RECORD REVIEW: THE FRESH & ONLYS - LONG SLOW DANCE
Reviews
Saturday, 13 October 2012 00:27
 

Mexican Summer

The Fresh & Onlys Facebook

Buy here

 

Long Slow Dance is San Francisco art pop outfit The Fresh & Onlys fourth full length in just five years. This is in combination with the additional release of two EP's and the peddling a stack of 7" singles on a variety of labels over that time. Within their first twelve months, they had produced two full length albums, their more rock inspired self titled debut in 2008 and the turn towards more melodic tendencies, albiet them being employed within the prism of 70s west coast psychedelia on the more pop inspired Grey-Eyed Girls in 2009. Their break out record, 2010's Play It Strange saw them move out of the DIY approach and into the studio and brought their unique take on merging rock, pop and folk further to the fore. Last year saw the Secret Walls EP released on east coast Brooklyn based label Sacred Bones which laid the path nicely for their latest record, the aforementioned Long Slow Dance.

Long Slow Dance sees them build on the more crisper production values they've sought to employ since coming out of the home recording paradigm. Every musical element is on full show. There's no hiding of the flourishes and subtle licks that were often overwhelmed by the whole. Long Slow Dance puts them front and centre. Unlike their fellow San Fransican bretheren who they are often, somewhat mistakenly, associated with, Thee Oh Sees, Sic Alps, Ty Segall etc., who continue to effectively trade their pysch and garage tendencies in DIY dirge like sudgy realism, The Fresh & Onlys are unabashedly pop minded. Most of their tracks conform to the verse, chorus, verse approach, but to simply leave them there in any analysis would be missing some pretty obvious departures.

This record can be taken in two parts essentially. The A side contains some classic pop moments with three of the first four tracks (the singles), sparkling expansive reverb laden opener '20 Days & 20 Nights', the intensely melodic ode to relationship frustration 'Yes Or No' and the straight forward yet lyrically cryptic 'Presence Of Mind' being fast paced ditties that hardly touch the ground. That doesn't mean there isn't space to reflect on frontman Timothy Cohen's conflicted and troubled take on relationships as the opening track exemplifies. Wymond Miles and Cohen himself provide the perfect melody on guitar and piano respectively to allow that to occur.

The title track sports the telling lines, 'You supply the innocent mind and I'll bring the guilty heart'...you be the purest of wine and I'll be the dirty cup...and we'll make the perfect romance'. Indeed, Long Slow Dance is one long cautionary tale of the apparent futiliy of attempting to triumph over uncertainty and learning to live with it. And the difficulty of managing self concept in presenting to that special other. This often comes in the form of the self-deprecation on display above. The slow burning 'Dream Girls' is further evidence, 'You can have everything in the world, but you'll never hang on to dream girl'. Cohen seems to exort us to plant our roots in reality.

The second side sees the quartet in its more experimental light with nods to approaches employed in past releases. Mariachi like Latin influences appear in the latter half of 'Executioners Song' while 'Euphoria' rocks out with its punk like disposition replete with orchestral like synth flourishes. 'Foolish Person' is the longest track on the record, virtually doubling the three minute diet of the others. Cohen here is determined to learn from past mistakes, 'You called me a fool once, but you would not say it twice'. The track takes a dramatic turn, becoming a reverb drenched wall of pyschedelic new wave like sound, almost like a cartharsis of sorts. It's an indication that while Cohen, writing partner Shayde Sartin Miles and Kyle Gibson wanted to make a disciplined record, their earlier tendencies to get loose have not been completely diminished.

While mostly Long Slow Dance might be the result of a determination to put polish on past releases, there undoubtedly is nods to The Fresh & Onlys lo-fi roots. That's one of the pleasurable aspects of the record. This band might see themselves as serving art in one form or another but put simply and as Sartin himself has said, "we're still slugging away". The record itself was still recorded on tape. As found in Cohen's self-deprecating lyrics, the band might have been determined to produce a tighter more focused record and in that they've succeeded. But in the end, Cohen, Sartin and company seem acutely aware that they've simply made 40 odd minutes of pure reflective pop that they hope is well received under their own terms. They needn't be concerned on that score.

James Stocker, October 13, 2012.

 

20 Days & 20 Nights

The Fresh & Onlys (USA)
From the album, 'Long Slow Dance', Mexican Summer.

Download here

Audio Stream

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

 
ALBUM OF THE WEEK

April 22, 2014

SOFTSPOT (USA)

Mass

Self Released

SoftSpot Facebook

Buy here

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times

--------------------------

April 15, 2014

ODONIS ODONIS (CAN)

Hard Boiled, Soft Boiled

Buzz Records

Odonis Odonis Official Site

Buy here

1. Tension
2. Are We Friends
3. Order In The Court
4. New Obsession
5. Breathing Hard
6. Mr Smith
7. Release
8. Angus Mountain
9. Office Sluts
10. Highnote
11. Transmission From The Moon
12. Alexa Wait
-------------------------------

April 15, 2014

PROTOMARTYR (CAN)

