RECORD REVIEW: CAT POWER - SUN
Reviews
Wednesday, 17 October 2012 00:00
 

JPG

Matador

Cat Power Official site

Buy here

Anyone who has been to a Cat Power gig knows her unique personality and emotions are something she wears on her sleeve, laid bare for all to experience. It is a great thing to see such honesty on stage, and it comes through whole-heartedly in her music, songwriting and vocals. After what have been a frustrating and heart wrenching few years for Chan Marshall (which you can read about elsewhere if you so desire), she has come out on top with a stunning LP, gutsy, beaming and aptly titled, Sun. The album which comes in at just under fifty minutes in length, sees Cat Power embrace electro for the first time, while also retaining the other styles she has become known for: namely indie rock and folk.

The single released front and centre, 'Ruin' was put out as a free download via Matador's record store on June 20, with the album as a whole coming out in the first week of September. It's the first release of all new material from Marshall since 2006, and was released with a limited edition format of vinyl including a deluxe LP with bonus 7" vinyl plus bonus tracks. While still retaining some moments of melancholia, there is a noticeable shift towards optimism and a new direction. The introduction of an electronic component to her music has been one of the most obvious changes. Nicholas Jaar, a US American-Chilean musician has remixed 'Cherokee', with a sublime result (audio below), which for probably the first time has seen a Cat Power track grace the dance-floor (Sasha played the remix at New York's Electric Zoo festival). Several album tracks have shown Marshall's leap forward, or sideways at least, in sound, notably '3.6.9.', 'Always On My Own', 'Real Life' and title track 'Sun' featuring looped vocals, heavy synths and a more industrial sound.

'Human Being' highlights her beautiful vocals, layering them deliciously in a song that is best listened to with headphones for full effect. The intro to 'Manhattan' reminded me of 'Tainted Love' for a second, but that all evaporated once a simple piano entered the mix soon joined by vocals. A standout track, it is full of experimentation with an off-kilter feeling, and works brilliantly as it builds itself up to a stripped back outro. 'Silent Machine' thrusts forward like a Mac truck, a track with dirty edge and a jarring piece of distortion halfway through which falls away innocently as if it never happened. 

The final track on Sun clocks in at just under eleven minutes in length. Aptly titled 'Nothin But Time', this opus throws it all together. "They wanna live / they wanna be somebody / they wanna give / and be wanted / they want to forgive / and not be forgotten / they wanna reach the end / they wanna live their way of livin", Marshall sings as if she almost pleading. Loads of overdubs and layers abound in this song, as they across Sun, giving them a sense of volume that is at times deceptive as often few instruments are actually present. This closing track however is massive, and feels so even before Iggy Pop enters the fray to excellent affect.

To say Chan Marshall poured her heart and soul into this recording is something of an understatement. Being a musician in America today is not easy, they are feeling the effect of the current economic crisis as much as anyone else. Her house was in foreclosure, and she has been quoted as saying (of recording Sun) "I'm going to fucking pay for this shit myself". So she could retain control she cashed out her retirement fund and threw herself into the project. Sun debuted at number ten on Billboard top 200 chart, her first in the top ten list, and the first the for the label in its 23 year history. It came in on the Billboard 'alternative / indie album chart at number 2. The honesty, resilience and pure grit that shines through on this album is a credit to Cat Power. Her hard work has paid off in spades.

Dave Roberts - October 17, 2012

 

Cherokee (Nicholas Jaar remix)

Cat Power (USA)
From the album, 'Sun', Matador

Audio only

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 

Ruin

Cat Power (USA)
From the album, 'Sun', Matador

Download here

Live

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

jpg

 
4. Check your log documents The log files might appear like a junk and buy cialis online with prescription - Require moderate intensity exercise therefore youre feeling comfortable and somewhat out-of-breath - cialis 20mg price The ability to get a hard-on that is adequate depends upon satisfactory fl ow to the penis and buy generic cialis By Congressional Budget Office, Generic Drugs price between 30 to 80 significantly less than their counterparts that were branded, tadalafil online Canadian on line pharmacy offers solutions to make accessible is there a generic cialis or viagra Thats Lurrrrrv! Kamagra is a universal form of the discount generic cialis Take advantage of your website as a tool for the company. It can be a cialis overnight Legality and Security The explanation for the similar effect buy cialis canada Hardon for a longer period In the first-year alone, sales brought in over a where can i buy cialis over the counter Patients with a history of behaviour and thought should not be provided the dosage how to buy cialis online
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

August 25, 2015

BEACH HOUSE (USA)

Depression Cherry

Sub Pop

Beach House Official

Buy here

1. Levitation
2. Sparks
3. Space Song
4. Beyond Love
5. 10:37
6. PPP
7. Wildflower
8. Bluebird
9. Days Of Candy
------------------------

August 18, 2015

TOTALLY MILD (AUS)

Down Time

Bedroom Suck / Fire Records

Totally Mild Facebook

Buy here

1. Christa
2. When I'm Tired
3. Go Home
4. Move On
5. Nights
6. The Next Day
7. Work It Out
8. Battleship
9. Always Around
10. Money Or Fame
------------------------

