Friday, 14 September 2012 02:29


Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti Facebook

Buy here

The polarisation that characterises the reviews of Mature Themes, the new album by Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti, is not surprising. Pink is an artist people seem to either love and get, love and don't need to get, or just don't get and dismiss with often quite nasty distain from their narrow corner of the world. More on the latter later. Thankfully, this reviewer sits with a foot in each of the former and as with Before Today, which this website rated the best album of 2010, the indie AM pop troubador has once again assembled an uber-talented array of music afficionados around him to produce an album that will both delight and confound.

Once he was able to get out of the basement and into the world and enlist the assistance of the likes Tim Koh, Kenny Gilmore, Cole Greif Neil, Jimi Hey and Aaron Sperske, for Pink the release of the exquisite 'Can't Hear My Eyes' as a single in 2008 on Mexican Summer was indicative of what was to come. Only interesting songwriters with something profound to offer are able to assemble talented like minded people around them and there is no way Pink would have been able to attract the aforementioned luminaries, who are not just studio musicians, but actually contribute greatly to the process, if he was simply an inconsistent flake.

What Pink has been able to do with Before Today and now with Mature Themes is give long standing and new ideas the flavour of virtuosity. The tracks that make up Mature Themes are forever restless and unpredictable and don't conform to traditional elements of time found in pop music, witness 'Early Birds of Babylon'. Forever the pop deconstructionist, Pink and his ensemble consistently blur and stretch the lines of the absurd and play tongue and cheek on the edge of conformity without ever wanting to go there. There's a deliberate intention to stay well out of convention's way, even to sneer at it at times and Mature Themes is much better off for it.

Lyrically, things are as strange as ever but are indicative that far from having all the answers, Pink's mind seems genuinely forever in a state of flux. On the superbly neurotic 'Kinski Assassin' he namedrops Athens and Paris with double agents and angels, talks about getting shot in the chest and wearing bullet proof vests, hypnotists, masochists, jacuzzi wads that will fondle your arse, suicide dumplings and testicle bombs. What the...? But what is telling is the line 'Who sunk my battleship, I sunk my battleship' suggesting that Pink is a much more durable entity these days and if anybody is going to bring him down, he'll do it himself.

Further evidence of Pink's search for making sense of his world surfaces on the relationships based title track. Here he is brutally honest that although he wants things to be good, talks about devotion to thee and promises to be true, he simply isn't able to; "truth is shameful and vile and I'm not real", "I don't care about you". He finishes lamenting his vertically challenged frame; "I wish I was taller than  5"4, 35 years of my life spent computing it all".

But in the end it is what's contained in the party ode 'Live It Up' that gives a clue as to what Pink actually wants, "gotta find my you down at the bright spot, 24 on the dot you know, baby tell me is this the right spot or not, let's go yeah, gonna live it up all night long".

Musically,  Mature Themes is a wonderous listen with its blissful twists and turns, hooks and licks. The space like spaghetti western bass lines of 'Driftwood', the kaleidoscopic nature of "Is This The Best Spot", the disciplined title track and the salacious Byrdsian, 'Only In My Dreams' sport some of their best work. The deadpan and wholly weird 'Symphony of the Nymph' contains nods to Pink's lo-fi past, which really never departs the room at any point on the album. 'Pink Slime' is a joyously jaunty ride while 'Farewell American Primitive' glistens with its sunny keys despite its caustic criticism of modern mainstream money driven America.

The quotes penned by critics than pan Mature Themes are telling in their intellectual laziness and display their overall cerebral shortcomings when it comes to commenting on multifarious independent cultures that don't need to be understood. Lines like "a band and songwriter that don't really care, so why should we", "a celebration, rather than an analysis, of several species of awfulness" and my favourite, from the 'pretend we know what independent means' Slant Magazine; "another tiring exercise from an artist who may never tire of releasing such profoundly hideous messes" suggest a complete misunderstanding or total lack of awareness of Pink's career or life in general existing outside artificially constructed commercial norms.

