RECORD REVIEW: TEEN DAZE - ALL OF US TOGETHER
Reviews
Thursday, 27 September 2012 00:00
 

JPG

Lefse

Teen Daze Bandcamp

Buy here

Since mid 2010 Teen Daze has been prolifically releasing EPs and singles over the web, leading up to his debut LP, Four More Years. He released this through Arcade Sound in 2010 as a 'bedroom producer', and was immediately impressive as he had honed his craft, amassing a good following while developing his style. My Bedroom Floor was self released in the same year along with the EP Beach Dreams. Last year saw four more releases and this year Teen Daze has self released a tour EP, and the accomplished album All Of Us Together, which is the topic of this review. November 6 will see the release of his next album, yep that's two this year, The Inner Mansions, also through Lefse. Tracks from this album are out already, one featuring Frankie Rose ('Union'), and another titled 'New Life'. He will have probably recorded another EP by the time you have finished reading this. Hailing from Fraser Valley, British Columbia, Canada, Teen Daze has developed his songwriting, with laid back rhythms and atmosphere which have pushed through to the top of very crowded but beautiful genre, which goes by so many names it has become hard to take seriously. Chillwave. Glo-fi. Dream-pop. Synth Pop. Whatever, if it is done right, and with care, you can call it whatever you want. Teen Daze excells at his art.

Teen Daze has refined his audio mastery working on many remixes for the likes of  Bon Iver, White Arrows, and Californian artist Coral to name a few. Brothertiger has returned the favour with his Teen Daze 'Brooklyn Sunburn' remix, all of this as well as performing the new material around the clubs has helped keep things fresh. Having a ready made audience to test your new beats on, each night via the dancefloor has its advantages.

"I played a lot of this material on tour last year, and there's a connection to that element, it's all become very dear to me", he has said of the album, "There are countless reasons on why a person would create something; my reason is bring people together, to let them know that they're not alone". That feeling of being part of a collective, sharing a common experience is very powerful, as you would know if you have ever been part of a crowd under the spell of a DJ maestro who knows how to build the levels and drop it down, only to crank it up to 1000 in a heartbeat. It's a powerful feeling, and it's very primal at its centre. Teen Daze has a bright future and we are only seeing the beginning.

'Treten' opens things up here, and conveys the feeling of wide open spaces with a drive that permeates the whole LP. At seven minutes in length it's given time to explore, as it ebbs and flows gently opening up the tone of the next 45 minutes. 'Cold Sand' is all glittery, shiny, and retro with its drum-machine and lo-bite synths. Fuzzy VHS images spring to mind upon hearing this track. 'For Body And Kenzie' is drenched in reverb and has a beautiful buildup after an extended intro soft as a sunrise. Halfway through stabbing synths take over with percussion added to the mix to make a standout track on the album.

'The New Balearic' is soft and dreamy, with synths twinkling, while  'Brooklyn Sunburn' (with vocals by Steph 'Stefaloo' Thompson) and 'Erbstuck' are made for clubs. In the penultimate track, 'The Future' vocals make a rare appearance, be it distant and vague. 'Hold' is gorgeous with the hypnotic keylines, short and understated it's a nice way to complete the Teen Daze journey. 

Teen Daze has said "(He) came upon an old book at a thrift store called 'Utopian Visions', an encyclopedic volume of different views on what utopia might look like, which became a huge inspiration. Especially when considering the future of our world as it actually unfolds. We're becoming more and more self-reliant, more and more separated from our communities. I wanted to make a record that sounded more synthetic but also inviting - this is futuristic music with a heart." All Of Us Together therefore makes sense as the album title, evoking a communal feeling, be it in a club or a bunch of friends travelling down a highway at night, music brings people together and this is what Teen Daze is striving for.

Dave Roberts - September 26, 2012

 

Brooklyn Sunburn

Teen Daze (CAN)
From the album, 'All Of Us Together', Lefse

Download here

Audio Stream

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

JPG

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
2. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
3. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
4. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
5. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
6. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
9. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
10. Cockscombs
Deepest Bison (USA)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------