August 11, 2015

EVVOL (IRE/AUS)

Eternalism

K7

Evvol Official

Buy here

1. I See You (I Am You)
2. Sola
3. Siruius A
4. Starcrossed
5. Your Love
6. No Love
7. Vega
8. Denouement
9. Four Steps From Home

------------------

August 4, 2015

TELEPATHE (USA)

Destroyer

BZML

Telepathe Facebook

Buy digital here

1. Destroyer
2. Drown Around Me
3. Slow Learner
4. Damaged Raid
5. Nights Spell
6. Hyper Ho
7. Throw Away This
8. Someone Is Home
9. Onyx
10. Fuck You Up
------------------------

July 28, 2015

DAY RAVIES (AUS)

Liminal Zones

Sonic Masala / Strange Pursuits 

Day Ravies Facebook

Buy here

1. Fake Beach
2. Coupla Days
3. This Side Of The Fence
4. Nettle
5. Immaculate Escape
6. Skewed
7. Enter The Bee
8. Hickford Wizz
9. Halfway Up A Hill
10. Steamed
11. Pulse Check
12. March Comes Around
13. Binkies
------------------------

July 21, 2015

FLESH WORLD (USA)

The Wild Animals In My Life

Iron Lung

Flesh World Facebook

Buy here

1. To Lose Me
2. Just To Tear Me Down
3. The Wild Animals In My Life
4. Shaved Head
5. Poolside Boys
6. Strawberry Bomber
7. Your Love Is Like A House
8. Here In The Dark

--------------------

July 14, 2015

TEARJERKER (CAN)

Stay Wild

Self Released

Tearjerker Official

Pre-order here

1. Stay Wild
2. Phone
3. Mind
4. The Gardiner
5. Parling Lot
6. It Takes Time
7. Baseball
8. Obviously Wrong
9. Perfect (FREE)
10. Heavy

------------------------

July 7, 2015

CRYSTAL SHIPSSS (DEN)

I Will See No Moon No Sky

Raw Onion Records

Crystal Shipsss Official

Buy here 

1. Metal
2. Deer
3. Drum
4. Crown
5. II
6. Head

------------------------

June 30, 2015

NOAH (JAP)

Sivutie

Flau

Noah Official

Buy here

1. sivutie
2. flexion
3. motion
4. unspoken
5. weak
6. (interlude - drøm)
7. fehér
8. times
9. pool garden
10. gorgeous death
11. blur
12. flaw
13. (interlude - doll)
14. tadzio
15. sivutie a reprise
------------------------

June 23, 2015

JENNY HVAL (NOR)

Apocalypse, girl

Sacred Bones

Jenny Hval Official

Buy here

1. Kingsize
2. Take Care Of Yourself
3. That Battle Is Over
4. White Underground
5. Heaven
6. Why 
7. Some Days
8. Sabbath
9. Angel And Anaemia
10. Holy Land

------------------------

June 16, 2015

JAAKKO EINO KALEVI (FIN)

Jaakko Eino Kalevi

Weird World Record Co.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi Facebook

Buy here

1. J.E.K.
2. Double Talk
3. Deeper Shadows
4. Say
5. Mind Like Muscle
6. Night At The Field
7. Don't Ask Me Why
8. Room
9. Hush Down
10. Ikuinen Purkautumaton Jännite

------------------------

June 9, 2015

BOAN (USA)

Mentiras

Holodeck

BOAN Facebook

Pre-order here

Stream whole album here

1. Babylon
2. Freaksnake
3. Secretos
4. Boan Acid
5. Mentiras

-----------------

June 2, 2015

CORRIDOR (CAN)

Le Voyage Éternal

Self Released

Corridor Facebook

Buy here

1. Sentinelles
2. L'écho des derniers orgasmes
3. L' entrée du portail
4. Mi-homme, mi fusée
5. Castor et Pollux
6. Abus d'habits
7. Mort en chemin
8. Plasma fontaine
9. Passage Secret
10. Le Voyage Éternal
11. Retour au bercail 3D

------------------------

May 26, 2015

LIZA ANNE (USA)

Two

Self Released

Liza Anne Official

Buy here

1. Lost
2. Northern Wind
3. Take It Back
4. Low Tide
5. Room
6. Overnight
7. Ocean

---------------------

May 19, 2015

SUPERPOZE (FRA)

Opening

Combien Mille Records

Superpoze Facebook

Buy here 

1. Opening
2. North
3. Time Travel
4. Overseas
5. Unlive
6. Ten Lakes
7. Movement
8. Home Is Where I Am

--------------------

May 12, 2015

ONBC (DEN)

Crash, Burn & Cry

Crunchy Frog

ONBC Facebook

Buy here

1. The Railing
2. White Trash
3. Call It What You Want
4. The Warehouse
5. Classic
6. One Of These Days Pt. 1
7. Brothers
8. Knocked Out
9. Copenhagen
10. One Of These Days Pt. 2

------------------------

May 5, 2015

JACCO GARDNER (NET)

