RECORD REVIEW: WILD NOTHING - NOCTURNE
Reviews
Monday, 24 September 2012 01:50
 

Captured Tracks

Wild Nothing Facebook

Buy here

 

When Jack Tatum released the EP, Golden Haze in 2010, which sported its to-die-for title track, the direction of his Wild Nothing project was clear. Gone was the less than perfect production values of his promising and impressive debut album, Gemini, to be replaced with a dream-like sheen that sat beautifully underneath his gorgeous take on pop music. On his second album, the stunning Nocturne, Tatum has continued the move towards carefully cultivated pop perfection. The attention to detail in each track is clear as Wild Nothing mine the rich pop gold of the past and embellish it with a musical intelligence and respectful gloss that renders the familiar new in every sense. Anybody who thinks there's nothing fresh and vital here simply doesn't get independent pop music.

All eleven tracks are resplendently better for their additions and Tatum's vision is brought to the fore by Nicolas Vernhes meticulous production. More importantly every instrument is afforded a standout role. Wild Nothing, while Tatum's baby, is a band in every sense. The determination to democratise the sum of Nocturne's parts makes the album an intriguing listen in virtuosity. The rhythm section exudes a exceedindly warm bass sound coupled together with intuitively employed drum work. Melodically speaking, the intricate and intelligent guitar work and the lushful embrace of keyboards together with carefully chosen reverb laden production embellishments is not only intriguing, but makes for an incredibly addictive listen from beginning to end. And make no mistake, Tatum is a pop medium; he gifts us his blissful homage to pop history at every turn. It's almost as if he thinks the genre needs far more respect than it's afforded. He recoils from attention in a personal sense while at the same time putting his love for pop up in lights.

First single, 'Shadow' with its familiar guitar melody is finished off with lush, dramatic orchestration and the title track winds its way through you with its five minutes with splendidly intelligent guitar work. Lyrically, Tatum appropriately repeats the  mantra, "Ooh, you can have me", in the chorus and while we know he's on about love and relationships, its as if he really is giving his all for the listener. And such generosity pervades the whole record. The slow beat that is put up against the faster paced vocal and music on the contemplative 'Through The Grass' is a songwriting masterstroke while the woozy four to the floor 'Only Heather', with its flute like keys and guitar licks stoke the flames of pop genius.

The almost funk like nature of the bass that together with the engulfing nature of the three chord key structure that is the base of the the deceptively laconic, 'Paradise' is yet another example of Tatum's genius. The loose yet taut guitar lick tops it off nicely. The hypnotic nature of the track fits its title and lyrical nature perfectly, "dancer in the night, playing with my eyes". 'Disappear Always' has a rhythm and guitar hook to die for. 'Counting Days' ebbs and flows beautifully. The driving bass and big drum sound of the urgent 'The Blue Dress' sparks instant comparisons to the The Cure c1989 Disintegration but without the downbeat aura. But here Tatum again gives us far more than a mimicry of that with the employment of long winding guitar melody that complements things nicely.

Nocturne is an outstanding listen from start to finish. Tatum has achieved a remarkable consistency not only with the attention to detail in each track in a songwriting and production sense but in the seamless way the record hangs together. Great pop albums tend to be over before you know it and so it is with Nocturne. There's no weak spots here. Tatum has triumphed in very sense, bringing his respect for the purity of pop to the fore. While it has a great deal of competition, Nocturne could just be the album of 2012.

James Stocker - September 24, 2012.

 

Paradise

Wild Nothing (USA)
From the album, 'Nocturne', Captured Tracks.

Audio Stream

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------