RECORD REVIEW: ARIEL PINK'S HAUNTED GRAFFITI - MATURE THEMES
Reviews
Friday, 14 September 2012 02:29
 

4AD

Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti Facebook

Buy here

The polarisation that characterises the reviews of Mature Themes, the new album by Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti, is not surprising. Pink is an artist people seem to either love and get, love and don't need to get, or just don't get and dismiss with often quite nasty distain from their narrow corner of the world. More on the latter later. Thankfully, this reviewer sits with a foot in each of the former and as with Before Today, which this website rated the best album of 2010, the indie AM pop troubador has once again assembled an uber-talented array of music afficionados around him to produce an album that will both delight and confound.

Once he was able to get out of the basement and into the world and enlist the assistance of the likes Tim Koh, Kenny Gilmore, Cole Greif Neil, Jimi Hey and Aaron Sperske, for Pink the release of the exquisite 'Can't Hear My Eyes' as a single in 2008 on Mexican Summer was indicative of what was to come. Only interesting songwriters with something profound to offer are able to assemble talented like minded people around them and there is no way Pink would have been able to attract the aforementioned luminaries, who are not just studio musicians, but actually contribute greatly to the process, if he was simply an inconsistent flake.

What Pink has been able to do with Before Today and now with Mature Themes is give long standing and new ideas the flavour of virtuosity. The tracks that make up Mature Themes are forever restless and unpredictable and don't conform to traditional elements of time found in pop music, witness 'Early Birds of Babylon'. Forever the pop deconstructionist, Pink and his ensemble consistently blur and stretch the lines of the absurd and play tongue and cheek on the edge of conformity without ever wanting to go there. There's a deliberate intention to stay well out of convention's way, even to sneer at it at times and Mature Themes is much better off for it.

Lyrically, things are as strange as ever but are indicative that far from having all the answers, Pink's mind seems genuinely forever in a state of flux. On the superbly neurotic 'Kinski Assassin' he namedrops Athens and Paris with double agents and angels, talks about getting shot in the chest and wearing bullet proof vests, hypnotists, masochists, jacuzzi wads that will fondle your arse, suicide dumplings and testicle bombs. What the...? But what is telling is the line 'Who sunk my battleship, I sunk my battleship' suggesting that Pink is a much more durable entity these days and if anybody is going to bring him down, he'll do it himself.

Further evidence of Pink's search for making sense of his world surfaces on the relationships based title track. Here he is brutally honest that although he wants things to be good, talks about devotion to thee and promises to be true, he simply isn't able to; "truth is shameful and vile and I'm not real", "I don't care about you". He finishes lamenting his vertically challenged frame; "I wish I was taller than  5"4, 35 years of my life spent computing it all".

But in the end it is what's contained in the party ode 'Live It Up' that gives a clue as to what Pink actually wants, "gotta find my destination...meet you down at the bright spot, 24 on the dot you know, baby tell me is this the right spot or not, let's go yeah, gonna live it up all night long".

Musically,  Mature Themes is a wonderous listen with its blissful twists and turns, hooks and licks. The space like spaghetti western bass lines of 'Driftwood', the kaleidoscopic nature of "Is This The Best Spot", the disciplined title track and the salacious Byrdsian, 'Only In My Dreams' sport some of their best work. The deadpan and wholly weird 'Symphony of the Nymph' contains nods to Pink's lo-fi past, which really never departs the room at any point on the album. 'Pink Slime' is a joyously jaunty ride while 'Farewell American Primitive' glistens with its sunny keys despite its caustic criticism of modern mainstream money driven America.

The quotes penned by critics than pan Mature Themes are telling in their intellectual laziness and display their overall cerebral shortcomings when it comes to commenting on multifarious independent cultures that don't need to be understood. Lines like "a band and songwriter that don't really care, so why should we", "a celebration, rather than an analysis, of several species of awfulness" and my favourite, from the 'pretend we know what independent means' Slant Magazine; "another tiring exercise from an artist who may never tire of releasing such profoundly hideous messes" suggest a complete misunderstanding or total lack of awareness of Pink's career or life in general existing outside artificially constructed commercial norms.