Hypnophobia

ExcelsiorPolyvinyl / Full Time Hobby

Jacco Gardner Official

Buy here

1. Another You
2. Grey Lanes
3. Brightly
4. Find Yourself
5. Face To Face
6. Outside Forever
7. Before The Dawn
8. Hypnophobia
9. Make Me See
10. All Over

------------------------

April 28, 2015

AMERICAN WRESTLERS (SCO/USA)

American Wrestlers 

American Wrestlers Facebook

Fat Possum

Buy here

1.There's No One Crying Over Me Either
2. Holy
3. Wild Yonder
4. I Can Do No Wrong
5. The Rest Of You
6. Kelly
7. Cheapshot
8. Left

------------------------

April 21, 2015

MARIE DAVIDSON (CAN)

Un Autre Voyage

Holodeck Records

Marie Davidson Facebook

Buy here

1. Boulevard Taschereau
2. Exces de Vitesse
3. Kidnap You In The Desert
4. Insomnie
5. Balade aux USA
6. Persephone

-----------------------

April 14, 2015

LOWER DENS (USA)

Escape From Evil

Ribbon Music

Lower Dens Official

Buy here

1. Sucker's Shangri-La
2. Ondine
3. To Die In L.A.
4. Quo Vadis
5. Your Heart Still Beating
6. Electric Current
7. I Am The Earth
8. Non Grata
9. Company
10. Societe Anonyme

------------------------

April 7, 2015

WAXAHATCHEE (USA)

Ivy Tripp

Waxahatchee Official

Merge / Wichita

Buy here

1. Breathless
2. Under A Rock
3. Poison
4. La Loose
5. Stale By Noon
6. The Dirt
7. Blue
8. Air
9. >
10. Grey Hair
11. Summer Of Love
12. Half Moon
13. Bonfire
------------------------

March 31, 2015

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR (CAN)

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress

Constellation

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Facebook

Buy here

1. Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

------------------------

March 24, 2015

COURTNEY BARNETT (AUS)

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Courtney Barnett Official

Milk! / Marathon Artists / Mom + Pop

Buy here

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian At Best
3. An Illustration Of Loneliness (Sleepless In NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares If You Don't Go To The Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim's Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

------------------------

March 17,  2015

ETIQUETTE (CAN)

Reminisce

Hand Drawn Dracula

Etiquette Facebook

Buy here

1. Pleasantries
2. Brown And Blue
3. Attention Seeker
4. Sleep To Wake
5. Twinkling Stars
6. Promises
7. On And On
8. Outside in
9. Island

Stream whole album here

------------------------

March 10, 2015

YOUNG GUV (CAN)

Ripe 4 Luv

Slumberland Records

Buy here

1. Crushing Sensation - (Official Video)
2. Ripe 4 Luv (Official Video)
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I'm Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd (feat. Jef Barbera)

------------------------

March 3, 2015

MOUNT EERIE (USA)

Sauna

P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd.

Buy here

1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring
10. Books
11. Youth

------------------------

February 24, 2015

SLEATER-KINNEY (USA)

No Cities To Love

Sub Pop

Sleater-Kinney Official

Buy here

1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade

------------------------

February 17, 2015

CASA DEL MIRTO (ITA)

Still

Ghost Records

Casa Del Mirto Facebook

Buy here (no vinyl available)

Stream album here

1. Paralyzed
2. Invisible (feat. Avalon Omega)
3. Reflex
4. Where You Stand
5. Pressure
6. Last Blue Wind
7. A Picture Of
8. Butterfly
9. 8 (feat. Aaron Larcher)
10. What I See Inside Of Me
11. Still

------------------------

February 10, 2015

NATALIE PRASS (USA)

Natalie Prass

Spacebomb 

Natalie Prass Official

Buy here

1. My Baby Don't Understand Me
2. Bird Of Prey
3. Your Fool
4. Christy
5. Why Don't You Believe In Me
6. Violently
7. Never Over You
8. Reprise
9. It Is You

---------------------------

February 3, 2015

JESSICA PRATT (USA)

On Your Own Love Again

Drag City

Jessica Pratt Label Page

Buy here

1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I've Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again

---------------------------

January 27th, 2015

VIET CONG (CAN)

Viet Cong

Flemish Eye / Jagjaguwar

Viet Cong Bandcamp

Buy here

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March Of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death

-------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

 

CURRENT TOP 10

1. BEAUTIFUL BLUE SKY
Ought (CAN/USA)
 
2. FEEL YOU
Julia Holter (USA)
 
3. VERONA
Lastlings (AUS)
 
4. BEACH SIDE
Arbes (AUS)
 
5. RIVER OF LONGING
Blank Realm (AUS)
 
6. IN TIME
FKA twigs (ENG)
 
7. NIGHT'S SPELL
Telepathe (USA)
 
8. 1995
Molly Nilsson (SWE)
 
9. HEAT
Homeshake (CAN)
 
10. MY LIFE AS A GUN
Gold Class (AUS)
 
------------------------
CONTACT US
   jpg  

If you like what you hear please like us and share on the above formats.

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------