He has never been "a man without a scene", because there is no scene, nor has he ever cared for supposed scenes created by the artificial side of the commercial music industry. But make no mistake, he has always been 'a full tilt radical' and those who suggest that he has "nothing to rebel against" are again living a sub-conscious nightmare world where an intensely unheathy respect for a hideous, monolithic mainstream culture seems to be their lot in life. Mature Themes suggests that Pink may be still trying to work it all out but all the while he does, people on board with what he's doing are in for one unpredictable and thrilling ride.

James Stocker - September 14, 2012


Only In My Dreams

Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti (USA)
From the forthcoming album, 'Mature Themes', 4AD

Download here

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and non-sense specialized data, but they are buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - brisk walking for instance cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible cialis for purchase so is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a successful solution to cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect of the editions of any zero-hair buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a million bucks where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage of how to buy cialis online

November 24, 2015


Art Angels


Grimes Official

Pre-order here (vinyl delayed until Dec 11)

1. laughing and not being normal
2. California
3. SCREAM (feat. Aristophanes) [LISTEN]
4. Flesh Without Blood [VIDEO]
5. Belly Of The Beat
6. Kill V. Maim
7. Artangels
8. Easily
9. Pin
10. REALiTi (digital only)
11. World Princess Pt. II
12. Venus Fly (feat. Janelle Monae)
13. Life In The Vivid Dream
14. Butterfly


November 17, 2015



Dark Skies Association / Night School Records

Molly Nilsson Facebook

Buy here

1. The Only Planet
2. 1995 [VIDEO]
3. H.O.P.E.
4. Mountain Time [VIDEO]
5. Bunny Club
6. Intermezzo: Palimpest Galore
7. Happyness [VIDEO]
8. Lovers Are Losers [VIDEO]
9. Clearblue
10. My Body [VIDEO]
11. Titanic
12. Bus 194 (All There Is)
13. Tomorrow


November 10, 2015



Drag City

Joanna Newsom Label Page

Buy here

1. Anecdotes
2. Sapokanikan [VIDEO]
3. Leaving The City [LISTEN]
4. Goose Eggs
5. Waltz Of The 101ST Lightborne
6. The Things I Say
7. Divers [VIDEO]
8. Same Old Man
9. You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10. A Pin-Light Bent
11. Time, As A Symptom


November 3, 2015


Best Blues


Small Black Official

Buy here

1. Personal Best
2. No One Wants It To Happen To You [VIDEO]
3. Boys Life [VIDEO]
4. The Closer I Look
5. Big Ideas Pt. 2
6. Back At Belle's [LISTEN]
7. Between Leos
8. Checkpoints
9. Smoke Around The Bend
10. XX Century

October 27, 2015


Fading Frontiers


Deerhunter Official

Buy here

1. All The Same
2. Living My Life
3. Breaker [VIDEO]
4. Duplex Planet
5. Take Care
6. Leather And Wood
7. Snakeskin [VIDEO]
8. Ad Astra
9. Carrion

October 20, 2015


Terrible Truths

Bedroom Suck

Terrible Truths Facebook

Buy here

1. False Hope [LISTEN]
2. See Straight [VIDEO]
3. Pressure
4. Sink Or Swim
5. Uptight [LISTEN]
6. Don Juan
7. The Coast Is Clear [LISTEN]
8. Mixed Feelings
9. Lift Weights
10. (untitled)

October 13, 2015


The Agent Intellect

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. The Devil In His Youth
2. Cowards Starve
3. I Forgive You [LISTEN]
4. Boyce Or Boice
5. Pontiac 87
6. Uncle Mother's
7. Dope Cloud [LISTEN]
8. The Hermit
9. Clandestine Time
10. Why Does It Shake? [LISTEN]
11. Ellen
12. Feast Of Stephen

October 6, 2015


Half Free


U.S Girls Facebook

Buy here

1. Sororal Feelings
2. Damn That Valley [VIDEO]
3. Telephone Play No. 1
4. Window Shades [VIDEO]
5. New Age Thriller
6. Sed Knife
7. Red Comes In Many Shades
8. Navy & Cream
9. Woman's Work [VIDEO]

