RECORD REVIEW: CAT POWER - SUN
Reviews
Wednesday, 17 October 2012 00:00
 

JPG

Matador

Cat Power Official site

Buy here

Anyone who has been to a Cat Power gig knows her unique personality and emotions are something she wears on her sleeve, laid bare for all to experience. It is a great thing to see such honesty on stage, and it comes through whole-heartedly in her music, songwriting and vocals. After what have been a frustrating and heart wrenching few years for Chan Marshall (which you can read about elsewhere if you so desire), she has come out on top with a stunning LP, gutsy, beaming and aptly titled, Sun. The album which comes in at just under fifty minutes in length, sees Cat Power embrace electro for the first time, while also retaining the other styles she has become known for: namely indie rock and folk.

The single released front and centre, 'Ruin' was put out as a free download via Matador's record store on June 20, with the album as a whole coming out in the first week of September. It's the first release of all new material from Marshall since 2006, and was released with a limited edition format of vinyl including a deluxe LP with bonus 7" vinyl plus bonus tracks. While still retaining some moments of melancholia, there is a noticeable shift towards optimism and a new direction. The introduction of an electronic component to her music has been one of the most obvious changes. Nicholas Jaar, a US American-Chilean musician has remixed 'Cherokee', with a sublime result (audio below), which for probably the first time has seen a Cat Power track grace the dance-floor (Sasha played the remix at New York's Electric Zoo festival). Several album tracks have shown Marshall's leap forward, or sideways at least, in sound, notably '3.6.9.', 'Always On My Own', 'Real Life' and title track 'Sun' featuring looped vocals, heavy synths and a more industrial sound.

'Human Being' highlights her beautiful vocals, layering them deliciously in a song that is best listened to with headphones for full effect. The intro to 'Manhattan' reminded me of 'Tainted Love' for a second, but that all evaporated once a simple piano entered the mix soon joined by vocals. A standout track, it is full of experimentation with an off-kilter feeling, and works brilliantly as it builds itself up to a stripped back outro. 'Silent Machine' thrusts forward like a Mac truck, a track with dirty edge and a jarring piece of distortion halfway through which falls away innocently as if it never happened. 

The final track on Sun clocks in at just under eleven minutes in length. Aptly titled 'Nothin But Time', this opus throws it all together. "They wanna live / they wanna be somebody / they wanna give / and be wanted / they want to forgive / and not be forgotten / they wanna reach the end / they wanna live their way of livin", Marshall sings as if she almost pleading. Loads of overdubs and layers abound in this song, as they across Sun, giving them a sense of volume that is at times deceptive as often few instruments are actually present. This closing track however is massive, and feels so even before Iggy Pop enters the fray to excellent affect.

To say Chan Marshall poured her heart and soul into this recording is something of an understatement. Being a musician in America today is not easy, they are feeling the effect of the current economic crisis as much as anyone else. Her house was in foreclosure, and she has been quoted as saying (of recording Sun) "I'm going to fucking pay for this shit myself". So she could retain control she cashed out her retirement fund and threw herself into the project. Sun debuted at number ten on Billboard top 200 chart, her first in the top ten list, and the first the for the label in its 23 year history. It came in on the Billboard 'alternative / indie album chart at number 2. The honesty, resilience and pure grit that shines through on this album is a credit to Cat Power. Her hard work has paid off in spades.

Dave Roberts - October 17, 2012

 

Cherokee (Nicholas Jaar remix)

Cat Power (USA)
From the album, 'Sun', Matador

Audio only

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Ruin

Cat Power (USA)
From the album, 'Sun', Matador

Download here

Live

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------