He has never been "a man without a scene", because there is no scene, nor has he ever cared for supposed scenes created by the artificial side of the commercial music industry. But make no mistake, he has always been 'a full tilt radical' and those who suggest that he has "nothing to rebel against" are again living a sub-conscious nightmare world where an intensely unheathy respect for a hideous, monolithic mainstream culture seems to be their lot in life. Mature Themes suggests that Pink may be still trying to work it all out but all the while he does, people on board with what he's doing are in for one unpredictable and thrilling ride.

James Stocker - September 14, 2012

 

Only In My Dreams

Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti (USA)
From the forthcoming album, 'Mature Themes', 4AD

Download here

Official Video

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

October 28, 2014

MR TWIN SISTER (USA)

Mr Twin Sister

Infinite Best / Twin Group

Mr Twin Sister Official Site

Buy here

1. Sensitive
2. Rude Boy
3. In The House Of Yes
4. Blush
5. Out Of The Dark
6. Twelve Angels
7. Medford
8. Crime Scene

-------------------------

October 21, 2014

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS (USA)

Lose

Barsuk

Cymbals Eat Guitars Official Site

Buy here 

1. Jackson
2. Warning
3. XL
4. Place Names
5. Child Bride
6. Laramie
7. Chambers
8. LifeNet
9. 2 Hip Soul

---------------------------

October 14, 2014

CARIBOU (CAN)

Our Love

Merge

Caribou Facebook

Buy here

1. Can't Do Without You
2. Silver
3. All I Never Need
4. Our Love
5. Dive
6. Second Chance
7. Julia Brightly
8. Mars
9. Back Home
10. Your Love Will Set You Free

---------------------------

October 7, 2014

THE JUAN MACLEAN (USA)

In A Dream

DFA Records

The Juan Maclean Official Site

Buy here

1. A Place Called Space
2. Here I Am
3. Love Stops Here
4. You Were A Runaway
5. Running Back To You
6. I've Waited So Long
7. Charlotte
8. A Simple Design
9. The Sun Will Never Set On Our Love

---------------------------

September 30, 2014

LYDIA AINSWORTH (CAN)

Right From Real

Arbutus Records

Lydia Ainsworth Official Site

Buy here

1. Candle
2. White Shadows
3. Malachite
4. Take Your Face Off
5. Moonstone
6. Hologram
7. PSI
8. The Truth

----------------------

September 23, 2014

SBTRKT (ENG)

Wonder Where We Land

Young Turks

SBTRKT Official Site

Buy here

1. Day 1
2. Wonder Where We Land (feat. Sampha)
3. Lantern
4. Higher (feat. Raury)
5. Day 5
6. Look Away (feat. Caroline Polachek)
7. Osea (feat. Koreless)
8. Temporary View (feat. Sampha)
9. New Dorp. New York (feat Ezra Koenig)
10. Everybody Knows
11. Problem Solved (feat. Jessie Ware)
12. If It Happens (feat. Sampha)
13. Gon Stay (feat. Sampha)
14. The Light (feat. Denai Moore)
15. Voices In My Head (feat. A$AP FERG)
-------------------------------

September 16, 2014

SOFT WALLS (ENG)

No Time

Trouble In Mind

Soft Walls Facebook

Buy here

1. Won't Remember My Name
2. The Big Nod
3. Never Come Back Again
4. Early In The Day
5. No Time
6. All The Same
7. Slumbering
8. Foot Of The Stairs
9. Guided Through
10. Transient View
---------------------------

September 9, 2014

TOPS (CAN)