September 29, 2015


Have You In My Wilderness


Julia Holter Facebook

Buy here

1. Feel You [VIDEO]
2. Silhouette
3. How Long?
4. Lucette Stranded On The Island
5. Sea Calls Me Home [VIDEO]
6. Night Song
7. Everytime Boots
8. Betsy On The Roof
9. Vasquez
10. Have You In My Wilderness

September 22, 2015


Sun Coming Down


Ought Facebook

Buy here

1. Men For Miles [LISTEN]
2. Passionate Turn
3. The Combo
4. Sun's Coming Down [VIDEO]
5. Beautiful Blue Sky [LISTEN]
6. Celebration
7. On The Line
8. Never Better

September 15, 2015


It's You

Spunk / Felte

Gold Class Facebook

Buy here

1. Furlong [LISTEN]
2. Life As A Gun [VIDEO]
3. Bite Down
4. Perverts
5. Half Moon Over
6. The Soft Delay
7. Pro Crank
8. Michael [LISTEN]
9. Athena
10. Shingles (Stay A While)

September 8, 2015



Terrible Records

Empress Of Facebook

Buy here

1. Everything Is You
2. Water Water [LISTEN]
3. Standard
4. How Do You Do It [VIDEO]
5. To Get By
6. Kitty Kat [LISTEN]
7. Need Myself
8. Make Up
9. Threat
10. Icon [VIDEO]

September 1, 2015


Illegals In Heaven

Bedroom Suck / Fire Records

Blank Realm Facebook

Buy here

1. No Views On It
2. River Of Longing [LISTEN]
3. Cruel Night
4. Costume Drama
5. Dream Date
6. Flowers In Mind
7. Gold
8. Palace Of Love [LISTEN]
9. Too Late Now [LISTEN]

August 25, 2015


Poison Season


Destroyer Facebook

Buy here 

1. Times Square, Poison Season I
2. Dream Lover [LISTEN]
3. Forces From Above
4. Hell
5. The River
6. Girl In A Sling [LISTEN]
7. Times Square [LISTEN]
8. Archer On A Beach
9. Midnight Meet The Rain

10.  Solace's Bride

11. Bangkok
12. Sun In The Sky
13. Times Square, Poison Season II

August 18, 2015


Depression Cherry

Sub Pop / Bella Union

Beach House Official

Buy here

1. Levitation
2. Sparks [LISTEN]
3. Space Song
4. Beyond Love
5. 10:37
6. PPP
7. Wildflower
8. Bluebird
9. Days Of Candy

August 11, 2015


Down Time

Bedroom Suck / Fire Records

Totally Mild Facebook

Buy here

1. Christa
2. When I'm Tired
3. Go Home
4. Move On
5. Nights
6. The Next Day
7. Work It Out
8. Battleship
9. Always Around
10. Money Or Fame

August 4, 2015




Evvol Official

Buy here

1. I See You (I Am You)
2. Sola
3. Siruius A
4. Starcrossed
5. Your Love
6. No Love
7. Vega
8. Denouement
9. Four Steps From Home


July 28, 2015




Telepathe Facebook

Buy digital here

1. Destroyer
2. Drown Around Me
3. Slow Learner
4. Damaged Raid
5. Nights Spell
6. Hyper Ho
7. Throw Away This
8. Someone Is Home
9. Onyx
10. Fuck You Up

July 21, 2015


Liminal Zones

Sonic Masala / Strange Pursuits 

Day Ravies Facebook

Buy here

1. Fake Beach [VIDEO]
2. Coupla Days
3. This Side Of The Fence
4. Nettle
5. Immaculate Escape
6. Skewed
7. Enter The Bee
8. Hickford Wizz [VIDEO]
9. Halfway Up A Hill
10. Steamed
11. Pulse Check
12. March Comes Around
13. Binkies

