RECORD REVIEW: MATTHEW DEAR - BEAMS
Reviews
Sunday, 07 October 2012 00:00
 

JPG

Ghostly International

Buy here

There is no one on the indie music scene quite like Matthew Dear. Since 1999 he has been a DJ, recorded eight albums, nine EPs, remixed many artists including The XX, Hot Chip, The Chemical Brothers, The Juan MacLean and Spoon. He has had three aliases (False, Audion and Jabberjaw), and co-founded ground-breaking record label, Ghostly International, and its dance-floor orientated offshoot, Spectral Sound. Apart from all this, Dear also has a degree in Anthropology, something which comes through somewhat in his lyrics as he sings of the social and cultural status of humanity, with all its quirks and strangeness. He has developed a style he now owns, musically and visually; he is a fan of crisp white shirts and well tailored suits, something you don't see too often at a warehouse rave behind the DJ console.

All this has led to Beams, his latest offering as Matthew Dear, and while not a completely new direction from his previous LP, Black City, it inhabits a different quarter of that city. He told 'The Guardian'; "New York City is a black hole, for this perspective, Black City was being sucked into the black hole, and Beams is the tail of light shooting out the other side. New York is a living machine, it can chew you up and spit you out very easily – Beams is realising your place within the machine." This new LP is indeed not as claustrophobic as Black City, it's more of a party, although an at times weird one. "I thought I'd write a little call to arms to everybody: let loose! Everything's a bit more amorphous in my life now, bubbly and gelatinous. I'm letting things ooze into different places. When you realise there's no clear path or answer, things just are." There are tracks here on Beams ready-made for the dance-floor, be it a dark, smokey and shadow filled place, but one where everbody is welcome, no matter how weird.

'Her Fantasy' dives straight into the atmosphere of what Beams has in store for us. Looping clips of Dear's unmistakable vocals, dense layering and orchestration, high production and beautiful Korg synths which carry the whole track. The video which you can check out below pays tribute to Kenneth Anger, an early underground Hollywood experimental film maker who worked exclusively in short films, with erotisism being an underlying element. It suits perfectly with love, sex and relationships being at the core of Dear's songwriting. The six second outro to this track is awesome as it slides immediately into 'Earthforms', which introduces a funk laden bass line over driving percussion. "It's alright to be someone else sometimes" sings Dear in this groove train of a track.

Van Rivers and Subliminal Kid (Blonde Redhead, Fever Ray) from Sweden were involved in production of 'Headcage', a tale about a teenage boy trying to coax a girl out through her bedroom window late at night, to have some fun. Of 'Get The Rhyme Right', Dear says  "I am a big fan of the rock music David Lynch makes. A song like "Ghosts Of Love" captures the perfect blend of creep and beauty. This song aims at a slightly more dance-floor friendly version of that aesthetic. "Like God, in my disco." ''Temptation' was written about his relationship with his wife of seven years, "It was expunging of the soul in that song: here I am, cut me with a sword, let me bleed, and I'll get back up and we'll move on."

It might take a few listens until you can get into Beams, as Dear's work is dense, and at times hard to penetrate. The payoff is rewarding however and this artist's extensive back catalogue opens doors to other worlds dark and shadowy, unlike anywhere you have been before. Beams is the endpoint, but given the prolific output Matthew Dear is known for, more worlds are yet to be explored.

Dave Roberts - October 7, 2012

 

Headcage

Matthew Dear (USA)
From the album, Beams, Ghostly International

Download here

 

Her Fantasy

Matthew Dear (USA)
From the album, 'Beams', Ghostly International

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------