Picture You Staring

Arbutus Records

TOPS Facebook

Buy here

1. Way To Be Loved
2. Blind Faze
3. Circle The Dark
4. Outside
5. All The People Sleep
6. Sleeptalker
7. Superstition Killer
8. 2 Shy
9. Change Of Heart
10. Easier Said
11. Driverless Passenger
12. Destination
Listen to full album here

-------------------------------------

September 2, 2014

MERCHANDISE (USA)

After The End

4AD

Merchandise Facebook

Buy here

1. Corridor
2. Enemy
3. True Movement
4. Green Lady
5. Life Outside The Mirror
6. Telephone
7. Little Killer
8. Looking Glass Waltz
9. After The End
10. Exile And Ego

-------------------------------------

August 26, 2014

FKA TWIGS (ENG)

LP1

Young Turks

FKA twigs Facebook

Buy here

1. Prelude
2. Lights On
3. Two Weeks
4. Hours
5. Pendulum
6. Video Girl
7. Numbers
8. Closer
9. Give Up
10. Kicks

-------------------------------------

August 19, 2014

WHITE FENCE (USA)

For The Recently Found Innocent

Drag City

White Fence Facebook

Buy here

1. The Recently Found
2. Anger! Who Keeps You Under
3. Like That
4. Sandra (When The Earth Dies)
5. Wolf Gets Red Faced
6. Goodbye Law
7. Arrow Man
8. Actor
9. Hard Water
10. The Light
11. Afraid Of What It's Worth
12. Fear
13. Raven On White Cadillac
14. Paranoid Bait

---------------------

August 12, 2014

THE BILINDA BUTCHERS (USA)

Heaven

Orchid Tapes / Atelier Ciseaux

The Bilinda Butchers Tumblr

Buy here

1. Ume (feat. Juri Nakashima)
2. Less Than
3. Old Style Amami (feat. Juri Nakashima)
4. Shadow Beat
5. Golden House (feat. Sarah Psalti)
6. New Style Askashi (feat. Juri Nakashima)
7. The Lover's Suicide
8. Tanka (feat. Lamp)
9. Edo Method
10. The River Sumida
11. Golden House (feat. Juri Nakashima)
12. Heaven Holds A Place (feat. Harriet Brown)
13. Heaven (feat. Juri Nakashima)
-------------------------------

August 5, 2014

WOMAN'S HOUR (ENG)

Conversations

Secretly Canadian

Woman's Hour Official Site

Buy here

1. Unbroken Sequence
2. Conversations
3. To The End
4. Darkest Place
5. In Stillness We Remain
6. Our Love Has No Rhythm
7. Her Ghost
8. Two Sides Of You
9. Devotions
10. Reflections
11. The Day That Needs Defending

-------------------------

July 29, 2014

MELTED TOYS (USA)

Melted Toys

Underwater Peoples / Altier Ciseaux

Melted Toys Facebook

Buy here

1. Intro
2. Bummed Out
3. Horizons
4. Press (A Habitat)
5. A Postcard
6. Blush
7. Always
8. Water Arches
9. Joy Fit
10. Observations
11. Come On
12. Citrus Honeymoon
-------------------------------

July 22, 2014

HOW TO DRESS WELL (USA)

What Is This Heart?

Domino / Weird World

How To Dress World Facebook

Buy here

1. 2 Years On (Shame Dream)
2. What You Wanted
3. Face Again
4. See You Fail
5. Repeat Pleasure
6. Words I Don't Remember
7. Pour Cyril
8. Precious Light
9. Childhood Faith In Love (Everything Must Change, Everything Must Stay The Same)
10. A Power
11. Very Best Friend
12. House Inside (Future Is Older Than The Past)
-------------------------------

July 15, 2014

TOTAL CONTROL (AUS)

Typical System

Iron Lung

Total Control Official Site

Buy digitally here  (vinyl sold out & delayed)

