RECORD REVIEW: TWIN SHADOW - CONFESS
Reviews
Tuesday, 11 September 2012 07:47
 

jpg

4AD

Buy here

Twin Shadow Official Site

Ever since George Lewis Jnr. burst onto the indie music scene in 2009 in his unique and unquiet way, with the brilliant debut Forget, those in the know have been hanging out for the follow up. Definitely not shy of a camera, Twin Shadow's persona is a bolt from the 80s, with the songs from Forget among the best of the modern day take from that era which pervades so much of the music we hear today. That new wave atmosphere on Forget hit the mark every time on tracks like 'I Can't Wait', 'Tyrant Destroyed' and the legendary 'Slow', and while it is all still present here on his album number two, more of the man himself has shone through with his razor sharp songwriting ability and production.

A close call in a motorcycle accident was the spark for his new LP, as he has said with his trademark eloquence via his blog; "One Winter I crashed my motorcycle, with a friend on the back. I shouldn't have been riding that day, but I was young and fearless of the black roads, fast and easy in my ways. As the bike slipped from under us my head filled with words. The slow motion moments of calm just after surprise and just before regret are bliss"...George certainly has a way with words. The man and his motorbike (I'm guessing not the same one) are front and centre in the video (which you can check out below) for the lead single 'Five Seconds'. This was offered as a free download, and is a highlight of the album. It clearly marks a difference from all the tracks found on Forget, being much grungier, grittier, edgier. A feeling that continues across the entire LP, one which Twin Shadow meticulously produced himself.

"Some people say you're the golden light / the golden light / and if I chase after you / doesn't mean that it's true", so begins his new album with the opener, 'Golden Light'. This track is cutting and immediate, and well placed, one that will stick with you well after the ten songs have faded away. When Twin Shadow sings "I don't give a damn about your dreams / A whole world that is falling at the seams" on 'You Call Me On', full of kick drums and harsh guitar, his vocals are regretful and pained. There was nothing like this on Forget. 'The One' brings things down in tone somewhat, with more simplified instrumentation, 'Beg for The Night' has a staccato sounding intro and a repeated sample of a gun cocking followed up by pure 80s synth, which though sounding like it shouldn't, does work, and works well.

'Patient' sees Lewis crooning on about a no strings attached fling, and sounds at times almost like vintage Prince. The musical tangent mid song is just great. 'When The Movie's Over'..."I'll cry / I'll cry / when the movie's over", is maybe the most 'Forget'-like song found on Confess, but again darker and creepier. 'I Don't Care' is a darker R & B styled affair, about a morally bankrupt woman, full of his perfectionist production values, 'Be Mine Tonight' closes the LP, with an echoed guitar effect punctuating the solemn song making this a good choice as closer.

Love gets a full workout, put through the wringer and spat out on Confess. It's the corrupted jaded older cousin to Forget, and again shows the deeply personal nature of Lewis's work, stripped bare for all to see on his vinyl. While he is a showman, a man of many hair-styles and self indulgences, he has a pureness, bravado and confidence that is hard to dislike. Can't wait for the next Twin Shadow offering.

Dave Roberts - September 11, 2012

 

Five Seconds

Twin Shadow (USA)
From the album, 'Confess', 4AD

Download here

 

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Live at Grasslands, Brooklyn

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

 

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------