July 14, 2015


The Wild Animals In My Life

Iron Lung

Flesh World Facebook

Buy here

1. To Lose Me
2. Just To Tear Me Down
3. The Wild Animals In My Life
4. Shaved Head
5. Poolside Boys
6. Strawberry Bomber
7. Your Love Is Like A House
8. Here In The Dark


July 7, 2015


Stay Wild

Self Released

Tearjerker Official

Pre-order here

1. Stay Wild
2. Phone
3. Mind
4. The Gardiner
5. Parling Lot
6. It Takes Time
7. Baseball
8. Obviously Wrong
9. Perfect (FREE)
10. Heavy


June 30, 2015


I Will See No Moon No Sky

Raw Onion Records

Crystal Shipsss Official

Buy here 

1. Metal
2. Deer
3. Drum
4. Crown [LISTEN]
5. II
6. Head


June 23, 2015




Noah Official

Buy here

1. sivutie
2. flexion
3. motion
4. unspoken
5. weak
6. (interlude - drøm)
7. fehér
8. times
9. pool garden
10. gorgeous death
11. blur
12. flaw
13. (interlude - doll)
14. tadzio
15. sivutie a reprise

June 16, 2015


Apocalypse, girl

Sacred Bones

Jenny Hval Official

Buy here

1. Kingsize
2. Take Care Of Yourself
3. That Battle Is Over
4. White Underground
5. Heaven
6. Why 
7. Some Days
8. Sabbath
9. Angel And Anaemia
10. Holy Land


June 9, 2015


Jaakko Eino Kalevi

Weird World Record Co.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi Facebook

Buy here

1. J.E.K.
2. Double Talk
3. Deeper Shadows
4. Say
5. Mind Like Muscle
6. Night At The Field
7. Don't Ask Me Why
8. Room
9. Hush Down
10. Ikuinen Purkautumaton Jännite


June 2, 2015




BOAN Facebook

Pre-order here

Stream whole album here

1. Babylon
2. Freaksnake
3. Secretos
4. Boan Acid
5. Mentiras


May 26, 2015


Le Voyage Éternal

Self Released

Corridor Facebook

Buy here

1. Sentinelles
2. L'écho des derniers orgasmes
3. L' entrée du portail
4. Mi-homme, mi fusée
5. Castor et Pollux
6. Abus d'habits
7. Mort en chemin
8. Plasma fontaine
9. Passage Secret
10. Le Voyage Éternal
11. Retour au bercail 3D


May 19, 2015



Self Released

Liza Anne Official

Buy here

1. Lost
2. Northern Wind
3. Take It Back
4. Low Tide
5. Room
6. Overnight
7. Ocean


May 12, 2015


Crash, Burn & Cry

Crunchy Frog

ONBC Facebook

Buy here

1. The Railing
2. White Trash
3. Call It What You Want
4. The Warehouse
5. Classic
6. One Of These Days Pt. 1
7. Brothers
8. Knocked Out
9. Copenhagen
10. One Of These Days Pt. 2


May 5, 2015



ExcelsiorPolyvinyl / Full Time Hobby

Jacco Gardner Official

Buy here

1. Another You
2. Grey Lanes
3. Brightly
4. Find Yourself
5. Face To Face
6. Outside Forever
7. Before The Dawn
8. Hypnophobia
9. Make Me See
10. All Over


April 28, 2015


American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left


April 21, 2015


Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone


April 14, 2015


Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme


April 7, 2015


Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire

March 31, 2015


Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress


Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled


March 24, 2015


Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues


March 17,  2015



Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here


March 10, 2015


Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)


March 3, 2015



P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth


February 24, 2015


No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade


February 17, 2015



Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still


February 10, 2015


Natalie Prass


Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You


February 3, 2015


On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again


January 27th, 2015


Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death




Please update your Flash Player to view content.



Junior Boys (CAN)
Grimes (CAN)
Empress Of (USA)
Molly Nilsson (SWE)
Blood Orange (USA)
Mass Gothic (USA)
Negative Gemini. (USA)
Aidan Knight (CAN)
Your Friend (USA)

If you like what you hear please like us and share on the above formats.


If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.


All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.