1.Glass
2. Expensive Dog
3. Flesh War
4. Systematic Fuck
5. Liberal Party
6. Two Less Jacks
7. Black Spring
8. The Ferryman
9. Hunter
10. Safety Net

-------------------------------------

July 8, 2014

THE ANTLERS (USA)

Familiars

Anti- / Trangressive

The Antlers Official Site

Buy here 

1. Palace
2. Doppelganger
3. Hotel
4. Intruders
5. Director
6. Revisited
7. Parade
8. Surrender
9. Refuge
-------------------------------------

July 1, 2014

THE FRESH & ONLYS (USA)

House Of Spirits

Mexican Summer

The Fresh & Onlys Official Site

Buy here

1. Home Is Where?
2. Who Let The Devil
3. Bells Of Paonia
4. Animal Of One
5. I'm Awake
6. Hummingbird
7. April Fools
8. Ballerina
9. Candy

10. Madness

-------------------------------------

June 24, 2014

BEN FROST (AUS/ICE)

Aurora

Bedroom Community / Mute

Ben Frost Soundcloud

Buy here 

1. Flex
2. Nolan
3. The Teeth Behind Kisses
4. Secant
5. Diphenyl Oxalate
6. Venter
7. No Sorrowing
8. Sola Fide
9. A Single Point Of Blinding Light
-------------------------------------

June 17, 2014

PARQUET COURTS (USA)

Sunbathing Animals

Mom + Pop / What's Your Rupture

Parquet Courts Facebook

Buy here

1. Bodies
2. Black And White
3. Dear Ramona
4. What Color Is Blood
5. Vienna II
6. Always Back In Town
7. She's Rollin'
8. Sunbathing Animal
9. Up All Night
10. Instant Disassembly
11. Duckin' And Dodgin'
12. Raw Milk
13. Into The Garden
-------------------------------

June 10, 2014

SHARON VAN ETTEN (USA)

Are We There

Jagjaguwar

Sharon Van Etten Official Site

Buy here

1. Afraid Of Nothing
2. Taking Chances
3. Your Love Is Killing Me
4. Our Love
5. Tarifa
6. I Love You But I'm Lost
7. You Know Me Well
8. Break Me
9. Nothing Will Change
10. I Know
11. Every Time The Sun Comes Up

-------------------------------

June 3, 2014

SWANS (USA)

To Be Kind

Young God Records

Swans Facebook

Buy here

1. Screen Shot
2. Just A Little Boy (for Chester Burnett)
3. A Little God In My Hands
4. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture
5. Some Things We Do
6. She Loves Us
7. Kirsten Supine
8. Oxygen
9. Nathalie Neal
10. To Be Kind

-------------------------------

May 27, 2014

THE SHILOHS (CAN)

The Shilohs

Light Organ Records

The Shilohs Official Site

Buy here

1. Student Of Nature
2. Ordinary People
3. Champagne Days
4. Sisters Of Blue
5. Strange Connections
6. Folks On Trains
7. Palm Readers
8. Porch Light
9. Bless Those Boys
10. Down At The Bottom Of Bottomland
11. Queen Light Queen Dark
12. Days Of Wine
-------------------------------

May 20, 2014

AMAYA LAUCIRICA (AUS)

Sway

Self Released

Amaya Laucirica Official Site

Buy here

1. Three Heart Delay
2. Found Some Secret
3. Prettier Than The Sound
4. On The Air
5. You Only Say Goodbye
6. Running Out Of Time
7. Not Been Sleeping
8. Falling All Around
9. This Morning's Blue
10. Ocean Wide
11. Falling Out Of Time

-------------------------------

May 13, 2014

BRETT (USA)

Brett

Cascine

Brett Facebook

Buy here

1. Chalon
2. Lovers
3. Confidence
4. Inside
5. Goon
6. Always
7. Golden
8. Thrash
9. Glass Hearts

---------------------------

May 6, 2014

WOODS (USA)