Under Color Of Official Right

Hardly Art

Protomartyr Facebook

Buy here

1. Maidenhead
2. Ain't So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What The Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son Of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare At Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I'll Take That Applause
-------------------------------

April 1, 2014

FUTURE ISLANDS (USA)

Singles

4AD

Future Islands Official Site

Buy here

1. Seasons (Wating On You)
2. Spirit
3. Sun In the Morning
4. Doves
5. Back In The Tall Grass
6. A Song For Our Grandfathers
7. Light House
8. Like The Moon
9. Fall From Grace
10. A Dream Of You And Me

-------------------------------

March 25, 2014

THE WAR ON DRUGS (USA)

Lost In The Dream

Secretly Canadian

The War On Drugs Official Site

Buy here 

1. Under The Pressure
2. Red Eyes
3. Suffering
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves
5. Disappearing
6. Eyes To The Wind
7. The Haunting Idle
8. Burning
9. Lost In The Dream
10. In Reverse

-------------------------------

March 18, 2014

REAL ESTATE (USA)

Atlas

Domino

Real Estate Official Site

Buy here

1. Had To Hear
2. Past Lives
3. Talking Backwards
4. April's Song
5. The Bend
6. Crime
7. Primitive
8. How Might I Live
9. Horizon
10. Navigator

-------------------------------

March 11, 2014

WILD BEASTS (ENG)

Present Tense

Domino

Wild Beasts Official Site

Buy here

1. Wanderlust
2. Nature Boy
3. Mecca
4. Sweet Spot
5. Daughters
6. A Pregnant Pause
7. A Simple Beautiful Truth
8. A Dog's Life
9. Past Perfect
10. New Life
11. Palace

-------------------------------

March 4, 2014

ANGEL OLSEN (USA)

Burn Your Fire For No Witness

Jagjaguwar

Angel Olsen Official Site

Buy here

1. Unfucktheworld
2. Forgiven/Forgotten
3. Hi-Five
4. White Fire
5. High & Wild
6. Lights Out
7. Stars
8. Iota
9. Dance  Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows

-------------------------------

February 25, 2014

SUN KIL MOON (USA)

Benji

Caldo Verde

Sun Kil Moon Official Site

Buy here (CD Only - no vinyl release)

1. Carissa
2. I Can't Live Without My Mother's Love
3. Truck Driver
4. Dogs
5. Pray For Newtown
6. Jim Wise
7. I Love My Dad
8. I Watched The Film The Song Remains The Same
9. Richard Ramirez Died Today Of Natural Causes
10. Micheline
11. Ben's My Friend

-------------------------------

February 18, 2014

RICKY EAT ACID (USA)

Three Love Songs

Orchid Tapes

Ricky Eat Acid Facebook

Buy limited edition vinyl here

Download free digital version here

1. There Is Only You In The Light & Nothing Else
2. Driving Alone Past Roadwork At Night
3. Inside My House; Some Place I Keep Dreaming About
4. Big Man's Last Trip Outside
5. In Rural Virginia; Watching Glowing Lights Crawl From The Dark Corners Of The Room
6. Inside Your House; It Will Swallow Us Too
7. It Will Draw Me Over To It Like It Always Does
8. In My Dreams We're Almost Touching
9. God Puts Us All In The Swimming Pool
10. Outside Your House; The Lights Went Out & There Was Nothing
11. I Can Hear The Heart Breaking As One
12. Starting Over

-------------------------------

February 11, 2014

BE FOREST (ITA)

Earthbeat

We Were Never Being Boring

Be Forest Facebook

Buy here 

1. Totem
2. Captured Heart
3. Lost Boy
4. Ghost Dance
5. Airwaves
6. Totem II
7. Colours
8. Sparkle
9. Hideaway

-------------------------------

February 4, 2014

CYMBALS (ENG)

The Age Of Fracture

Tough Love Records

Cymbals Facebook

Buy here

1. Winter '98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture Of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

-------------------------------

 

TOP 30 PLAYER

Please update your Flash Player to view content.
CURRENT TOP TEN
1. Beautiful Criminal
ALX (SCO)
2. Psychic Trauma
Cloud Nothings (USA)
3. Seasons (Waiting On You)
Future Islands (USA)
4. No Romance
Tirzah (ENG)
5. Copper Thief
Case Conrad (SWE)
6. Interference Fits
Perfect Pussy (USA)
7. The Space Between Us
+/- (USA)
8. Battles
DNKL (SWE)
9. Come & See
Protomartyr (USA)
10. Carmine
Cloud Boat (ENG)

-----------------------

CONTACT US
   jpg  

jpg

ARTIST OR LABEL?

If you are an independent artist or record label or a promotional or management company that represents an independent artist please feel free to send us updates about forthcoming news, releases, events. Digital audio samples of single tracks or albums are welcome and there is no need to fear any negative press about what you send. Quite simply, if we like what we hear we will feature it, if we don't we won't.

DISCLAIMER

All media on Indie30 is for sampling purposes only. If you like what you hear we implore you to purchase the said album and support the artist concerned. If you are an artist or label who wants something removed please contact us asap and we will remove it.

--------------------------------