERPOZE (FRA)

Opening

Combien Mille Records

Superpoze Facebook

Buy here 

1. Opening
2. North
3. Time Travel
4. Overseas
5. Unlive
6. Ten Lakes
7. Movement
8. Home Is Where I Am

--------------------

May 12, 2015

ONBC (DEN)

Crash, Burn & Cry

Crunchy Frog

ONBC Facebook

Buy here

1. The Railing
2. White Trash
3. Call It What You Want
4. The Warehouse
5. Classic
6. One Of These Days Pt. 1
7. Brothers
8. Knocked Out
9. Copenhagen
10. One Of These Days Pt. 2

------------------------

May 5, 2015

JACCO GARDNER (NET)

Hypnophobia

ExcelsiorPolyvinyl / Full Time Hobby

Jacco Gardner Official

Buy here

1. Another You
2. Grey Lanes
3. Brightly
4. Find Yourself
5. Face To Face
6. Outside Forever
7. Before The Dawn
8. Hypnophobia
9. Make Me See
10. All Over

------------------------

April 28, 2015

AMERICAN WRESTLERS (SCO/USA)

American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left

------------------------

April 21, 2015

MARIE DAVIDSON (CAN)

Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone

-----------------------

April 14, 2015

LOWER DENS (USA)

Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme

------------------------

April 7, 2015

WAXAHATCHEE (USA)

Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire
------------------------

March 31, 2015

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR (CAN)

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress

Constellation

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

------------------------

March 24, 2015

COURTNEY BARNETT (AUS)

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

------------------------

March 17,  2015

ETIQUETTE (CAN)

Reminisce

Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here

------------------------

March 10, 2015

YOUNG GUV (CAN)

Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)

------------------------

March 3, 2015

MOUNT EERIE (USA)

Sauna

P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth

------------------------

February 24, 2015

SLEATER-KINNEY (USA)

No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade

------------------------

February 17, 2015

CASA DEL MIRTO (ITA)

Still

Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still

------------------------

February 10, 2015

NATALIE PRASS (USA)

Natalie Prass

Spacebomb 

Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You

---------------------------

February 3, 2015

JESSICA PRATT (USA)

On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again

---------------------------

January 27th, 2015

VIET CONG (CAN)

Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death

-------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

 

CURRENT TOP 10

 
1. DANSE SOCIALE
Essaie Pas (CAN)
 
2. HYPNOPHOBIA
Jacco Gardner (NET)
 
3. OCCUPIED
The Radio Dept. (SWE)
 
4. WAIT
Postiljonen (SWE)
 
5. CRUISING
Cornelia (SWE)
 
6. FLIRT
Boycrush (feat. Madeira) (NZL)
 
7. SOMETHING LEFT TO DIE FOR
The Legends (SWE)
 
8. RIVER OF LONGING
Blank Realm (AUS)
 
9. COLORS OF LEAVING
Lena Fayre (USA)
 
10. OBVIOUSLY WRONG
Tearjerker (CAN)
 
------------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

If you like what you hear please like us and share on the above formats - Instragram to come.

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------