With Light and With Love

Woodist 

Woods Facebook

Buy here 

1. Shepherd
2. Shining
3. With Light And With love
4. Moving To The Left
5. New Light
6. Leaves Like Glass
7. Twin Steps
8. Full Moon
9. Only The Lonely
10. Feather Man

-------------------------------

April 29, 2014

FEAR OF MEN (ENG)

Loom

Kanine

Fear Of Men Facebook

Buy here

1. Alta
2. Waterfall
3. Green Sea
4. Vitrine
5. Tephra
6. America
7. Seer
8. Luna
9. Descent
10. Inside
11. Atla

-------------------------------

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (USA)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP 10
Vol. 6 No. 36 - October 29, 2014
1. Superm├Ądchen
Black Cab (AUS)
2. Way To Be Loved
TOPS (CAN)
3. Lunar
Bad Blocks (NZL)
4. Taking
Grand Courriers (USA)
5. Obsidian
Sister Crystals (USA)
6. In The House Of Yes
Mr. Twin Sister (USA)
7. Bent
Kiasmos (ICE/FAR)
8. Forever
Iceage (DEN)
9. Alena
Yumi Zouma (NZL)
10. Breathe (feat. Ejecta)
Joel Ford (USA)
-----------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------

2014 POST REVIEW

September
 
Mini Dresses (USA)
The Luxembourg Signal (USA/ENG)
Lydia Ainsworth (CAN)
YAWN (USA)
J. Fernandez (USA)
Client Liaison (AUS)
Sleepmakeswaves (AUS)
Nicholas Nicholas (USA)
Sportsmen (AUS)
Fiance (USA)
 
August
 
Nicholas Krgovich (CAN)
Merchandise (USA)
Peaking Lights (USA)
Caribou (CAN)
Bam Spacey (SWE)
Kim Ki O (TUR)
Slow Magic (USA)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Himlakropp (SWE)
Kamp! (POL) 
 
July
 
Chrome Sparks (USA)
Distant Cousin (USA)
Millionyoung (USA)
Laetitia Sadier (FRA)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Melted Toys (USA)
Space Daze (USA)
 
June
 
Lower (DEN)
Dressmaker (ENG)
Soft Walls (ENG)
Fort Romeaux / Woman's Hour (ENG)
The Bilinda Butchers (USA)
Blood Orange (USA)
Firekites (AUS)
The Death Of Pop (ENG)
Police Des Moeurs / Essaie Pas (CAN)
 
May

Champion Lover (CAN)
The Shilohs (CAN)
Allie X (CAN)
DNKL/Video (SWE)
Nicholas Nicholas (USA)
The Death Of Pop (ENG)

April

PANES (ENG)
Tearjerker (CAN)
Movement (AUS)
Elephant (ENG)
ESC (AUS)
Softspot (USA)
Camilla Sparksss (CAN)
Odonis Odonis (CAN)
Hydrogen Sea (BEL)
Frett (ENG)
Motorama (RUS)

March

Grand Courriers (USA)
Yumi Zouma/Air France (NZL/SWE)
Fear Of Men/Video (ENG)
Future Islands (USA)
Cloud Boat (ENG)
Francobollo (ENG/SWE)
Samaris (ICE)
The War On Drugs (USA)
Ang Low (USA)
Arrange (USA)
Tincture (AUS)
Roladex (USA)
Solitary City (ENG)
Real Estate (USA)
DNKL (SWE)
Protomartyr (USA)

February

Wild Beasts (ENG)
Amaya Laucirica (AUS)
Bart Davenport (USA)
Hockeysmith (ENG)
Farao (NOR)
Yellow Ostrich (USA)
Ricky Eat Acid (USA)
Fear Of Men (ENG)
Stripmall Architecture (USA)
Cymbals (ENG)
Pillar Point (USA)
Kauf (USA)
Be Forest (ITA)
Yumi Zouma (NZL)

-----------------------------